Can't make rhyme or reason over his BG#'s.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lisa & Jax

Active Member
Yesterday PMPS was 128 so did not give shot. This is running on 1.5U
+6/ 331 BG
+8/ 382 BG Was tempted to give a token .25U at +8 but wasn't certain if that was a wise thing to do on ProZinc. I decided not to shoot.
Today's AMPS was 438
+ 4/ 273
+6 was all over the place..1st read said LO, I retested it immediately and it said 60 BG, once more on the other ear says 70 BG.

A 200 pt drop in 2 hrs seems so extreme. Not sure why he bottoms out the way he does...
 
Can't give advice, I don't do Prozinc but wanted to say Hi and give you a hug. Those numbers look like KT....all over the place.

Another big hug,
 
Let me start by saying I don't have a ton of experience as my cat went otj very quickly but from everything I've read hear it looks like you may want to lower the dose. The objective is to keep them pretty steady not going way up and way down - I would imagine that it probably doesn't feel great to have that huge swing. Don't get me wrong 70 is a great number but if he has to shoot back up to the 400 I don't know if its worth it. Maybe if you lower his am dose he will still come down but will still be in a range to give a pm shot and won't have the huge swings.

I am just throwing this idea out there and it may not be the right thing but thats just my 2cents. As for a dose amount I definetly don't have enough experience to recomment that so I will leave it to more experienced members :smile:

Sharon
 
HI Lisa,
You will need to lower his dose..
you want to keep the insulin at a steady 12/12 cycle (every 12 hours)
If I were you I would lower to .75 and start from there....
The 1.5 is too much and is making him swing high and low
 
Thanks for the responses. I'm sure these wild swings don't feel good at all. I'll go lower and start from there.
 
Hi Lisa,
I just spent some time trying to understand Jax SS
From looking at it it appears that he is going low for one cycle and then staying flat for the other cycle
This used to happen to Shakes until he got used to seeing lower numbers,
then he would go lower for both 12 hour cycles.
In looking at the SS I think I might start with 1 or 1.2 unit and hold for a fewe days and get some numbers
and then proceed from there
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top