Cassie 1/27-29 advice?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: Cassie 1/27

Interesting...no bounce
so that is a good thing!
Are you gonna shoot today or leave Cass alone until tonight?
 
Re: Cassie 1/27

Thank goodness. Glad to see there wasn't a huge rebound, Mr. P seems to have checked in...?? Hope you managed to get some sleep as well last night as well.
 
Re: Cassie 1/27

Wow! That was one long ride and no bounce. Impressive work for both you and Cassie. Hope you can catch on sleep.

I really thought in the beginning it would be one of those fast dips into low numbers and a quick bounce up with business as usual. He sure fooled me!
 
Re: Cassie 1/27

Skipped the shot this morning (obviously). I'll be at work until his usual pmps, about 3 this afternoon. I got about 3 hours sleep so today will be interesting.

So, suggestions for dosing this afternoon? I expect a bounce by then, but I don't think I want to shoot more than 1u. Should I have a "sliding scale" planned out depending on his pmps?
 
Re: Cassie 1/27

Let's see what he looks like. It will be interesting - huge bounce up or slower move up? Wonder if Mr. p is still showing up?
 
Re: Cassie 1/27

Tigger's back! That was a lot of carbs he got. Oh well, better to be safe than sorry. You have time to experiment with the dose a little this weekend?
 
Re: Cassie 1/27 dose?

+6 203

Good drop from 1u. Suggestions for am dose? I'll be around for a +6 tomorrow but then I have a meeting. Should I stick with 1u?
 
Re: Cassie 1/27 dose?

Pretty big drop and we can hope his amps will be lower so we would "assume" he would be in better numbers on one unit tomorrow? Not that reasoning ever works.
 
Re: Cassie 1/27 dose?

That's what I was thinking, but amps is at 3am so I doubt there'll be anyone around to advise. So, keep suugesting please!

Nap time was unsuccessful this afternoon but I bet I'll sleep well tonight.
 
Re: Cassie 1/27 dose?

Lisa,
I don't think much of that 441 was a bounce. I think that it is primarily due to not having any insulin for 24 hours, not because he went so low last night. Bouncing is a quick thing. If the liver dumps glucose in response to a low number, it does it right then, not 18 hours later. I think if there was a bounce from the hypo numbers, you would have seen them in that +15 reading, and that number was great.

Soooooo....that 1u pushed Cass down 230+ points by nadir. If you get an AMPS below 300, I'd shoot less than 1u. Like .75 tops.

Just my thinking....let's hear from others!

Carl
 
Re: Cassie 1/27 dose?

Remember, after a hypo number, he's supposed to be more insulin sensitive. I'm not sure how long that sensitivity lasts, whether it's one cycle or one day or whatever. I never had to deal with it with Bob. Of course, I had no clue that it even existed then either!

Carl
 
Re: Cassie 1/27 dose?

Amps 334, 1u (+12)

First attempt was 399; I like the retest better. Went with 1u again.
 
Re: Cassie 1/27-29

+6 409 :?

Still had food from this morning so I'm guessing flat day + food spike. Darn.
 
Re: Cassie 1/27-29

SOrry Iwas hoping Cassie would stay with the lower numbers,
At lwast she had a good run at the lower numbers
 
Re: Cassie 1/27-29

Pmps 308, 1u (+12)

Hmm. So that last cycle was inverse. Maybe 1u is too high. Still some wonkiness from his long surf the other night.

Don't give up yet Denise, Cass usually takes a couple days to recover from a low cycle (this was a record) and then his numbers settle. I think he will at least settle at a lower dose which I take as a victory.

Of course, next weekend I get to teach mom how to shoot (& maybe test) so I hope we find a safe dose quickly.
 
For tonite, I think neither. I'm still trying to figure out the whole inverse curve thing, but I'm going to post another thread about that shortly.

If that AMPS this morning was really a 399. and not a 334, then this curve wasn't inverse, just a slight slope downward.... I don't understand this +6, however. But with the numbers you are seeing, which are all pinks, staying at 1u is not going to cause a crisis either way. I'd consider sticking with 1u tonight, and seeing what you get after sunrise in the morning.

Carl
 
I figure 1u is safe, and I know we can't make any solid conclusions until the end of the cycke. But, his next ps is at 3am and I know there won't be anyone around to consult. I'll probably stick with the 1u unless hr surprises me again.

Definitely willing to entertain more advice in the morning. (or whenever)
Thanks.
 
lol, we need a new member who likes to stay up late, who lives on the west coast so there will be somebody there for you at 3am!

In all the time I've been on the board, I have only seen one time when I was the only person online, and it was like at 4 in the morning.
 
Someone's shooting at 2:30-3:00, but I don't remember who. Might be doug & libby if they're just past nadir now. The funny thing is that there are usually a large number of guests then, even if I'm the onky registered person on.
 
Looks like 1.4u is a bit too much, and 1u is falling a bit short. What about splitting the difference and go with 1.2u? Just a thought. :smile:
 
I hear you. Sometimes it's just plain hard figuring out what would work. Then they throw wonky numbers at us....I think on purpose! LOL
 
Lisa, if Cassie somethimes takes a while to settle into a dose do you think you should hold anothr cycle or two? Jax was all over the place after he went scary low and didn't get back into place till almost a week later along with a big reduction.Idk... I personally think it takes more than 1 cycle for a cat to settle after a hypo.
 
He usually needs 3-4 days to settle, but I really don't like these.highs. That's why I'm looking for suggestions.
 
Just my thoughts, I would go with the 1.2 and hold for a good 5 days
to see where CAssie goes with it.
One unit does not seem to be doing anything for him, and dont forget
you could wind up back up at 1.4..
Shakes has hypoed at 3 units and 2 weeks later we were at 3.2, so just
because he went too low on a dose does not mean that he might get back up there again
 
Do you have any time to possibly update the SS? Easier to see things that way than to look at the numbers in the thread.
 
Lisa & Jax said:
Do you have any time to possibly update the SS? Easier to see things that way than to look at the numbers in the thread.

Not easily until tomorrow; no internet at home & my phone doesn't play well with google docs.
 
If you want to do google doc on your phone or a pad of some sort, I find it is doable with the google app. Not just using a browser. The google app allows you to view and make changes, it’s just slow going. Full disclosure is I use apple products. Mileage may vary on android stuff or other....
 
Donna, I've tried the google doc app-it locks up my phone. Will try to update the ss this afternoon but no promises.
 
+12 195

Seems Cass had other plans...fed & will check again in 2-3.
(I know the drill is don't feed.but they'd already been whining for an hour.)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top