We use a particular format for listing out test data. We don't refer to actual times (e.g., 10:00) because everyone is from different time zones from all over the world. This is the format:
AMPS~179 <---- morning (AM) Pre-Shot test
• +4~140 <---- 4 hours after shot
• +8~70 <---- 8 hours after shot
• +11~62 <---- 11 hours after shot
PMPS~176 <---- evening (PM) Pre-Shot
If you could list out some information in this way and indicate the dose you've been giving, that would help. Alternatively, if you could transfer the data from your calendar to a
spreadsheet like the one we all use, that would be even better. Good for you to not rely on curves at the vet's office. Usually, the data collected at the vet's office is artificially higher due to the amount of stress a cat experiences when there.
You're correct -- the constant shifting around of the dose is likely to be contributing to less than ideal numbers. Unfortunately, many vets tend to treat Lantus like the shorter acting types of insulin and base the dose on pre-shot numbers. Lantus dosing is based on the lowest number in the cycle, the nadir, and doses are generally held for three days (unless a dose reduction is earned). Unless we can see your actual test data, it's going to be difficult to provide you with any ideas regarding dose. Probably the best we could suggest is that you lower the dose and keep the dose the same at AM and PM.
Are you feeding DM canned or dry? DM canned is not terrible with regard to carbs. It's about 7%. Most of us feed canned food that's around 3 to 5% carb. DM is, however, a very poor quality food made up of mostly animal by-products and is expensive. You could be buying a premium, human grade cat food (e.g. Wellness) that is lower in carbs for less than what you are paying for the prescription stuff.