Cassie 8/22-23

Status
Not open for further replies.

bookw0rm

Very Active Member
Okay, so I didn't get a +8 number last night because I needed some sleep.

PMPS 435, .5 u
+4 262
+6 259

AMPS 427, .5 u (this morning)

I will probably get back around +7 or +8 to see how low he's getting since he seems to nadir late.

The vet from the animal hospital again told me I need an AlphaTrack since a human meter isn't accurate for cats. Maybe if I can find a cheap one, but for right now I'm going to keep checking with what I have. Off to update his SS!
 
Re: Cassie 8/22

You do not need an Alpha Trac meter. If you are curioius, post on health and ask how many people use Alpha Trac meters--I bet it is less than 1 percent.

I use the Accu Check Aviva and have tested it against my vets Alpha Trac--very small difference in numbers. One of the biggest differences that I have read is-- the human meters actually read lower under 50--this is a type of "fear" factor the companies use to alert the user they are in low numbers. The animal/pet meters do not do this--they normally read higher (than human meteres) on lower numbers.

I do not know of any of our PZI users that are using Alpha Trac.

Keep the Ketones checked!

Good Luck today!
 
Re: Cassie 8/22

+6 331. I know he may drop a little lower, but I have a meeting that prevents slightly later readings. This is higher than it ran last time. I'm thinking of bumping to .75 tonight. I can still keep an eye on him fairly well tomorrow, since classes don't start until Wed.
 
Re: Cassie 8/22

These numbers could still be from those low 40s the other day. I personally would hold off on bumping up the dose for one more day just to be sure. There is a BIG difference between a low point in the 40s and a low point in the 300s, especially when the dose difference is only 0.5u. Just makes me think the liver is still trying to protect the body.

One question - is your spreadsheet up to date? You list the last date as 7/22, but I am guessing that those are the numbers for today (8/22).
 
Re: Cassie 8/22

Kelly & Oscar said:
One question - is your spreadsheet up to date? You list the last date as 7/22, but I am guessing that those are the numbers for today (8/22).

Oops. Fixed.

I really don't like how high his numbers are running right now, though. I don't want to risk another ketonic spell.
 
Re: Cassie 8/22

Give it at least though tonight's cycle just in case. Are you testing for ketones at home? You can either test via urine strips or through a blood meter (like the precision xtra). With the blood testing, I recommend getting the ketone strips through ebay since they are quite expensive in the stores.
 
Re: Cassie 8/22

I tested for ketones yesterday. If I can get another urine sample i'll try again today.
 
Re: Cassie 8/22

No ketones are good! Just be careful on the increased dose .... post the later tests, I will be looking :)
please.

Also, so close after DKA you should check daily .... no ketones .....no DKA!

My two cents on the meter. I use the Freestyle and I love it! We get the strips on eBay and it takes the least amount of blood necessary, 0.3 ul .... what you need is a meter that is easy to use and you use every time. Then the #'s are apples to apples for you, because you are using the same meter. I have taken mine to the vet three times and each time the difference was less than 10 pts.
 
Re: Cassie 8/22

bookw0rm said:
Okay, so I didn't get a +8 number last night because I needed some sleep.

PMPS 435, .5 u
+4 262
+6 259

AMPS 427, .5 u (this morning)

I will probably get back around +7 or +8 to see how low he's getting since he seems to nadir late.

The vet from the animal hospital again told me I need an AlphaTrack since a human meter isn't accurate for cats. Maybe if I can find a cheap one, but for right now I'm going to keep checking with what I have. Off to update his SS!

Ask him if he'll sell you his for $9.00.
Tell him that thousands of sugarcats have gone OTJ after being hometested with human meters.
Ask him how many of his clients have had their sugarcats go OTJ using an Alpha Track.


Carl
 
Re: Cassie 8/22

:lol: Carl you crack me up.

It's all true tho'....
Is your vet of the impression that the alpha will be the trick to getting Cassie OTJ or at least well regulated? That would be ...ummmm, interesting.
Lori
 
Re: Cassie 8/22

bookw0rm said:
The vet from the animal hospital again told me I need an AlphaTrack since a human meter isn't accurate for cats. Maybe if I can find a cheap one, but for right now I'm going to keep checking with what I have. Off to update his SS!

