Cassie 9/5-6 trial tid

Status
Not open for further replies.

bookw0rm

Member Since 2011
Pmps 395, .4u (+9)
+5 316
Amps 385, .4u (+9)
+5 237

Cass says he wants me to stop poking his ear for a while. He's fairly cooperative (freeze dried chicken) but for some reason lately it's taken multiple pokes for blood and he's getting annoyed. I don't know why it's not suuceesful, even with a rice sock. Does anyone use vaseline to make the blood well? The vet mentioned it but it didn't make sense. Wouldn't it contaminate the sample? I think I just can't see the smaller drops on his dark ear.

That said, so far so good. Not as low as I'd like but not as sky high on the ps. We'll give it a couple days and see if he stays down. I'll work on a tid ss tomorow at work.
 
Re: Cassie 9/5 trial tid

I have read a lot of people using the vaseline but I've never done it. If Thumper's doesn't bleed right away sometimes I can massage the ear & get enough out for my meter without having to poke again.
 
Re: Cassie 9/5 trial tid

I will send you the tid template in the morning. It is saved on my work computer.

Once you see how he is going to do you can adjust the dose for better numbers.
 
Re: Cassie 9/5 trial tid

Pmps 284, .4u (+9)

These are the best consecutive numbers so far. I'm guardedly optimistic. Tomorrow we transition to 8 hour intervals and I won't be able to get mid numbers. But, so far, we like. :smile:

Is there some documentation of tid so I can convince the vet I'm not crazy? (& coincidently, my mom, who thinks I shouldn't experiment without talking to the vet first)
 
Re: Cassie 9/5 trial tid

You would look for studies under tight regulation, they came up with the practice in feline diabetes. They use t.i.d. a little different then we do. They have a chart and the dose changes with each shot. Rebounding is common and even my heavy gulper Payne, went into rebound on TR.

The only difference is duration. Some cats use insulin like jet fuel and a lot of them also have an early nadir, which makes the every 8 hr. shot help them keep out of the high numbers. In time, having constant insulin, will help them heal.

Also, t.i.d. works when there is the short duration but raising the dose too much causes rebound.
 
Re: Cassie 9/5 trial tid

Looks good so far!

Crazy is a prerequisite for attempting tid---it is 3 AM and I just gave Kitty her midshot!!!! So, don't worry about trying to overcome the stereotype of "crazy!"

But, it is worth it for me....I just checked Kitty and her mdps was 216. This is a cat that rarely saw nadirs that low when shooting bid!

Keep up the good work!

Crazy Kim!
 
Re: Cassie 9/5 trial tid

My cat had dark ears, and I found Vaseline indispensable . I just rubbed a tiny bit on her ear, and it cAused the blood to bead, making it MUCH easier to see. As far as I know, it did not contaminate the sample.
 
Re: Cassie 9/5 trial tid

kse said:
Check your PMs--I sent the template.

Got it, and even set up & running (I think). Thank you, thank you, thank you!Right now I've (sort of) got the tid data on the regular SS, too, because I sent the link to it to the vet. I don't know if I'll keep updating it or not (probably, just for a backup). It looks a little weird, but oh well.
 
341---a lot better than 400 and 500s--hang in there! We will get him in better numbers.
 
Pmps 313, .4u

So if he bounced this morning it will take a day or 2 to bring his numbers down? This is the third tid day, & the first w/ 8 hour slots.
 
Those are not bad numbers.
The AMPS was the best Cass has had in 3 days. The PMPS was close to last night (and within the cursed 20% margin of error!). The only wonky number was the mid-day, and it wasn't drastically wonky. I think it's going well.
You might be seeing a little bounce, but not like a super-ball or nothing....
Carl
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top