? - Cap only at 201 this morning - do I still give 2 units? | Feline Diabetes Message Board - FDMB

? Cap only at 201 this morning - do I still give 2 units?

Charity & Cap

Member since 2025
His numbers have been weird this week and dropping per day / not going up even though yesterday's 4+ test was at 167 which is 30 points higher than a week earlier. He was at 201 this morning half an hour before his shot; I gave him breakfast, and he ate a little but not much. He's been picky this week.

Do I withhold / reduce the dose, or go ahead and do 2 in 10 minutes? Or do I prick his ear again in case the numbers were off first?
 
His numbers have been weird this week and dropping per day / not going up even though yesterday's 4+ test was at 167 which is 30 points higher than a week earlier. He was at 201 this morning half an hour before his shot; I gave him breakfast, and he ate a little but not much. He's been picky this week.

Do I withhold / reduce the dose, or go ahead and do 2 in 10 minutes? Or do I prick his ear again in case the numbers were off first?
Also you fed him — so the new test would be thrown off by that
 
I also don’t see anything odd about his numbers at all. I see that finally he’s having some decent blue numbers. The lower AMPS thos morning is a very good sign.
 
Okay. Thanks for your help! I appreciate it. :)

I'm sorry you've been sick! That's no fun! Always happens to me on the onset of autumn tho. Rapid temp drops where I live.
 
That’s fantastic. He didn’t even want any Dr. Elsey’s? Not even a few pieces? 96 is a very safe number. In fact, with your ReliOn meter, any number 50 and above is quite safe. I would prefer he eat something for a snack…. if you stick something in front of his nose (pure meat baby food? Tuna? Some Pure Bites freeze dried meat? or some boiled chicken?) do you think he might eat a small amount? Definitely get a +5.
 
That’s fantastic. He didn’t even want any Dr. Elsey’s? Not even a few pieces? 96 is a very safe number. In fact, with your ReliOn meter, any number 50 and above is quite safe. I would prefer he eat something for a snack…. if you stick something in front of his nose (pure meat baby food? Tuna? Some Pure Bites freeze dried meat? or some boiled chicken?) do you think he might eat a small amount? Definitely get a +5.
I woke him up to do it, and he just curled back up. But I'll run back to the house (I work a block away, hah) and try to get him to eat a little something in ten minutes. Usually he's hungry at +5 or +6. ❤️
 
It is pretty great! Particularly in the winter!

I finally managed to get him to eat about a tablespoon of low-carb food.

His number at +5 is 78.

ETA: He's also hungry now and eating more.
 
Excellent! What a beautiful cycle. If you can get a +6 we should be able to see that he is happily surfing along in the “healing greens.” I am pleased that he dropped into green but isn’t diving precipitously.
 
That's good, I guess. Haha.

What do I do if he's 200 or less at +12? Give 2 or 1.75? I don't want to be up testing half the night.

Or if he's low again tomorrow? (I have to go on a 6-8 hour work trip in the morning so I won't be home to test.)
 
As for tomorrow, today showed that with a preshot of 200 he does just fine with the 2 unit dose as long as he has regular food. He will need access to food tomorrow regardless of what you shoot. Since you will be away and not able to run home from work to check up on him, I would shoot 1.75 units if he is around 200. If he’s 250 or above, I would shoot 2 for tomorrow.
 
As for tomorrow, today showed that with a preshot of 200 he does just fine with the 2 unit dose as long as he has regular food. He will need access to food tomorrow regardless of what you shoot. Since you will be away and not able to run home from work to check up on him, I would shoot 1.75 units if he is around 200. If he’s 250 or above, I would shoot 2 for tomorrow.
Will do.

I leave out Dr. Elsey's when I'm gone for when he gets hungry. :)
 
How are you and Cap?
Stressful week for me (glad it's almost over) but he's okay. He's being picky and refusing to eat unless he's STARVING, so I had to pick up his dry food last night. And this morning he was under 300 and ate an entire can of cat food so yay for a small victory, lol. I plan to test him at +5 since that's his low point.
 
Stressful week for me (glad it's almost over) but he's okay. He's being picky and refusing to eat unless he's STARVING, so I had to pick up his dry food last night. And this morning he was under 300 and ate an entire can of cat food so yay for a small victory, lol. I plan to test him at +5 since that's his low point.
That was a good idea to take away the dry since he must have nibbled enough so that he wasn’t really very hungry in the morning! Sorry you have had a stressful week.
 
That was a good idea to take away the dry since he must have nibbled enough so that he wasn’t really very hungry in the morning! Sorry you have had a stressful week.
I couldn't get a 10am this morning. His ear is reluctant to give sometimes.

He's at 265 and its 15 minutes until shot time. Should I give him 2 units and stay up to 10 to test?
Or is testing unnecessary tonight?
 
Last edited:
I had a busy week and wasn't home for most of it, which meant I left out the Dr. E's dry food for him to munch on, but Cap has entered his "I don't want anything" eating phase again, which means he's subsisting temporarily off lunch meat since he snubs everything else (except chicken, and not the pate kind). I can't seem to get him to each much at one time -- he'll have a few tablespoons worth and then wander off / not want anymore. Enough to give him his shot, but him not being hungry is weird. He's still peeing a ton, though. I think he's just a habitual water guzzler.

Should I be worried that he's slowly trending upwards? 360+ the last two afternoons!

Do I need to do a curve tomorrow and go up a slight amount again? Or should I let it go a few more days and see if he trends back down?
 
Hi Charity! We really don’t know how low Cap is going on the two unit dose since he hasn’t had any mid-cycle tests since September 16. Cats do change in their insulin requirements and responses so it’s not necessarily the same as it was back in September. I would not increase the dose until getting a curve.
 
I'm wondering if the new deli meat he has at lunchtime is spiking him, since he's up high this morning (he refused to eat anything but that for dinner, followed by some chicken).

Should I do the curve on a day when he start out high (today) or wait a couple of days to see if he goes back into the lower 300s IF the deli meat was spiking him?
 
Will he eat pure meat baby food (beef, chicken, turkey?) when he’s being picky like that? It would be a better option than processed deli meats. Just a thought.
 
I haven't tried the baby food idea! That's a good one! I'll get some and try it.

I got him to eat some fresh salmon this morning. I think I'll wait and do a curve tomorrow, since I'll be home and I want to see if I can get his numbers back down today. We're slow cooking roast beef for our family lunch (unseasoned) so I can give him that. He likes it.

I think his appetite is fine, he's just bored, lol.
 
Does a diabetic cat's ups and downs ever make sense or should I just expect them to be random all the time?

He was low last night, low this morning, then skyrocketed almost 200 points by his evening test.

He ate this morning (baked salmon) but didn't want much / anything at 5 hours in, maybe had another teaspoon of salmon and some Dr E dry food, but nothing until 5pm.

I just cut up some steak for him, and he ate a little. Thankfully, he seems to be interested in chicken pate tonight.

Could NOT eating cause his blood sugar to spike? What happened?

ETA: I had to switch to the Chicken/Duck dry food recipe, but aren't they all under the carb count? He gets about a tablespoon of cream after his shots... but I thought that was okay? Could that be jacking him upward?
 
Last edited:
Back
Top