Cassie 1/1-2

Status
Not open for further replies.

bookw0rm

Member Since 2011
Amps 274, 1u (+12)

Essentially same # as +6 but high enough to shoot (I hope I don't regret this). Guess he likes being home. :-D
 
Re: Cassie 1/1

+6 135 :-D

Too bad he can't spend all day asleep in my lap; it seems to agree.with him. (This is how we've spent most of the day so far. Unfortunately I have to do laundry...)
 
Re: Cassie 1/1

It truly must be a cat lap day. The Poopster usually doesn't lounge in a lap but today he's been a lap hog! LOL

Go, Cassie, go! :RAHCAT
 
Re: Cassie 1/1

Pmps 388, 1u (+12)

Darn. Good morning but icky ps. He gets a good drop but then skyrockets. How do I get.his ps's down?
 
Re: Cassie 1/1

I'd give it a few more cycles. Guess you could then consider a small increase. Another option would be to shoot a little earlier, on the rise, in the pm, if that wouldn't throw off your amps. I would try one or the other, not both, and not till you give this dose a little more time.
 
Re: Cassie 1/1

Actually, except for the one.cycle I tried 1.2, he's been on 1u for a week. He has several good days followed by several in which he's pretty flat. Not sure how to interpret. I suspect he needs an increase but I think we're close to.his "ideal" dose. Today's +6 is the lowest we've seen for a while; still hoping for some green & lower ps's.

Oh, & ketones=0.
 
Re: Cassie 1/1

But part of that time was without tests when he stayed with Dad? Not sure that would have changed any of our available info....
 
Re: Cassie 1/1

Yes, there were 2 cycles (of 1u) when dad didn't test. I suspect he ran high; I did get a +7 on the last cycle dad shot. I should be able to update his ss tomorrow; it's up to date to the time he spent w/ Dad.
 
Re: Cassie 1/1

PAtience Danielson....
It took Shakes 10 months for his preshots to come down
and for him to have all good days
their bodies need some time to adjust..
Just take a look at shakes again from April to December this year... :mrgreen:
 
Amps 266, 1u (+12)

Hmm. Same pattern as yesterday-amps essentially same as overnight +6 but high enough to.shoot. Guess he's.doing the late drop thing again.

I'm trying to be patient, but everytime I think.we've figured something out it changes. It's been 5 months now and I'll admit I get kinda jealous when I see.so many go otj in a month. Oh, well..

Now it's snowing...
 
I can so relate to the jealous feelings when I read about cats going OTJ, and can't help but hope that happens for Poopy (even though it doesn't seem likely).

Here's hoping for a great Cassie day! :RAHCAT
 
You need to follow your gut, Lisa. You know Cass better than we do, and you have gained a lot of diabetic knowledge. If you think you should raise, raise. Just monitor.

I think the majority of the cats who go off ProZinc may come here overdosed and often after a hypo. There are some cases that a hypoed cat may go into remission after. And some cats have food induced diabetes. Once the food is changed, the numbers go down rapidly. And some cats take a lot more work.

We tend to be cautious with dosing advice - often overly cautious. But I think we are coming from a place of caution. We would never want to harm a cat with a dose that is too aggressive. The first rule on the forum is "Do no harm". I think I get that way because I post so often to newbies and there have been so many times that I didn't get all the cautions out there fast enough and they give 2 units at 150 or something.......

So just because we are timid with dosing doesn't mean you have to be. You know how to monitor; you know what to do if the numbers get low; you know Cassie. Go with your gut!
 
+7.5 237

It looks like he.had a decent run today; wish I'd caught.a.+6. Hoping for a good pmps...
 
I am Green :mrgreen: with envy of all the OTJ kitties!!
Wish and pray every night that it will happen for Shakes
Funny Sue I have been thinking the same thing about too much insulin tends to
send them into remission sometimes....
Just breathe and we will all get there soon enough!
But it will take some patience and COURAGE to increase when dose is not going anywhere!
 
Pmps 389, 1u (+11.5)

Tried to catch him early-gonna have to be more than 1/2 an hour, I guess. Wonder if he'll be low again in the morning (was last 2 days).

+6 239
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top