Yeah, right. I used a borrowed AlphaTrac from my vet for a while after I first started home testing. He lent me the meter but of course I had to buy the strips. The first bottle of strips just about killed me from sticker shock. I could not believe how expensive a single bottle of strips was, and at the rate I was using them, it was not good. Then I found this place, compared, and bought a Walmart Relion Micro meter. The strips are cheap as was the meter, and best of all, it tested just fine toe-to-toe against the Alpha Trac. The Alpha Track generally read a bit higher than the Walmart one, but after using up my bottle of expensive Alpha Trak strips I felt confident the Relion meter would be just fine. Best of all, I can buy the strips at any Walmart, and did I say they were cheap??? :mrgreen:

Trust us or post in Health and see what the others say, but I doubt anyone is using an AlphaTrac unless they just had a cat diagnosed and a vet foisted it on them.

I've also got a Precision Xtra meter, courtesy of Lori's newbie kit, that I use to test ketones with. I bought some glucose strips for it as well (much more expensive than Relion) but wanted to have a backup or sanity check in case I thought the Relion was off. So far, they test very close to each other usually.

The Relion also uses just a very tiny amount of blood, which is another bonus. The strip does a nice job drawing blood into it too. The Precision Xtra meter requires a gusher to fill that strip, so I'm not as happy with it for that purpose. I mostly use it for ketones as a result though it also requires a mongo amount of blood.
 
Re: Cassie 8/22

I'm not planning to switch to the AlphaTrack, I'm just going to take in the page where they compared meters. I'm using a One Touch. The strips are expensive, which is why I stopped using it for myself, but it matches up pretty well with the AlphaTrack, too.

My little furball is keeping me guessing.

PMPS 498, .75 u
+5 67
+7 62
AMPS 188 ! .25 u

I probably should have skipped this morning but I'll be around to keep an eye on him. I didn't want him to bounce right back up. No ketones the last few days, either.
 
Keep him checked--We normally use 200 as a no shoot number until we have more data, but you are on top of everything and you should be fine.


I wouldn't change anything right now..but, if he gets off of dry food--he probably will go off insulin. To see these type of numbers while he is eating dry food is very promising.

When you can switch him to dry food--you need to be careful with your insulin dose, as it will probably drop very rapidly.

You are doing great! One more day before the kids come!!! You better enjoy it!
 
Someone had sent me an alpha track with 50 strips to use for Newbie Kits.
I'll tell ya, I feel that was the worst kit I ever sent to someone knowing what the strips were going to cost them. I waited till I had a request from someone who 'appeared' to not be under any financial duress to send it to.
Can you imagine...feeling guilty sending one of these...for free!
Lori
Newbie Kits (in case you did'nt know)
 
amps 188, .25 u
+7 273 ?

Makes no sense. Why is he higher at nadir then preshot? Oh, well. At least he didn't crash on me.

I guess we're back to .5 tonight. He's obviously in a good mood today.
 
I think your dose drop was too dramatic.
Think of it this way...you went down a third of his supply.
In a sense you went from 3u to 1u.
Only you went from .75 to .25
Lori
 
His nadir can move around daily. With no other test, you can't assume where he was the first 6 hours. He might have nadired at +5 and been 120--we don't know.

You probably are fine at .5--just be aware that no two cycles are the same. Continue testing and check for ketones!
 
I don't really understand what's going on. He's sky high at preshot, drops 200 points at a time. Is this okay? Is there some way to level him off so he's not so high between shots and not so low at nadir? I know we don't have a complete picture yet, but I'm generally not going to be able to test in between during the week. I know it takes time, but I'm really just winging it at this point & I can't afford to screw up and send him back to the hospital.

Of course, I didn't get a ketone test today either. I misswd the evening litter box run.
 
Lisa sometime, well often, when there is too much insulin in the body you will actually get higher numbers. Judging from that ss you have I would hold steady on a nice small dose for a while.
like the .5
i don't know your history, is this a ketone prone kitty?
either way, your ss looks like a bouncing ball which is what you might expect with an over dose of insulin.
 
Yes, he went Dka about a week after dx. He's only been home since Friday afternoon-that's why the ss is too short.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top