Michele & Theo
Member
Theo absolutely hates and fights me when it is time for his insulin injections but doesn't mind having BG testing done. I have to wrap him in a towel and cover his head when I give him the injections or he tries to bite and scratch me (growling the entire time). I am using the Prozinc syringe/disposal kit which has the U-40 needles. The protocol I use is: test BG, injection, food (he eats 1 can of the Purina DM selects after each shot). He gets a dose of methyl B12 & folic acid with his food to help with his severe neuropathy. Question: is it possible that the insulin stings when injected? I do warm the insulin to room temperature before he gets injected.
At this time the approx average of both his morning & evening BG levels is around 19-20 mmol/L (342-360 mg/dL). We aren't having much luck at lowering the levels (we've adjusted the dose 3 times)... mid day levels are mid to high teens (mmol/L).
Thanks in advance for any thoughts
At this time the approx average of both his morning & evening BG levels is around 19-20 mmol/L (342-360 mg/dL). We aren't having much luck at lowering the levels (we've adjusted the dose 3 times)... mid day levels are mid to high teens (mmol/L).
Thanks in advance for any thoughts
