Cassie 9/11-12 - tid, increase

Status
Not open for further replies.

bookw0rm

Very Active Member
Amps 416, .6u (+8)

Went with an increase. I'll be home all day so we'll see how he does. Had trouble determining .5 so I did .6. If this is too much I'll figure out .5.
 
Re: Cassie 9/11 - tid

+5 286

Still too high but coming down (we hope). Not a very good drop, though. I'm still wondering if the uti is back. We go to the vet Tues.
 
Re: Cassie 9/11 - tid

I know I sound crazy and I should be telling myself this.....
but it is a full moon...so sometimes things get crazy and numbers start going up a lot
not sure if you were around in June...but all kitties numbers were running high until
the full moon passed!

but it could also just be that she needs more insulin!
 
Re: Cassie 9/11 - tid

Cass was dx at the beginning of Aug. & I didn't come here until he went dka aweek or so later. Sounds like I missed some intetesting speculation.

Pmps 401, .6u (+8)

Thid one may prove to be a.fur shot. He.moved right when I stuck the needle in.
 
AMPS 474, .6 u (+8)

Yep. Definitely a fur shot last night. I'm trying to be patient and give it time, but I'm really tired of 400's and not getting below 275. How can I tell if I increased too much? Now I'm playing the second-guess-myself game.

Sunday was one week on tid, and also a dose increase. Tid looked really good until he threw a weird low number at +8 the fourth day in. The he went up and sat there. At least he's acting like he feels okay, and he doesn't seem to be all skin and bones anymore(completely subjective--the postal scale is en route. Last time I checked it was in NC somewhere. I'll probably get it Wed., the day after I go to the vet.).
 
Just want to say that you are totally not alone in playing the "second guess yourself game". I drive myself crazy with it!

Hope you get a break through soon! It's super frustrating :YMSIGH:
 
No, you are not alone. Alex and I have been dancing since mid-April and we still get tripped up a lot. :razz:
We're just doing the best we can.
 
just curious....whn you got the really low number...did you shoot?
did you shoot the same dose as you usually do?
 
dmartini4 said:
just curious....whn you got the really low number...did you shoot?
did you shoot the same dose as you usually do?

It wasn't super low (160) but falling at +8 when pm dose due. I waited 2 hours until it was rising.(242) & shot a normal .4 (at 1 am). This was wed. 9/5.

+5 321
 
hhmmm...I looked at the ss and I am thinking that she bounced then next morning
when you got the red.....sometimes it takes a few days to clear a bounce,
but you raised after 3 days...just wondering if you should have raised.
How are her eating habits? is she eating more, is she lethargic at all?

I hate to tell you to lower, but she was doing well on the .4 until it looked like she bounced
I have always been a fan of holding a dose for as long as possible
sometimes weeks at a time.
not sure how you feelin, but maybe try lowering and see what happens
just my thoughts though!
 
Pmps 422 .6u (+8)

Honestly, at this point I'm tempted to chuck it all and start over at 1 u bid. I have no clue what's going on. Tomorrow afternoon we go to the vet. We'll see what.happens. A lot depends on whether or not his uti is back.
 
Here's what I don't get.
You started TID shooting a total of 1.2u per day. Today was 1.8 total. So an daily increase of .6 which is a 50% increase in insulin. But he's not getting good drops. Well, not like 50% or more. I'm going to go back to your BID SS and look it over some....

Carl
 
Sorry you aren't getting great results, I know how frustrating it is.

I'm on the fence on what you should do. I'd probably hold this dose another day or two and see if it gives you a breakthrough, and if not, then reevaluate. Sometimes it will really kick in on the 3rd or 4th cycle and you will see much better results.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top