Casey's started peeing on the floor...

Status
Not open for further replies.
Well, the cellulase may not be necessary if you're feeding a low carb diet; the other enzymes appear to be OK. I would encourage you to discuss it with your vet, just to make sure it won't interfere with anything.

I have some of the Mercola and no longer need it. I could probably meet you about halfway between Columbus and where you live.
 
ohiogal said:
Blue said:
Not all acro owners can afford to treat their cats with SRT, but they do watch closely for the internal issues that DO happen with time. Acros have headaches and joint issues and major heart issues in time

I'm already watching Casey for signs of pain or discomfort; I've always done that with both my cats. My question is, if I knew Casey had acro, would I be doing anything differently with her than I'm doing now?

You know, there IS something you may want to have done soon if Casey were to test positive for acromegaly...... check the heart!

Too many acros have heart issues, it's a silent killer, but with the help of meds, it can be better controlled.

You may want to check with Nancy and Pepper..... I think she said the same thing awhile ago "if I knew Pepper had acro, would I be doing anything differently with him than I'm doing now?"
Well, she has now found that Pepper does have some issues, and she is going for SRT later this month.

No matter if you go for SRT or not, it's better to know than not know. There are many other health issues connected to acromegaly, so depending on the state of Casey's organs, you may well need to add a few meds to his daily insulin shots. If Casey tests positive, he is not diabetic, but merely has diabetes as one of the signs of acromegaly...you would then need to move your focus to the condition of his internal organs.

Gayle
 
Hi everybody,

I just got off the phone with the vet, and based on everything we've done on Casey so far she thinks the strongest possibility is Cushing's. I'm taking Casey in on Monday so they can do the tests, and I'll get the results by Tuesday. If the Cushing's tests are negative, then I'll have her tested for acro (unless we can do both at the same time, which the vet is going to look into.)

I'll keep y'all posted, keep the happy kitty thoughts coming.

(PS Gayle I saw your post, and AFAIK Casey's heart is fine - the vet did an ultrasound on it and it looks perfect, no wall thickening or anything. All the other organs checked out too, except for the gall bladder.)
 
I am having my Tiggy tested for acromegaly right now too.. so sending healing thoughts. Let me know he gets on. But I do like his low dose - seems to be working fairly well although I would like to see more greens!

Keep me posted !
 
Wendy&Tiggy said:
I am having my Tiggy tested for acromegaly right now too.. so sending healing thoughts. Let me know he gets on. But I do like his low dose - seems to be working fairly well although I would like to see more greens!

Keep me posted !

I will, Wendy. Paws crossed for Tiggy too!
 
ohiogal said:
Hi everybody,

I just got off the phone with the vet, and based on everything we've done on Casey so far she thinks the strongest possibility is Cushing's. I'm taking Casey in on Monday so they can do the tests, and I'll get the results by Tuesday. If the Cushing's tests are negative, then I'll have her tested for acro (unless we can do both at the same time, which the vet is going to look into.)

I'll keep y'all posted, keep the happy kitty thoughts coming.

(PS Gayle I saw your post, and AFAIK Casey's heart is fine - the vet did an ultrasound on it and it looks perfect, no wall thickening or anything. All the other organs checked out too, except for the gall bladder.)

I am curious why the vet thinks it's Cushings... are you having issues with thin skin and ripping? No enlarged liver? Any balding?
Any chance you can find out info on exactly WHAT tests are being done? Some are a waste, and I don't think there is any firm yes/no result for cushings.
Most people wait until after testing for acro and IAA because there are just too many signs/symptoms that are the same for acro and cushings, but cushings differs with the skin & hair issues that do not affect acros.
Many vets think acromegaly is rare but it's not near as rare as cushings.
Unless Casey has the specific cushings signs, I think your money would be better spend on the other 2 tests.

Cushings Info
Many different signs of Cushing's syndrome can occur, including excessive drinking and urination (polyuria/polydipsia), increased appetite, enlargement of the abdomen, lethargy, muscle wasting, poor coat condition/hair loss, curling of the ear tips and the development of very thin and fragile skin. The skin can be so fragile that it very easily bruises and also can very easily tear.

Cushings
Symptoms and signs include the following...
concurrent diabetes in 81% of cases
polydipsia (excessive thirst) and polyuria (excessive urination)
pendulous abdomen
polyphagia (excessive hunger)
alopecia (hair loss) and poor coat
muscle wasting and weight gain in over 50% of cases
hepatomegaly (enlarged liver)
fragile skin syndrome in almost 50% of cases (skin may tear off easily)
infections
depression
weight loss in almost 20% of cases
easy bruising

In addition to thin skin and bruising, cushings disease can create skin conditions that include:
comedones (blackheads)
baldness on the trunk and abdomen
poor coat condition
abscesses
hyperpigmentation

Additional secondary infections produced by Cushings disease in cats may include facial abscesses, bacterial and fungal cystitis, pyothorax, bronchitis, rhinitis, pancreatitis, and demodicosis.

