Cassie 9/15 -- TID

Status
Not open for further replies.

bookw0rm

Member Since 2011
PMPS 424, .6u (+8)
AMPS 441, .6u (+8)

I don't think the .6 is working, but I'm going to leave things alone until the weekend. I don't know what to try next. The .4 tid was working fine for a few days and then went crazy and never settled back. The vet recommended .6 bid next, but I don't know if that's a good idea or not. I think the tid is keeping the numbers down, at least in the lower 400's, but they're not getting as low as I'd like. I think maybe .6 is too much, but I'm willing to take suggestions.
 
I agree the .4 looked good initially and then never settled down..

I don't want to steer you wrong, but let me throw this thought out---the reason that I started TID for Kitty was due to not enough duration with bid dosing. When I was shooting 4 units bid, I was getting results, but she was shooting up the last few hours of the cycle. In fact she was a lot like Cassie--by +8 she was steadily climbing. The dose wasn't the problem--the duration was. So, if the dose is only lasting 8 to 10 hours---and duration is the issue--why would anyone shooting TID need to drastically reduce their bid dose? Like I said, with Kitty...the insulin had all but been used up by +8. It is obvious even when we are shooting Prozinc bid that the insulin is wearing off for most all cats by +8--that is why we see the curve going back up. Some will say there could be overlap--when shooting TID, and I agree we should take that into consideration, especially when TID is new and you don't have the data. But, with Kitty I have not seen anything to resemble insulin overlap from the previous TID cycle. BUT, ECID!!! I also realize that Cassie had some late nadirs early on that might effect this train of thought.

My point and thoughts of this are---if duration is the problem and we are only getting 8 hours out of the insulin, why would anyone shooting TID expect to use a lot less insulin on an 8 hour cycle. Now, that being said--I think there is some reduction in dose once you get them settled into tid--simply because you have lower preshots and you are not letting them go as high and you are keeping a steady supply of insulin in them.

Does any of this make sense?!

I am not trying to tell you to shoot more than you are shooting now or shoot your BID dose---but, I think the ideas are valid.
 
Actually, the .6 was the bid dose. The .4 I did originally was the bid daily dose divided by 3. The reason I went with tid was exactly what you said, with the exception of a few late nadirs early (and that one wonky +8 that threw the tid off) he was nadirs around +5 and then just skyrockets. The tid is keeping his numbers relatively level--they're just running higher than I'm comfortable with for long term. That said, on bid he was having ps's of 500+, sometimes as high as 578, and at least his ps numbers are lower. I'm not sure what's going on. Maybe I need to try .5? Is .1 u going to really make that drastic a difference?
 
Some Cats are very insulin sensitive--so maybe so. Why not try the .5 and if that doesn't give better results, I think you might need to try a small increase---but if you try an increase, be ready to test the first couple of cycles.

Good Luck!
 
I won't be able to test closely until this weekend, so whatever I try, I'll do then. I don't know whether to increase to .7 or decrease to .5. I guess we'll see where he goes between now and then.
 
kse said:
Lisa, are you still feeding dry?

Yes, he's eating Evo dry. We've completed the transition from the high-carb dry he was eating. He won't come anywhere near wet right now. He also free-feeds, so he nibbles off and on all the time.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top