Cassie 9/26-27 -- TID; wet food trial

Status
Not open for further replies.

bookw0rm

Member Since 2011
Sun amps 310, .5u (+8)
+3 260
+5 264
mdps 398, .5u (+8)
+5 336
pmps 438, .5u (+8)

Mon amps 419, .5u (+8)

So today we start switching to wet food. I thought I'd start slow: put out half a can of Friskes chicken & liver on the way out the door and see what happens. Drawback is I won't be able to tell who ate what. Cass had just gotten his shot; he checked it out and dived in. Benny was whining for more FreshPet (which he gets twice a day and we try to keep away from Cass) so I plunked him down next to the canned stuff. He dove in, too. If was funny watching two cats try to eat out of one little bowl, so I plunked down the other half can, too. They both had their faces firmly planted in wet food as I went out the door.

Pleased with the reception, but this is the first day they've seen wet food in over a month. We'll see if they get tired of it. At this point, the evo dry is still out because I don't know how much they're going to eat and they're used to free feeding. I'll keep both out for a while and then try to get rid of the dry. I don't expect any big changes in BS this week.
 
Re: Cassie 9/26 -- TID; wet food trial

Mdps 337, .5u (+8)

Between the two, they ate a whole can (5.5 oz)! Maybe this will work.
 
Re: Cassie 9/26 -- TID; wet food trial

Good luck, not a bad midday number!
keeping everything crossed!
 
Re: Cassie 9/26 -- TID; wet food trial

Pmps 305, .5u (+8)

Nice # tonight.

Turkey & giblets tonight. Went well. At the 20 cal/lb rate, I figure they each need about 1.5 cans/day (Ben is 10 lbs, Cass about 11). If they keep it up I need to determine a schedule & if I need to freeze some.
 
Re: Cassie 9/26 -- TID; wet food trial

Awesome, Kitties are loving the cans! The turkey and giblets have always been faves in this household. Nicest thing is that you can offer them a variety of tastes and scents. It's gotta be better than the same-old same-old dry for a kitty. I'm sure you'll find some they absolutely refuse to eat.
One lesson I learned is never stock up (like a dozen cans) on just one flavor. As soon as I did, they'd eat it for 3 days and say, nope, we need variety! I'm lucky that so far, whatever one cat decides is no good, the other cat thinks it's great.

Good luck, and so far, really nice results!

Carl
 
AMPS 358, .5u (+8)

This morning we're trying beef & chicken. I decided to start with the flavors that were closest to what they're already eating, but next up are some kind of seafood (ocean whitefish?) and mixed grill (which I can't really tell what's in). There was a little bit of turkey & giblets left this morning, so I added some water and put it back out in case someone decides to eat it.

Keep in mind that right now I don't really know who's eating how much. They're both diving in when I open the can, and what I'm putting out is vanishing, but I'm not there to see how much each one eats. I know Cass ate more at first last night because Ben came to bed first. When I got up to check after both wandered in there was still about half of it left, although most was gone this morning. I suspect that they both need about 1 1/2 cans/day, and I'll probably end up giving them half a can each at each of the three shot periods. Right now I'm mostly trying to find out what (if anything) they'll eat, and feeding a can each a day. I'm leaving the evo dry out. I'm thinking in about a week or so I'll try getting rid of the evo or only putting a little out to see if they'll just eat wet food. I also go back to the vet at the end of next week so I can ask if they need to eat more and if Cass is back to a good weight or still needs to gain. He seems to have gained weight very quickly (almost half a pound this week) and I don't want him to get too fat again.

This is complicated, but right now it seems to be working out okay. Of course, they may decide in a couple days that they don't want canned stuff any more... confused_cat
 
keep trying different flavors...
you will eventually find one that they both love!
numbers are looking good!
 
+5 334

I spoke too soon; they ate most of the beef & chicken. Benny doesn't like the ocean whitefish & tuna they got tonight. We'll see how much gets eaten overnight.

Pmps 219, .5u (+8)

Another late drop, shot anyway. Will prob. be high in the morning.
 
I am anxious to see what your preshot will be off of the 219. I have to reduce Kitty when I get preshots in the low 200s to avoid a much higher preshot the next cycle. Irrregardless what Cassie's preshot is in the morning...it looks like the wet food and TID are working for You!

Once again....glad you stuck with the TID!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top