Cushings further info

Cushings Test Info from Dr.Lisa
You may want to ask your vet to peruse VIN if she/he is a member. I am not faulting your vet for the test that was run because it seems like this has never been very clear-cut but here are some excerpts from the VIN consultants with the date of their comments noted:
5/18/10 VIN consultant #1:
The ACTH stim has much lower sensitivity than the LDDS in cats. 60% of cats with hyperadrenocorticism return normal ACTH stim results.
That is, most cats with Cushings will not be picked up by a stim.
(LDDS = low dose dexamethasone suppression test)
6/25/10 VIN consultant #1:
The ACTH stim test is not recommended; it has very low sensitivity for Cushings in cats. The test of choice is a dexamethasone suppression test using the canine high dose.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Other VIN consultants have recommended a UCCR...Urine Cortisol:Creatinine Ratio and while cushings can't be diagnosed simply by an elevation in the UCCR, it can be a useful tool.
The UCCR is a SENSITIVE test for Cushing's (e.g. very few animals with Cushing's would have a negative UCCR), but it is not a SPECIFIC test (e.g. many other diseases will make the UCCR elevate e.g. uncontrolled diabetes could).
So among the screening tests, we usually pick a LDDS to screen cats (using the 'high' dose for a dog DSP).
Adrenal ultrasound is also used since false positives and false negatives can be seen with the LDDS.
So, as you can see, the Dx of cushings is not straight-forward so you should probably keep going with your 'hunt' for answers....IF you and your vet are still concerned about cushings.


For the tests for acromegaly and IAA, have both the IGF-1 and the IAA tests done.... both are done only at MSU so they will have to be FEDEX'd and you won't have the results for a week or more.

Glad the heart looks OK; usually an echocardiogram is to be done to be sure.

Gayle
 
The vet wants to test for Cushings because a lot of the symptoms match (insulin resistance, increased thirst/urination, weight loss, poor coat, distended belly, lethargy). The Cushings test is inexpensive (about $100). If it comes up negative, then I can test for acro with the thought that there's a higher probability of it coming back positive.

I'll pass along the info from VIN, thanks. I'll let you know how it goes.
 
I took Casey in this morning, and the vet is going to do the LDDS test. I should have the results tomorrow.
 
I got a call from the vet's office, and it looks like Casey does indeed have Cushings.

The vet who's been looking after her is out of the office until Thursday, but when she comes back she's going to give me a call to go over treatment options.

I'll let you know what we get figured out. Thanks for the happy kitty thoughts!
 
I posted in the Facebook group for acro/high dose and hope some of the cushings owners will respond. They will know how the condition progressed for them and their cats, in particular the skin issues. I don't think they post on FDMB, but Linda and Bearman does.

Gayle
 
Thanks, Gayle!

I stopped by the vet's today and picked up some Vetoryl (trilostane) for Casey. Anyone know how to get these capsules into a cat? Can I open them, or do I need to get them down Casey's throat somehow? Like most cats, she is none too fond of pills,and these babies are capsules...
 
My guys never really liked pill pockets but they loved laughing cow soft butter cheese.
Some capsules can be opened and mixed in with food; maybe you can ask about that?
 
Sure, I can probably do that. :-)

ET I took her BG at +6 and it was 75! That's the first green I've ever gotten that wasn't tied in to her not eating or having other problems.
 
Hi Wendy! Thanks for asking about Casey!

Casey's doing pretty good, it turned out pilling her isn't that hard. She lost interest in eating the 9 Lives I've always fed her, so I'm trying Sheba. So far she loves it! Wolfs it right down. Her appetite's coming back, which is great.

What's NOT great is she's still peeing on the carpet - not as much as she was, but it's still happening. And something's giving her diarrhea. I don't know if it's the Vetoryl, or the Sheba, or what, but her trips to the litterbox have been messy and a couple of times she's pooped on the living room carpet. It's not a lot of poop, just like a regular BM but liquid (sorry to be gross). This has been going on for about 3 days and I'm not sure what to do about it. Any suggestions?

Her numbers have been weird - she's been low in the morning, too low to shoot (63 this morning, 49 yesterday morning!) but by the afternoon when I get home and give her some more food, by dinnertime she's up in the low 100s so I've been giving her 3.5u at those points.

PS Debby, Casey says thanks for the head scratches! :-)
 
Maybe the pills or food is helping.. Do you want to try the protocol again? I think she might be able to handle consistent dosing and reductions.
 
Wendy&Tiggy said:
Maybe the pills or food is helping.. Do you want to try the protocol again? I think she might be able to handle consistent dosing and reductions.

I'd love to, but her AM ps is too low to shoot. I'm not going to give her insulin at 63 and 49. This morning she was 27! Either the meter's off or something else is going on, but in any case I don't want to give her even a token dose when she's below 75. I might try giving her a smaller dose in the PM and see what happens.
 
27 is hypo! - I hope you gave syrup or HC to bring her up!!!. Remember Lantus can last more than the 12 hours.This seriously tells me you need to reduce the dose. I think her numbers look great and I would hate for her to have another hypo say when you arent home.

My thoughts with the protocol was more that you need to start reducing the dose when she earns it (goes under 40 once or under 50 three times), plus do consistent dosing. Now I know you arent shooting the full dose when she is low, so you need to find a dose you can shoot consistently to get the best effects out of lantus! I think her numbers are great and she might not need as much insulin now and you might be missing an opportunity to ease her into remission even. ( which is surprising given the Cushings)

So here are my thoughts

1. lets try to take her to 1.75 and hold her for three days
2. Reduce the dose immediately to 1.5 if she drops below 40 at all ( or under 50 three times) and then hold the new dose of 1.5 for three days
3. Skip if you see a preshot under 100 and cant be home to test. Otherwise give the shot and measure a +3 and more if she starts to drop. Be ready with syrup.
4. can you update your sheet?

Wendy
Wendy
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top