? Can't adjust the dose

Status
Not open for further replies.

Felix and Irina

Member Since 2017
Felix had another drop in bg today after 0.5 u in the morning. His results are all over the place. I am so afraid to shoot now, but his PMPS is 251.
 
According to SLGS, Felix earned a reduction today to 0.25 units. Why does your post say "can't adjust the dose"?
It feels like I can't find the right dose for him. I reduced his dose to 0.5 and it dropped again. The reduction to 0.25 is only for tonight or I should decrease his dose to 0.25 twice a day for now?
 
I would stick with 0.25 for at least a week, unless he goes below 90'again. A cat's insulin needs can change over time. His pancreas may be healing a bit and doing more of the work, which means less insulin needed. That is a good thing.
 
How wonderful he is earning these teductions. You would hold the new dose unless he goes below 90 again .

If after 14 cycles he starts trending upwards again you would go back up.
 
Do I hold the dose even if a PS number is not very high?
Yes, as per SLGL method you hold the dose for a week, do the curve and re-evaluate then. Lantus dosage is based upon nadir, the lowest, not on pre-shots. Bounces are very annoying but patience with the dose is key. My cat is one of the major bouncers. He'll go down, eventually. Congrats on reduction!:)
 
Yes, as per SLGL method you hold the dose for a week, do the curve and re-evaluate then. Lantus dosage is based upon nadir, the lowest, not on pre-shots. Bounces are very annoying but patience with the dose is key. My cat is one of the major bouncers. He'll go down, eventually. Congrats on reduction!:)
Thank you very much Tanya :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top