Cassie 10/15-16 -- TID advice?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: Cassie 10/15-16 -- TID curve odd

+6 354

Ok, now it's clearly an inverse curve, if he comes back down. That's too.much insulin. Or possibly a fur shot; usual nadir is +5.

What do I do? He's due for a shot in 2 hours.
 
Re: Cassie 10/15-16 -- TID curve odd help?

Hey...just remember...it is only inverse, if it comes back down at the end of the cycle...or at least that is my understanding. If he climbs the entire cycle, that to me would indicate too little insulin. When is your midsot...I will be glad to check back and let's see if we can figure out a plan. Do you think it could have been a fur shot?

It always scares me to reduce insulin a lot in kitties that have had previous ketone issues----unless you are seeing scary nadirs.
 
Re: Cassie 10/15-16 -- TID curve odd help?

I was thinking about the inverse curve again...you know, since with tid we shoot every 8 hours it really might be hard to know if the curve is inverse....because we shoot before it normally would have time to come down. We need to think about this!

When is midshot?
 
Re: Cassie 10/15-16 -- TID curve odd help?

His midshot is at 3, so just under an hour.

Could be a furshot-dose is so small it's hard to tell. Won't know until I get a ps number.
 
Re: Cassie 10/15-16 -- TID curve odd help?

Mdps 294 .3u (+8)

Even givem meter variance that looks inverse to me. I've been shooting .4 since Wed night because he kept bouncing. Advice?
 
Re: Cassie 10/15-16 -- TID curve odd help?

Maybe try .3 and see what you get....TEST for ketones!!! Low insulin doses scare me on past DKA kitties.

What do you think?
 
Re: Cassie 10/15-16 -- TID curve odd help?

Try it... You are home and can test the cycle... if the numbers increase you can always go back up.

Test ketones!
 
Re: Cassie 10/15-16 -- TID curve odd help?

We'll.give it a try. I'll be around to keep an eye on him &.will atempt a ketone test.
 
Re: Cassie 10/15-16 -- TID curve odd help?

Ok... I will be around tonight.. Post his numbers and I will keep an eye on them.

Good Luck!
 
Re: Cassie 10/15-16 -- TID curve odd help?

Hi Lisa,
hopefully it was a fur shot
dont like those numbers!
 
Re: Cassie 10/15-16 -- TID curve odd help?

+2.5 361
+4.5 339

Don't like this....

Pm shot due at 11 eastern (3 hours). Should I go.back to .4?
 
Those look inverse to me. I would stick with .3.
It will take at least a few cycles to see results, I think. Even though you shot .3 at MDPS, there's probably still a little overlap at play so maybe Cass hasn't realized the reduction yet.

Hoping Kim is around to chime in... Or Robin, Sue, Joanna, Denise, etc. (someone besides me!).... ;-)

Carl
 
Amps 266, .3u (+8)

I panicked last night and gave .4, which brought hi back down. Hopwfully he won't bounce on the .3.

I honestly have no clue what's going on here, so advice is welcome.
 
Good Morning!

As long as Cass is feeling ok.. Eating and no ketones, I would stick with the .3 a couple of cycles and see what you get. The early higher numbers could be residual overlap from the previos cycle. If his true nadir is late, and you are shooting at +8, you could be seeing some overlap early in your cycle.... too much insulin onboard. Let's see what the .3 does.

Have a great day!
 
+5 352

Eating fine-being a pig, in fact. Still trying to get a ketone test.

I almost want to go back to .4 because he had lower numbers. Seems to be still inverse but higher at .3. ugh!
 
I am glad you stuck with the .3 for another cycle, this preshot should be high enough to give us better data on the .3--- it will be interesting to see if the .3 is enough to bring the bg down. Let's see what happens!

Keep the test posted, so we can see where it is headed.
 
Hi Lisa,
I am sorry but I have to say that the 2 of you really confuse me.
but reading everything, it is probably good to stick with the .3 for alittleGood luck and keeping everything crossed
for good numbers soon!
 
dmartini4 said:
Hi Lisa,
I am sorry but I have to say that the 2 of you really confuse me.

S'okay. We confuse ourselves, too. Wish I had a clue what's going on. Not liking the.numbers.
 
Personally, I like that the curve is going in the "right" direction.....lets see what happens the rest of the cycle. If the .3 was too short, I think you would have seen the curve stay flatter....I am happy that it was enough to move the numbers downward. You really could be dealing with some overlap...thus resulting in the lower dose.

You have about 2.5 more hours...lets hope it stays yellow.
 
I concur. If any overlap was the reason, then it will take a couple days at point3 to see the effect of the reduction. This cycle looks good.
Carl
 
I agree. Stay with the .3u for a few more cycles to see what it does.

Sorry but I've been suggesting a dose reduction since you got here.
 
Rob & Harley said:
Sorry but I've been suggesting a dose reduction since you got here.

Yes, but this is the first time it was obviously indicated. We're still new at this-it's been not quite 2 months since he came home from the hospital.

Pmps 279, .3u (+8)
 
Good Job Lisa! I like the .3 ------lets hope Cass gets a good cycle off of it on this lower preshot.

Fingers crossed!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top