cashewsmomma
Member Since 2010
Hi Everyone,
One of the members suggested I post on here for further guidance, I am hoping someone can shed some light on a strange drop (and quick rise) in Cashew's bg levels this weekend.
He was diagnosed on Feb 28/10 and is currently on 3 units of Lantus in AM and 3 units in PM. He recently lost some weight but I feel the past week or so he has gained this back. He behaves the same, isn't as docile as he used to be when he was a baby but I think he is learning to defend/speak up for himself (just something I have noticed over time).
His water intake has gone down as far as I have noticed...his waste although ranges. The day his bg was low he had hardly used the litter box. I have noticed soft stool twice already (once today and once on April 9th)...I am sorry if this is TMI but I think it is related to where I am going here.
4/10 @ 0600 AMPS ~18.2 mmol/L or 331.53 mg/dl - fed him 1 1/3 of canned wet food and gave 3 unit shot
4/10 @ 1800 PMPS ~ 5.7 mmol/L or 102.70 mg/dl - fed him a bit more than the usual 1 1/3 wet food, some kibble and skipped insulin shot entirely
04/10 @ 1900 ~18.1 mmol/L or 326.13 mg/dl
04/10 @ 2100 ~ 18.3 mmol/L or 329. 73 mg/dl
On Sunday, we were scheduled for a curve so here are the results:
04/11@0600 AMPS ~19.4 mmol/L or 349.55, fed him 1 1/3 wet food and gave 3 units shot
04/11@0900 ~ 19.1 mmol/L or 344.14
04/11@1100 ~ 18.9 mmol/L or 340.54
04/11@1300 ~ 17.1mmol/L or 308.11
04/11@1420 ~ 18.9 mmol/L or 340.54
04/11@1620 ~18.6 mmol/L or 335.13
04/11@1800 PMPS ~ 18.2 mmol/L or 327.93, fed him 1 1/3 wet food and gave 3 unit shot
04/11 @2330 ~17.1 mmol/L or 308.11
And, today:
04/12 @0600 AMPS ~16.9 mmol/L or 304.50, fed him 1/1/3 wet food and gave 3 unit shot
04/12@1810 ~17.4 mmol/L or 313.53, fed him 1 1/3 wet food and gave 3 unit shot
04/12 @2200 ~17.0 mmol/L or 306.30
He was put on an all wetfood diet as of April 1st. Every time we increase his dose, it looks like it goes up (low 20's) and stays there for a good number of days (3-5). I can see that he is not happy during this time and had started peeing on our sofa downstairs. I have added a 2nd litter box which remedied this situation (PHEW!)
I know that bg can go up when increased insulin dose but what could be the reason in that drastic drop? We try to keep him off kitchen limits but he managed to find his way into a small packet of jam Friday night (April 9)...
I speak to his vet tomorrow and for some reason and am leaning towards a decrease in dose. I am not experienced in this at all but for some reason I think Cashew is doing a lot better than his blood sugar is showing us...
Sorry for the long winded message! It does feel reassuring I can let all this out to those who will understand what on earth I am speaking about!
aah ok, time to turn laptop off and cuddle with cashew.
NidaXcashew
One of the members suggested I post on here for further guidance, I am hoping someone can shed some light on a strange drop (and quick rise) in Cashew's bg levels this weekend.
He was diagnosed on Feb 28/10 and is currently on 3 units of Lantus in AM and 3 units in PM. He recently lost some weight but I feel the past week or so he has gained this back. He behaves the same, isn't as docile as he used to be when he was a baby but I think he is learning to defend/speak up for himself (just something I have noticed over time).
His water intake has gone down as far as I have noticed...his waste although ranges. The day his bg was low he had hardly used the litter box. I have noticed soft stool twice already (once today and once on April 9th)...I am sorry if this is TMI but I think it is related to where I am going here.
4/10 @ 0600 AMPS ~18.2 mmol/L or 331.53 mg/dl - fed him 1 1/3 of canned wet food and gave 3 unit shot
4/10 @ 1800 PMPS ~ 5.7 mmol/L or 102.70 mg/dl - fed him a bit more than the usual 1 1/3 wet food, some kibble and skipped insulin shot entirely
04/10 @ 1900 ~18.1 mmol/L or 326.13 mg/dl
04/10 @ 2100 ~ 18.3 mmol/L or 329. 73 mg/dl
On Sunday, we were scheduled for a curve so here are the results:
04/11@0600 AMPS ~19.4 mmol/L or 349.55, fed him 1 1/3 wet food and gave 3 units shot
04/11@0900 ~ 19.1 mmol/L or 344.14
04/11@1100 ~ 18.9 mmol/L or 340.54
04/11@1300 ~ 17.1mmol/L or 308.11
04/11@1420 ~ 18.9 mmol/L or 340.54
04/11@1620 ~18.6 mmol/L or 335.13
04/11@1800 PMPS ~ 18.2 mmol/L or 327.93, fed him 1 1/3 wet food and gave 3 unit shot
04/11 @2330 ~17.1 mmol/L or 308.11
And, today:
04/12 @0600 AMPS ~16.9 mmol/L or 304.50, fed him 1/1/3 wet food and gave 3 unit shot
04/12@1810 ~17.4 mmol/L or 313.53, fed him 1 1/3 wet food and gave 3 unit shot
04/12 @2200 ~17.0 mmol/L or 306.30
He was put on an all wetfood diet as of April 1st. Every time we increase his dose, it looks like it goes up (low 20's) and stays there for a good number of days (3-5). I can see that he is not happy during this time and had started peeing on our sofa downstairs. I have added a 2nd litter box which remedied this situation (PHEW!)
I know that bg can go up when increased insulin dose but what could be the reason in that drastic drop? We try to keep him off kitchen limits but he managed to find his way into a small packet of jam Friday night (April 9)...
I speak to his vet tomorrow and for some reason and am leaning towards a decrease in dose. I am not experienced in this at all but for some reason I think Cashew is doing a lot better than his blood sugar is showing us...
Sorry for the long winded message! It does feel reassuring I can let all this out to those who will understand what on earth I am speaking about!
aah ok, time to turn laptop off and cuddle with cashew.
NidaXcashew
