CANINSULIN NEXT DOSE ADVICE

Status
Not open for further replies.

Toeknee

Member Since 2023
Hi, just checked AMPS and have hit first PS yellow, Got first ketone test yesterday and it was negative. Have had a few low peaks lately and numbers are getting lower fast at peak in general but have been holding dose @3.25 IU for a few cycles and curve is flattening. My question is do I dare give 3.25IU with a morning PS of 14.7 or is a reduced dose called for and what would that figure be ? Dose coming up soon.
 
Try and always get a test in during the pm cycles.
I’m tagging @Suzanne & Darcy and @FrostD as they have used that insulin
I agree, I did get a few the past few nights.scheduled for 1am tonight because I delayed an extra hour and am trying walk it back to about 8 - 9pm so I can be around for a few hours into the cycle. Been knocked off track a few times. Thanks for tagging btw.
 
So it looks like you had a preshot of 454 and shot 3.25 this morning, correct? And you caught a yellow number mid cycle.
Sort of. I initially tested one hour before shot schedule which was a 265 and had never saw a yellow at +11 so I posted and waited 2 hours then tested/shot at +13 (3.25IU) as it was 454 which is generally low normal for AMPS. Then 4 hours in he was back into the yellow even at midcycle, 6.5hours. This is great by the way but I realized I don't know what dose would be needed if that reading didn't change for the next 4 hours or more.
 
Last edited:
I would try to pick a dose and stick with it. Right now it seems that 3.25U would be good for preshots above 300 - but as always, you want to make sure that number is rising, and only shoot full dose if you can monitor and have hypo kit as well as plenty of strips.

If you're sticking with the 3.5U, that's a little trickier. It appears to be ok above 350-375 ish, but same deal as above, only if can monitor, etc.

Below those ranges it's best to post and ask for help. You have the option of a reduced dose, usually about 50% of normal dose. Or a token dose, which is usually 10-25% of normal dose. He reacts quite strongly to caninsulin, so I'd err on the smaller side. With a 267 preshot, I'd consider 0.25-0.5U to start (if you can monitor, etc.). That is probably not enough but I'd rather be safe than send him in hypo, just start somewhere to gather the data
 
I would try to pick a dose and stick with it. Right now it seems that 3.25U would be good for preshots above 300 - but as always, you want to make sure that number is rising, and only shoot full dose if you can monitor and have hypo kit as well as plenty of strips.

If you're sticking with the 3.5U, that's a little trickier. It appears to be ok above 350-375 ish, but same deal as above, only if can monitor, etc.

Below those ranges it's best to post and ask for help. You have the option of a reduced dose, usually about 50% of normal dose. Or a token dose, which is usually 10-25% of normal dose. He reacts quite strongly to caninsulin, so I'd err on the smaller side. With a 267 preshot, I'd consider 0.25-0.5U to start (if you can monitor, etc.). That is probably not enough but I'd rather be safe than send him in hypo, just start somewhere to gather the data

I have been having good results with 3.25U and it seems to have a longer and smoother curve. I think this is because he is getting used to this dose so he has stopped bouncing and the numbers just go up as dose wears off.
Next week I am thinking about upping dose back to 3.5U to try to drop the peaks down into the blues and hopefully get PS values into the pinks. But I may stay at 3.25U for another week because he is much better now evn in this range and I have found through trial and error that trying to rush it along doesn't get you anywhere. Thanks for the advice.
 
I have been having good results with 3.25U and it seems to have a longer and smoother curve. I think this is because he is getting used to this dose so he has stopped bouncing and the numbers just go up as dose wears off.
Next week I am thinking about upping dose back to 3.5U to try to drop the peaks down into the blues and hopefully get PS values into the pinks. But I may stay at 3.25U for another week because he is much better now evn in this range and I have found through trial and error that trying to rush it along doesn't get you anywhere. Thanks for the advice.
I agree ;) I like the 3.25U better, for now.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top