Cassie 11/16-17 -- still surfin' at +15

Status
Not open for further replies.

bookw0rm

Member Since 2011
So, yesterday:
AMPS 360, .3u (+12)
+4 364
PMPS 258, 2.u (+12
+7.5 230

Today:
+12 232
AMPS 295, .2u (+15)

He's never stayed that low that long before--and only on .2u! I opted for caution this morning. He hasn't really had any ps's in this range since we went back to bid (a week and a half ago); they've either been 300+ (.3) or under 270 (.2), so I wasn't sure how to go. But after that long surf on a low dose, I felt safer with the lower dose, since I'll be at school all day.

So, now what. Do I need to re-evaluate his dose and maybe go to .2 on a regular basis? (depending on how he reacts today) He usually bounces when he gets this low (and I don't know really how low he got). Also, do I try to dose at his usual pmps time (+9) or shortly thereafter, or do I wait the full 12 hours?

I would like to adjust his shot time so I'm not getting up at 3 am, but there are 1-2 nights per week I couldn't dose the evening shot until late (2-3 hours), I don't know whether it's better to use this as an excuse to adjust or leave things well enough alone.

Suggestions and/or moral support? This cat is driving me crazier than usual! confused_cat
 
Re: Cassie 11/16 -- surfer duude, questions

I don't feel right giving dosing advise but for sure I can give you moral support :YMHUG: cat_pet_icon this dance is hard on your feet right ;-) keeps us on our toes !! for kitties like ours we should trade in our shoes and get balarenia slippers :lol: I know I probley spelled balarenia wrong lol my brain is mush no sleep yet !!
 
Re: Cassie 11/16 -- surfer duude, questions

That's beautiful. You don't want to back off too much, try to keep him in these numbers.

You can move your schedule to better suit your life, I just wouldn't make any changes that are too drastic. An early shot is a dose increase and a late shot is a dose decrease. Lets see what he does today.

Fingers and paws crossed that these numbers are his new normal.
 
Re: Cassie 11/16 -- surfer duude, questions

Pmps 282, .2u (+9)

Decent number at thr usual time. Prob should've gone to .1 since it's early but I didn't see Robin's post before I shot. Gonna stick w/ the current schedule till the end of the semester.

Technically .2 is a reduction; been using it on ps's under 274 to.minimize bouncing but it's not worked before. I hope this.means he's settled into bid. I can live with yellow.
 
Re: Cassie 11/16 -- surfer duude, questions

I think .2u is good.

Let him settle into that, maybe he'll decide to visit the blues soon. ;-)
 
Re: Cassie 11/16 -- surfer duude, questions

.2 looks like its doing well for him; holding steady and surfing, not much rise or steep bouncing.
Hope thing continue like this without bounce.
Cassie seems to be headed in right direction.
 
Re: Cassie 11/16 -- surfer duude, questions

Looking pretty good
I ...like everyone else think you should stick with the .2
looks good, I have everything crossed for you 2!! :mrgreen:
 
Re: Cassie 11/16 -- surfer duude, questions

+4 300

I started to say boing! but maybe it's flat. I can deal with either but I'm hoping for.flat.
 
Re: Cassie 11/16 -- surfer duude, questions

Awesome! Cass is doing better, and Lisa is showing great instincts on dosing and the timing of the shots! I'd say a super day for both of you!
:smile:
Carl
 
Re: Cassie 11/16 -- surfer duude, questions

300 is the yellowest shade of pink there is. I'd call it "orange" ;-)

Carl
 
Re: Cassie 11/16 -- surfer duude, questions

+12 244

Surf Kitty, USA! Another delayed shot. Of course, with the night class tonight things will be "interesting" for pmps.
 
Re: Cassie 11/16 -- surfer duude, questions

+15 246

I need to leave.for work soon & still not rising.
 
So, still not rising number and I had to go to work. I'll try to get home around 9-10 (+18-19)! to check on him but this is really crazy.

This is surfing on .2u. I can't reduce much more. I know ideally you should adjust the dose so you can reasonably consistently dose bid. The numbers he's getting right now are shootable (although given his bounce tendency I'd be afraid to shoot more than .1), but as far as I can tell not rising. If I had a clue just how high he'd get if I just wait until his normal shot time, I'd be tempted to just wait, but I"m afraid he'll skyrocket when he comes off this.

Of course, I'm excited that he's getting such wonderful numbers--it's just I thought I was starting to figure things out before he started be wonky surfer boy.

 
Did you feed an d leave some out?
I wanna see how this turns out.
carl
 
I gave the usual food (1/2 can friskees) at the usual +12, and the usual snack (1/4 can) at +15. When I gave the am shot at +18, I gave an extra snack (about 1/8 cup of FreshPet). Cass inhales anything I give him, so I don't know that it will last very long, but I did try. I'll be home again at +6 to see where he goes.
 
Glad you got off of the TID.....looks like Cass needs much less insulin!

Looking Great! Good Luck today!
 
+6 262

Dunno if he's going.down or coming up. Used to..nadir at +5. Off to class. Will be +12 when I get back.
 
+12.5 268

Good grief. So I assume I need to reduce to .1u to avoid marathon surfs? Or do I wait it out & curve on .2 on Sat?
 
When he starts rising, I will. The schedule is going to be impossible tomrrow-but then I have a week off to get him back to some managable time.
 
Actually there are pictures on this board showing how to dose by drops. When you need them I'll go find them.

Since he is holding his own in the mid 200's on .2u, how do you feel about trying to push him into the blues?

I would like to see a curve on the .2u dose on Saturday if that works, to see a bigger picture. And then go from there.
 
I'm willing to try for blues, but remember, he's prone to bounce. I'd like to avoid pink ps's. Will definitely curve over the weekend-just need to figure out what to do tonight & tomorrow.
 
In order to avoid the bounce till you can do the curve, shoot low, like .1, and if you get a higher than wanted AMPS, .2?

Carl
 
For tonight and tomorrow I'd go with .1u or .2u what ever you feel comfortable with.

You have enough room to drop into the blues with either dose. He may bounce a little but without some bouncing you won't get him regulated.

You are doing great on these low doses.
 
Pmps 283, .2u (+15)

Stuck w/ .2 because I want to see the curve Sat. A long surf won't hurt because I.can't check until +15 tomorrow afternoon (anything resembling a schedule is gone).

Just curious: how do we aim for blue? A higher dose?
 
Well that +6 is yucky :sad:

Once you get a curve on the .2u to see what the cycle looks like then yes you would up the dose to like .25 or .3 to try to push him into the blues.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top