Cassie 11/3-4 -- TID weird lows

Status
Not open for further replies.

bookw0rm

Very Active Member
Previously: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=24&t=55435

Wed: AMPS 300, .2u (+9) (went low because he was either flat or falling at this point)
MDPS 234, .1u (+8)
+5 301
PMPS 297, .2u (+8)

I fully expected him to be sky high this morning. Instead:

AMPS 233, .1u (+8)

Thanks for the suggested scale, Carl. My only concern is that when he was on .2 before, it clearly wasn't enough insulin. I don't understand how .2 is not enough but .3 is too much. Okay, I really don't understand what's going on with Cass at all. I"m liking this lower numbers--but I don't know how to react to them and I keep waiting for Tigger to make a reappearance. Of course, he waits to pull tricks like this on days that I can't be there to get mid-cycle tests (night class tonight), so I never really know what's going on.

I'll take any advice you guys are willing to give. I've got no clue at this point. confused_cat

The good news is, there's no signs of ketones (got a test Monday), and he seems to be his happy, annoying self. He's actually turning into a bit of a lap cat now, which is a change for the better. I got to spend yesterday evening in the recliner with both cats in my lap and a book. :-D
 
Focus on the GOOD!!!! And there seems to be a lot of that! Always remember the whole cat report--- it beats the heck out of any BG readings!

Go Cass!
 
You think you have no clue, just take a look at Thumper. I've been at this since April 1 and I still don't get it. She's always doing something different. I think it's just all a big April fools joke & I'm gonna wake up one day it's all a big joke!
 
Pmps 297, .2u (+8)

Okay so maybe .2 was fine. I wish I knew what changed his dose needs so suddenly. Not complaining (much), just confused. confused_cat
 
He seems to be really sensitive to small doses, and small adjustments. I think the better numbers are from the lower doses the past 24 hours. These numbers look terrific.
Have you tried the "feed him, watch for pancreas action" in the first hour or two? Can you do that on a meal or snack that doesn't fall within a couple hours before a shot time?

Carl
 
AMPS 225, .1u (+8)

I don't believe he's staying this low--always bounced before much sooner. Wish I'd been able to get some mid-cycle tests in here to see where he's going. Ketones=0 again (last night).

carlinsc said:
Have you tried the "feed him, watch for pancreas action" in the first hour or two? Can you do that on a meal or snack that doesn't fall within a couple hours before a shot time?

Carl

How does that work again? I feed him (with or without insulin) and see if the number backs down on its own? How long after I feed him do I need to check? (I've read this suggestion to others but it never quite sunk in because it didn't seem like Cass was anywhere near ready to try it.)

I'm willing to give it a shot, although it's likely to be Sunday before I can pull it off. I'm supposed to do a Ladies' Retreat with my mom Friday evening/Saturday. Of course, with TID almost any time is a couple of hours before/after a shot. :lol:
 
Can someone explain the "feed him, watch for pancreas action" that Carl suggested? I don't remember the details of how it works, and it's worth a shot with Cass cat. Thanks!
 
My take on what Carl is saying is.....if the pancreas is working and producing insulin then it should react to food being introduced into the body. So, if you fed him and you saw the BGs come down, prior to the onset of the insulin then you would assume that the pancreas is producing some insulin.

I have seen this happen, but I am more accustomed to seeing it happen at the end of a bid cycle when the insulin should be wearing off....but, you feed the cat and you see a drop in BG instead of the normal increase in the curve. With TID, I would think this might be harder to see as there always should be "some" insulin in the system.

Maybe someone else can explain it better! But, that is the gist of it!

Does that make any sense?
 
Sort of. How long after he eats should I test him? Assuming I can find a time when he should be going up instead of down w/ the insulin swing.
 
+6 308

Was gonna try the feed & test but this is either a bounce or inverse so I don't know if it will.work. Will check in 1/2 hour or so to see if the snack I just gave does anything.
 
Sorry, Lisa, I was at work when you posted the question...

Kim had it pretty much covered though. And she's right, it's a bit more difficult to do on a TID schedule, because you want to try it at a time when the insulin has pretty much worn off.

If you were to feed him at like +7 maybe? After the food, within an hour, his BG should go up a little from eating. So then you wait maybe 30-60 more minutes to see if it drops any. If so, that should indicate that his pancreas is producing some insulin, enough to attempt to fight off the boost from eating. It is much easier on a 12 hour schedule, because for most cats, the PZI will have tapered off by the time +9 or +10 rolled around, and that would give you a better chance to see pancreas activity.

The only other way I think you could try it would be what you did the other day, and plan on skipping a shot. Test him at +8, feed him, and then test him 30-60 minutes after eating. His BG should be up from the pre-meal test. Then wait another 60 minutes to see if it goes down any. Since by then it would have been about 10 hours since his last shot, any drop would be due to the pancreas' insulin.

Carl
 
bookw0rm said:
1/2 hour post snack 329. (+6.75) Guess this is inconclusive. Do I need to wait longer?

IF that is an actual "rise", it would be from the snack. If you can wait an hour, see if it goes down any.
 
I can wait a bit. I waited till he should've been rising to feed. He's not due for a shot for another hour (2 hours post snack) so I thought i'd see if he keeps going up or comes down. May not be able to tell what happens anyway-but worth a try.
 
Pmps 360, .2u (+8)

I'm thinking bounce with some food spike added, which is why I stuck with .2 instead of .3 for higher numbers.

Wait & feed failed or maybe not clear due to tid timing. May try again when he comes back down-maybe try the +8, feed, and wait to shoot Carl suggested.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top