Cassie 9/7-8 -- trial tid; weird numbers last night

Status
Not open for further replies.

bookw0rm

Member Since 2011
PMPS 313, .4 u
AMPS ?, .4 u

I tried the vaseline trick with his ear last night. I worked wonderfully--until this morning. There was residual vaseline still on his ear when I tried to test. It gummed up the test strip so that it wouldn't suck in the blood. I tried 2 different strips--had a nice large, drop of blood--no reading. Cass actually got mad and got down before I gave him his chicken treat! :o (I did follow him and give it to him.)

I probably shouldn't have, but I gave him his shot anyway. He also threw up some time last night. This isn't unusual--just the first time he's done it since I started switching to Evo. Partially digested Evo is much uglier than partially digest Cat Chow. He's always vomited on a semi-regular basis, so I'm not worried, since he didn't act funny this morning.

I'm going to try to stop by later and check on him, but today's the crazy day at work so there's no guarantee. His PS numbers have been reasonably high. I should be able to get a mid-cycle on the MD shot today, too.
 
Re: Cassie 9/7 -- trial tid

You only need a tiny smear of the Vaseline so maybe use less next time? You can wipe it off after. Also, vary the spot where you are poking. That will help with any soreness. Same general area, but a little up or down on the ear. You can also poke either ear and alternate - although with some cats, one ear bleeds better than the other.....
 
Re: Cassie 9/7 -- trial tid

Sue and Oliver (GA) said:
You only need a tiny smear of the Vaseline so maybe use less next time? You can wipe it off after. Also, vary the spot where you are poking. That will help with any soreness. Same general area, but a little up or down on the ear. You can also poke either ear and alternate - although with some cats, one ear bleeds better than the other.....

Yes, I figured that out. He wasn't cooperating very well at the time so I did the best I could. So far I haven't been able to get his other ear to bleed, but I have been varying the site on this ear.
 
Re: Cassie 9/7 -- trial tid

Partially digested Evo is much uglier than partially digest Cat Chow.

Thanks for the tip! Note to self....."cross Evo off Bob's grocery list".

Carl
 
Re: Cassie 9/7 -- trial tid

Mdps 396, .4u

I wish I'd gotten an amps now. This is the second high mdps in a row. Is he going too low mid-cycle or.what? I should get a mid-md tonight and maybe I can get.a mid-am tomorrow.

Silly boy is playing with the shower curtain. :)
 
Re: Cassie 9/7 -- trial tid; 2 high mdps in a row

+5 223
 

Attachments

  • 090711153118-1.jpg
    090711153118-1.jpg
    7.7 KB · Views: 708
Re: Cassie 9/7 -- trial tid; 2 high mdps in a row

My first line of pursuit would be that your dose looks possibly too low. Any chance you could get a couple mid-cycle spot tests in the same cycle, and maybe vary the times some in general? So maybe a +4 and a +6, something to fill the picture out a little more before making a dosing decision.

He is a cutie pie! Playing is a great sign.
 
Re: Cassie 9/7 -- trial tid; 2 high mdps in a row

+8 160

This is supposed to be pmps. (& bedtime) Now what?
 
Re: Cassie 9/7 -- trial tid; low +8 now what?

I think you need to make sure he's rising before you can dose. Don't understand the +8 at all...
It would be better if you could give him a token (.2?) than to skip, but his number should be climbing to shoot into it.

Carl
 
Re: Cassie 9/7 -- trial tid; low +8 now what?

I guess I'll check again in a couple hours. So much for schedule; of course tomorrow's the long night class day. Maybe tid is a bad idea..

I'll think about it when I'm not so tired.
 
Re: Cassie 9/7 -- trial tid; low +8 now what?

Lisa, don't give up! Going TID was something you thought about for a while before trying it, and it made logical sense to give a shot.
I'm a bit perplexed, but with a few more days of data, there should be patterns established that we can all make sense out of.
I'm still awake for a while so I should be on when you test again.
Carl
 
Re: Cassie 9/7 -- trial tid; low +8 now what?

+10 242, .4u (pmps)

Not givimg up, just perplexed & sleepy.
 
Re: Cassie 9/7 -- trial tid; low +8 now what?

