Cassie 6/22 AMPS 107 +2 58 +3 43 + 20min 49 +20 mins 48 +4 53 20 mins 66 +5 70 +6 98 PMPS 273

Abby and Cassie

Member Since 2020
Previous post

Why was it so low this morning when her +7 was 293? Does that mean she had her lowest point past +7? So weird! Should I be concerned?

Also I can't stop laughing, I apparently added an extra 7 to her +8 from the other day, bringing her glucose to a whopping 4,177. :woot: Glad I noticed so no one would be too concerned, LOL
 
You are getting a good response. Let’s see the next test. I don’t recall but was a change to lower carb food made recently?
 
You are getting a good response. Let’s see the next test. I don’t recall but was a change to lower carb food made recently?

No, I went to only "ocean whitefish and tuna" for a week because at first I thought that was the only low-carb pate friskies offered, but then I read that all the normal flavors I fed her were perfectly okay. It's just crazy it's so low when I gave her reduced dose of 1.5 last night and today! Does 58 mean I reduce by another .25, or should I keep on 1.5 for a few more days?
 
To earn a reduction he needs to drop under 58. Back to back reductions don’t usually work as when the old depot is gone they end of needing more juice.
 
Just saw SLGS on ss. Please add to your signature. With SLGS you might want to go with another reduction knowing it might not hold.
 
I was hoping to go with slgs but I think I do enough testing to qualify for TR, since I'm home all the time to keep a close eye on her.

In that case let’s see how easy it is to get him up. We might want to try another reduction even though the old depot us in effect.
 
Sorry. I got called away by a neighbor in the ER. I would have fed a little lc. Let’s see what the next test is.
 
Sorry. I got called away by a neighbor in the ER. I would have fed a little lc. Let’s see what the next test is.

Oh no I hope everything is okay! :(

I did the right thing then because I did give a little extra lc! I just tested her now, so 20 minutes past her +4. she has risen to 66. I won't give anything now. How long should I wait to test her now? Another 20?
 
You are giving a treat each time, right? If she goes two hours without food you will know you are done testing. If she goes down next test you feed and rinse. Lather, repeat.
 
You are giving a treat each time, right? If she goes two hours without food you will know you are done testing. If she goes down next test you feed and rinse. Lather, repeat.

yep I give her a little bit of freeze-dried chicken. It helps when my mom is here, for some reason she's more comforted if she's held by someone. When it's just me she gets really scared. :( So you mean if she is still in higher numbers in 2 hours then we're good until PMPS?
 
I'm glad Elise was around to help.

Why was it so low this morning when her +7 was 293? Does that mean she had her lowest point past +7? So weird! Should I be concerned?
That's a typical cycle when a bounce is breaking. That's when you can see those later nadirs. The cycle following can often be an active one, as you saw today. The good news, Cassie is only bouncing for 3 cycles before getting over it.

If you are following SLGS, I would reduce to 1.25 units. If you are following TR, I would hold the dose. My reasoning - the larger depot can influence 4-6 cycles after a reduction. The 2.0 and 1.75 unit depots are still influencing today's cycle. It's what we call "back to back" reductions, which seldom hold.
 
I'm glad Elise was around to help.


That's a typical cycle when a bounce is breaking. That's when you can see those later nadirs. The cycle following can often be an active one, as you saw today. The good news, Cassie is only bouncing for 3 cycles before getting over it.

If you are following SLGS, I would reduce to 1.25 units. If you are following TR, I would hold the dose. My reasoning - the larger depot can influence 4-6 cycles after a reduction. The 2.0 and 1.75 unit depots are still influencing today's cycle. It's what we call "back to back" reductions, which seldom hold.

Gosh I don't really know which to choose. What would you recommend doing? I personally lean towards reducing again to 1.25 and following SLGS. Especially because that would probably mean more sleep for me. I've been so tired lately. However if I should give 1.5 a few more cycles I can do it, just to see if her numbers calm down a bit. This is the part that I don't really understand much yet!
 
TR vs. SLGS is a personal decision based on your life style. Some people choose SLGS because they can't test as much as TR requires. Some people get nervous with lower numbers and their goal is regulation, not necessarily remission. Some people like tight control and the ability to increase faster if needed - that was me - and choose TR. I personally did not have the patience for SLGS. :p

If you go down to 1.25 units and need more rest, that is OK too. You can decide when you are rested if you want to change things again. I used to often do a "temporary reduction for sleep" for a few cycles. Sometimes it became a permanent reduction. Above all, you need to be healthy to take care of Cassie.
 
TR vs. SLGS is a personal decision based on your life style. Some people choose SLGS because they can't test as much as TR requires. Some people get nervous with lower numbers and their goal is regulation, not necessarily remission. Some people like tight control and the ability to increase faster if needed - that was me - and choose TR. I personally did not have the patience for SLGS. :p

If you go down to 1.25 units and need more rest, that is OK too. You can decide when you are rested if you want to change things again. I used to often do a "temporary reduction for sleep" for a few cycles. Sometimes it became a permanent reduction. Above all, you need to be healthy to take care of Cassie.

I think then for now I will go with SLGS officially. A full night of rest sounds sooo nice! I'm trying to adjust her insulin time anyways so that way I won't have to stay up late to check a +3. Maybe once I get her on schedule again I can think about doing TR again. I definitely get scared at low numbers. I'm an anxious person as is, so I get very shaky and nervous. Probably why I have such a hard time poking her ear sometimes! And while remission sounds wonderful, right now regulation sounds better LOL. Just some normalish numbers, nothing too high or too low.

I am scared about if I switch down to 1.25 and that's too little. I'm really scared of DKA, because I don't think I'll be able to afford the treatment for it. There shouldn't be too big of a risk though, right? .25 isn't a huge leap..so it shouldn't push her sugar levels too high?
 
Regulation is a prerequisite to remission, should it happen. One step at a time. Many cats live years happily in regulation.

Test for ketones if you are nervous. Just make sure she (should I say he?) is hydrated, eating lots and not acting lethargic.
 
Regulation is a prerequisite to remission, should it happen. One step at a time. Many cats live years happily in regulation.

Test for ketones if you are nervous. Just make sure she (should I say he?) is hydrated, eating lots and not acting lethargic.

LOL even the vet doesn't know what to call Cassie anymore. We rescued Cassie as a stray 3-4 years ago, and she/he had a very feminine personality..if that makes sense? And then a few years we finally learned it was a neutered male..but we can't stop saying she. :joyful: I think it's the pink ears and nose, seems so girly.

Every feeding time I make Cassie's pate food with extra water, so overall I think she stays pretty hydrated. But as for the lethargic part, so hard to tell!! She is always sleeping.
 
Back
Top