Cassie 10/13-14 -- TID, aka Tigger

Status
Not open for further replies.

bookw0rm

Very Active Member
So yesterday:
AMPS 315, .5u (+8)
MDPS 314. .5u(+8)
+4.5 314
PMPS 249, .4u (+8)

Today:
AMPS 236, .4u (+8)

I'm liking these lower numbers but they make me nervous because he always bounces, and lately the bounces have been taking longer to clear. (Yesterday's high numbers were coming off of a bounce to 346 Tuesday night). I've backed off to .4 when he's under 250; do I need to back off more?
 
Re: Cassie 10/13 -- TID AMPS 236

I'm also wondering if he's getting a different duration with these lower numbers. There have been a couple instances when the mid-cycle test has been higher than the pre-shot. It's usually in a case where he's coming down from a bounce, and, given meter variance, it's not really "different." I really need to get a good curve in on a day that doesn't involve a bounce (and isn't flat). Unfortunately, he's been bouncing a LOT and I didn't get anything good last weekend.
 
Re: Cassie 10/13 -- TID AMPS 236

Mdps 259, .4u (+8)

I chickened out and gave .4 since I won't be here if he crashes (night class).
 
Re: Cassie 10/13 -- TID AMPS 236

I wish I could offer some advice,but TID is just not something I know much about. You might send a pm to kse and see if she will drop by and help.
 
Re: Cassie 10/13 -- TID AMPS 236

I think the .4 was a good call. The duration question is a good one. About the only way to know is with mid-cycles so you can see when his nadir actually is happening. So yeah, a curve wiuld be good, providing cass cooperates and gives you a no bounce day to try one!
Carl
 
Re: Cassie 10/13 -- TID AMPS 236

C'mon cass, knock it off! Might have to change his name to "tigger".

This is almost a mirror of two days ago. I didn't see it coming. So what do you think? Do you need to go lower? Like .4s and .3s?

Carl
 
Re: Cassie 10/13 -- TID AMPS 236
 

Attachments

  • tigger.gif
    tigger.gif
    7.9 KB · Views: 803
Re: Cassie 10/13 -- TID AMPS 236

carlinsc said:
This is almost a mirror of two days ago. I didn't see it coming. So what do you think? Do you need to go lower? Like .4s and .3s?
Carl

Maybe. You'll note I stuck w/ the .4 since you're not supposed to increase on a bounce. This time he started lower & bounced higher. He actwd like he was starving when I got home at +6 so I gave him a little snack. Gonna have to expeeiment again. If he eats everything the first couple hours there's nothing left to stop him fom bouncing. Need to figure out spme way to spread the food out.
 
Re: Cassie 10/13 -- TID AMPS 236

judy and squamee(GA) said:
Have you tried automatic timed feeders with frozen food?

Not yet...this is why I said I'll need to experiment. They've only been eating wet food for about 2 weeks. I'm thinking if I give them the same amount (1/2 can friskies each, 3 times a day) but freeze half of it then maybe some of it will last longer. Knowing Cass, he'll find a way to eat the frozen stuff immediately. I'll play with it some this weekend when I can see what happens.

AMPS 331, .4u (+8)
 
Re: Cassie 10/13 -- TID, aka Tigger

Hey Lisa!

No need for a pm... I am here to help you if I can. Kitty always bounces on low preshots...low 200s... This week she had a 157 amps, I waited and shot at 227. The next cycle, we had our first red preshot in a month---458. It is so hard to keep the bounce from occurring... It is tough to balance between too little and too much insulin on the lower preshots.

I will look at your SS and see if I can add anything later. Please let me know if I can help in any way. I always keep a check on you and Cass!

Hang in there!

Kim
 
Thanks for keeping an eye on us. I know it's hard to keep him from bouncing; it's just frustrating. I really like seeing him in the lower numbers, and I'd like to keep him there as much as possible. Then, for no apparent reason, boing!, he's back up. Like I said, I'm going to do some experimenting with how I feed him to see if I can keep him more level. The problem is, right now he's eating everything in sight as soon as it's available.

We're hanging on. I've seen too much progress to give up at this point.

I just wish he'd settle enough so I can get a good curve run. The last one I tried he was flat the whole time, then he bounced so I didn't get any good info.

The flip side--he was in a wonderful mood last night. He had a hyper jag and picked a fight with his brother. I'm glad he was feeling good--I just wish it didn't go with a 381 PMPS!
 
Mdps 346, .4u (+8)

In Mary Poppins you had to.make people sad to get them off the ceiling. What will bring Cass cat down?

This afternoon I gave them 1/4 can frozen &.1/4 plain. Cass is trying his best to.eat the frozen.

Edit: he ate the frozen stuff too-it just slowed him down.
 
Kitty was 293 amps and 358 mdps......both are babies are much better than they were in those reds....we will get Cass down ...I have found that the sub qs really make a difference for Kitty. It normally takes two cycles on tid and one on bid to get a positive effect. Last week after giving sub qs.....Kitty had a 157 preshot....it has now been 3 days and I am losing the momentum from them--I am going to give them again tonight. I think I have read that Nancy and Payne also give sub qs and see a postive reduction in the bg with them. Maybe you could consider giving a small amount 50 mls one cycle and see if you gain anything from it. They are not hard to give.

Alright....fingers and paws crossed for a good cycle!
 
+5 251

Better...(fingers crossed)

The only time he's had sub-q was during his dka. Dunno if he needs them.
 
alright.
331/346/269
and all 3 doses were .4, right?

hmmmm. not coming up with anything....

Sort of backwards from yesterday. yellow, yellow, pink vs. pink, pink, yellow. And same dose on every one.
This is totally not helpful, Lisa, but tigger/cass either needs a decrease or an increase.

I say decrease because it seems like there's way too many bounces.
I say increase because he doesn't seem to dip low enough for it to cause a bounce.
I can't suggest you up an am or pm shot to try to lower the next PS number, because he isn't the least bit predictable to me. Like Angela always knows Henry is going to be higher in the AM? Cass isn't "always" something.

All I can say is you definitely need a full curve in order to see what happens "in the middle". Including when he eats and how much so we can try to figure out how and when food affects things. I really wish I had an answer, any answer, on him.

I do however, like the 269 tonight, if that helps...
Carl
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top