Good call. Cass should be fine with .4 at that number. Now, put out some snacks for him, and get some sleep!
There's a whole team working on this with you,

Carl
 
Re: Cassie 9/7 -- trial tid; low +8 now what?

+5 404

What the heck? Too high a dose? Recovery from weird cycle? Recovery from am bounce yesterday? I have no clue.

Will update ss later @ work. I suspect his dose won't be at +8; I may not be able to check until later.
 
Re: Cassie 9/7 -- trial tid; low +8 now what?

I don't know what the 404 is a result of---but, I can tell you that Kitty throws some weird test like this after extended tid cycles (longer than 8 hours). As I said, I am not sure what contributed to the reading--but, I would not chase that one test. I would not let the high test overshaddow all the lower test you are getting.

With tid, Kitty still has the occassional high preshot and the occasional preshot too low to shoot. It has taken me 7 months to realize that I cannnot react to every wonky test...high or low. So much of this dance is unexplainable. It is hard to micromanage FD---you really have to look at the "big" picture.

It appears to me that in the "big" picture Cassie is in better numbers. You have only been dosing tid for a week--it takes some time for them to settle into any dosing schedule.

Hang in there!
 
Re: Cassie 9/7 -- trial tid; low +8 now what?

I know one weird reading isn't a concern, or even one weird cycle. My concern at this point IS the overall picture, at least in the short term. He's had 2 "wonky" (i.e. inexplicably high) MDPS's the last two days. I was beginning to think that I either needed to back off on the dose (only .4 now!) or switch back to bid shooting. Then he throws this weird low +8, and then, after a dose, an absurdly high +5. Granted the PM shot could have been a fur shot (it was 1 am, after all), but something weird's going on. I have to go back to the vet next week and justify what I've been doing and at this point I don't have any clue what's happening. It did look pretty good the first three days, but now who knows?

I'll try to get home as close to +8 as possible, although it may be more like +9 or +10. He's definitely thrown a wrench into the schedule today.
 
Re: Cassie 9/7 -- trial tid; low +8 now what?

I know I missed out on your earliest posts although I have gone back and tried to catch up. He was in DKA and you are testing for ketones. You started on one unit, got some lower greens and reduced the dose. Those numbers are the best you have gotten overall. Then you got reduced and got some higher numbers. Then you pretty quickly went to tid.

Someone wise once said this sugar dance is a marathon, not a sprint. I am wondering if you are throwing too many things in at once and should start again bid at about .75 units. Give that a few days and see what happens. Tid is something that few beans try and usually after several months of frustrating numbers and early nadirs. Thankfully we do have kse who has done it successfully for quite a while, but she tried a lot of other doses with Kitty first. I do not have tid experience and would take her advice for it.

My advice is worth what you are paying for it - zilch. Just an idea for you to ponder. If you do it, continue to test religiously for ketones. My thought is that it could be too little insulin at one time and that is why you are getting some wonky numbers. But if you get early higher nadirs, then I am wrong. The nice thing about hometesting and ketone testing and PZI is that you can stay on top of things and change it up as needed.
 
Amps 446, .4u (+10.5)

Maybe last night was a fur shot.

Cass's brother Benny actual climbed in the chair while I was testing, looking for chicken.
 
Pmps 436, .4u (+10.5)

Wish I could've checked sooner but this was crazy night. At least it will be easier to get back.to schedule tomorrow & maybe I can get a curve this weekend if he settles some. Don't like highs but maybe it's being off the 8-hours.
 
Once again, just sharing my experiences---I was late shooting Kitty one night this week---I shot, I think at +9.5--- she tested 407. It took a couple of cycles for us to get back on track. I did not change the dose--I held at 3.5U. Today she is back with preshots at 271 and 275.

I realize ECID--but, "normally" with late shots their bg increases rapidly.

I expect Cassie's numbers to come down.

Hang in there!
 
I'm trying to hang on & be patient. He was looking good for 3-4 days. It's just every time it looks good, he has something weird happen. I guess I'm still on the emotional roller coaster ride that started when he went DKA. When I think things are srarting to smooth out we come back around again.

I appreciate your advice. I'm leaning heavily from what I read on this board & would never have tried tid without the examples I've been following here.

I'll be less dramatic when I catch up with my sleep this weekend, I promise. Time to snuggle with Benny purring on my head. Cassie's ignoring me-it's bath time.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top