Elizabeth and Bertie
Member Since 2010
Hi folks, a question from Maya's Mum @LauraGirling in PM this evening. Any other dosing advice? Please chime in.
Note: Laura's previous thread is here:
I want to change my cat's diet
Laura is in UK. Maya is on Caninsulin (I think!). Has had high numbers (higher 20's/400's) and also a drop to 1.7 (30.6). Laura is transitioning Maya to low carb wet food.
"It's time for Maya's insulin, checked her BG and its 14.7! That's the lowest it's been in ages (apart from the 1.7 episode at the weekend) it's only day 2 of moving over to wet food (still on a bit of dry)
I haven't given her insulin I thought I would leave it an hour or so and check it again as she is currently on 2 units and that may be too much now.
What would your advice be?
Thanks"
Eliz reply:
"Hi Laura,
It may be that Maya is dropping out of a 'bounce', in which case there may be some merit in waiting a while (if possible) and testing again just to make sure that she's not going to drop even further. It's usually advisable to give insulin only on a number that is definitely rising.
If Maya was on 2 units when she previously dropped to that very low number of 1.7, then I would strongly suggest reducing the dose.
On FDMB we generally suggest that all advice is 'peer reviewed', ie open, transparent and subject to other people's input. That's in order to keep you safe (just in case I'm giving you bad advice).
Is it OK if I post your question on the main FDMB forum?
Eliz
PS. 14.7 is a good sign!
"
Thanks so much, folks,
Eliz
Edited to add:
Laura @LauraGirling , my 'best guess' at this point would be to reduce the dose by maybe half, ie to one unit, and see how that settles out. But if there is any history of ketones/ketosis then that may need to be reconsidered.
Note: Laura's previous thread is here:
I want to change my cat's diet
Laura is in UK. Maya is on Caninsulin (I think!). Has had high numbers (higher 20's/400's) and also a drop to 1.7 (30.6). Laura is transitioning Maya to low carb wet food.
"It's time for Maya's insulin, checked her BG and its 14.7! That's the lowest it's been in ages (apart from the 1.7 episode at the weekend) it's only day 2 of moving over to wet food (still on a bit of dry)
I haven't given her insulin I thought I would leave it an hour or so and check it again as she is currently on 2 units and that may be too much now.
What would your advice be?
Thanks"
Eliz reply:
"Hi Laura,
It may be that Maya is dropping out of a 'bounce', in which case there may be some merit in waiting a while (if possible) and testing again just to make sure that she's not going to drop even further. It's usually advisable to give insulin only on a number that is definitely rising.
If Maya was on 2 units when she previously dropped to that very low number of 1.7, then I would strongly suggest reducing the dose.
On FDMB we generally suggest that all advice is 'peer reviewed', ie open, transparent and subject to other people's input. That's in order to keep you safe (just in case I'm giving you bad advice).
Is it OK if I post your question on the main FDMB forum?
Eliz
PS. 14.7 is a good sign!
Thanks so much, folks,
Eliz
Edited to add:
Laura @LauraGirling , my 'best guess' at this point would be to reduce the dose by maybe half, ie to one unit, and see how that settles out. But if there is any history of ketones/ketosis then that may need to be reconsidered.
Last edited: