Cassie 1/26-27 +6 33

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: Cassie 1/26-27

Better pink than red. :YMSIGH: And looks like you caught it before it got much higher. :smile:

Here's hoping for a better day. :-D
 
Re: Cassie 1/26-27

+6 33 :o (take 2: 28)

Fed the usual 1/4 friskees. How soon do I need to check again? He's acting normal. Guess we get to reduce in the morning!
 
At 33 BG you may just want to give a tiny bit, just to get that # up. Trying to get more experinced members in here...
 
She's low enough that I would feed her the gravy off the food, Lisa. It has the carbs. You want to bring her up and not go any lower.

Yes, test again in 15. And breathe.....
 
Remember try to give the gravy w/out the food as you don't want her tummy to fill up all the way. Just in case you may need to try to feed again.
 
50 is quite a jump up. This is good. I might back off the gravy and see if she wants a little regular.

If you can manage this without giving a whole lot of carbs, you may be able to have less of a bounce from the carbs next preshot.
 
+6.75 53

The jump to 50 was just from the normal friskees; gave the.gravy after.

How far should I reduce in the morning? 1.2 or just 1?

Darn phone keeps locking up...
 
I have always "heard" Robin say, that after a hypo situation, that the next cycle the cat is highly sensitive to insulin. I have also read that the old philosophy was to actually skip a cycle of insulin after the hypo cycle. At the least, I would reduce greatly next cycle and shoot a token dose.
 
That's good advice, Kim. Maybe my dose advice for a cycle after. So you can be sure she isn't going to start a new pattern of lower numbers.
 
Hi all,
Looks like plenty of eyes are here.....Thanks for the invite, Lisa (and Jax)....

One question....on the original 33, did you check again just to see if it was 100% right?

Good job, Lisa!

Carl
 
Lisa,
Thanks. Wow, 28.... no symptoms you could see though?

Looking at SS now...
 
She's doing fine, Lisa. Staying in that range is good.

Sometimes they surf in that range longer than the 12 hour cycle. Sometimes they go back up within a couple infusions of gravy.
 
You are doing good.... The gravy should bring him up more. Try to retest again in 15 mins.
 
Looks like Mr. P is sputtering? Look at the AMPS on 1/23. Same dose gave you a 200 point drop at +4. The other cycles, not so much activity. I'd guess the same sort of thing happened tonight again for some random reason.
Lisa, this is awesome, scary, but awesome.

I saw what Kim and Sue said above on the dose for tomorrow. I agree that AMPS should be a token dose and that Cass would most likely be insulin sensitive.

Lisa, you at home during the day time tomorrow?

Carl
 
Wish we were seeing some more movement up. It would be nice if you don't have to do an all night vigil......

What does everyone think about getting some syrup out?
 
I would have thought the gravy would have kicked in a little more by now. Continue to test.... You should start to see more upward movement soon.
 
I would test again in 15 mins, but if the gravy is only holding the numbers steady, I might would get the syrup out to get some upward movement.
 
Lisa,
Can you guesstimate how much gravy and how much wet food Cass has gotten so far? I think it might take a little longer to really kick in.

Carl
 
About 2-3 tablespoons gravy & shreds and 1/4 can friskees (~2 oz). I have honey if you think he needs it.
 
Lisa,
Hold off on the honey for a few.....at least one more test first.
How long till you are late getting to bed?

Carl
 
I was hoping he would continue up from those 50s, not go back to the 40s. Is he about 8 now? I think I would try a little syrup mixed with the gravy. If he doesn't like that, just a small smear on his gums?
 
RECIPE -

Carl, in case you meant it, the recipe is:
put about a half a teaspoon of honey in the bottom of a teacup. Boil the jug and add a bit of water just to thin it. Get a tin of highcarb gravy style catfood and spoon out some of the gravy. Discover a bit of leftover lowcarb kangaroo pate and put about half a teaspoon of that in. Crush the pate and try to mix it into the goo.

We don't have access to "kangaroo pate", but any pate should work. Amazing but I guess in Australia, they use kangaroo in cat food???

Carl
 
All these numbers are essentially the same for the last couple of hours.... AND, you have gravy on board. I would continue to test every every 15-20 mins... I would have expected more upward movement from the gravy.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top