Anthony Morgan
Member Since 2017
I think this is the video Tuxedo Mom was looking for:
Thank you very much Yong!
I think this is the video Tuxedo Mom was looking for:
Sorry... just read this again... has some useful info about how to get something similar to Zobaline in the UK and add folic acid to give the same effect... sorry I can't link that thread here but do try and find it!
Yes that's it Anthony. And maybe ring the vet and ask opinion re neuropathy v arthritis... could be both/either, we don't know but vet may have better idea as he has examined Shelley.I think I found it Diana, Dr's Best, so I will look into that. Thanks again!
Thank you, yes certainly will do, may well have some arthritis as she has had some stiffness in the past. But has perked up a bit at +1. She always seems hungry at this time and more active. All the help is very much appreciated!Yes that's it Anthony. And maybe ring the vet and ask opinion re neuropathy v arthritis... could be both/either, we don't know but vet may have better idea as he has examined Shelley.
4.9 is a perfect number for nadir....that's what you want to see.I have tried to keep Shelley's dose at 1.0u as much as possible and she has been better. Her walking has returned to normal so I haven't needed to consider the use of supplements at the moment.
Shelley's blood glucose has been a bit unpredictable in the last day though. Last night at pre-shot time it was only 12.8, so I waited 1.5 hours and after some food it had increased to 23.0.
Then this delay throws out the routine. I had to inject half an hour early this morning due to a dental appointment and at +5 I got a reading of 4.9 which I think is a little to low to be happy with.
So I will have to see what tonight's number is and decide what to do then.
Thanks for reading!
Thank you Janet!4.9 is a perfect number for nadir....that's what you want to see.
Anthony
That 4.9 ( 88 US) is actually a nice normal number. It was at +5 which should be near Shelley's nadir ( lowest number) You would not have wanted it to go any lower than that especially if you weren't able to monitor. If you had got that reading earlier in the cycle you would definitely have wanted to intervene with honey/syrup and HC food.I see the +6 went up to 9,3 (167 US). Did you give honey/syrup or high carb at the lower number? This is good information to list in the comments, since it is useful to know for future reference if the number is too low. If you did not give anything then Shelley will be bouncing into higher numbers.
Also with Caninsulin it is not as critical to keep to a strict 12 hour shooting schedule, since in most kitties Caninsulin does not last the full 12 hours and since it is NOT a depot insulin it is safe to shoot early/late as long as you know the numbers are rising.
With the big drop in this morning's cycle it is very possible Shelley's numbers will bounce up higher this evening. If you are unsure of what dose to shoot you can post for advice after testing. If you get a low preshot number, do not feed any food and retest again in 20-30 minutes to see if the numbers are rising.
Awe man.. Next time just let her surf in the greens.... Unless she has a ways to go to nadir, it was perfect. Or if she wants a little snack, just give regular low carb food. Those nice dark green numbers is when her pancreas is healing.Hello Mary Ann,
Yes, I gave Shelley some Sheba in gravy when I saw the 4.9. I will follow your advice for tonight. I did think half an hour early should be OK but it just made me wonder when I saw the low number. It's the lowest number I have had for a while, for no obvious reason?
Thanks for your advice!
Hello Mary Ann,
Yes, I gave Shelley some Sheba in gravy when I saw the 4.9. I will follow your advice for tonight. I did think half an hour early should be OK but it just made me wonder when I saw the low number. It's the lowest number I have had for a while, for no obvious reason?
Thanks for your advice!

You should try a bit of regular food first if you are uncomfortable with the lower ( but not dangerous) number.If you had tested that 4.9 at +2 or +3 hours after the shot, then by all means a quick intervention of honey/syrup and HC food would have been in order. Now you know that Shelley is fairly carb sensitive and you have seen how much a higher carb food can bring the numbers up, so that is useful information. I am not sure of the carb content on Sheba in gravy is, but it certainly brings the readings up.
There can sometimes be lower numbers with no real reason...perhaps the insulin is absorbed better on that shot ( absorption rates can vary with any insulin on any day), perhaps Shelley's pancreas decided to "sputter" in for a bit, perhaps Shelley's body is accepting low numbers better...any number of things can influence the numbers. This is why this forum is so strong on home testing for all kitties...which you are doing a great job of
Ideally with caninsulin you would like to see Shelley spending more time in the blues and higher greens, with using a pet meter. Of course if these numbers happen too early in the cycle, you want to be vigilant about testing. As I said if you get a low preshot number, wait without feeding and retest in 20-30 minutes to see where the numbers are going, and post for some input from other members.![]()
Awe man.. Next time just let her surf in the greens.... Unless she has a ways to go to nadir, it was perfect. Or if she wants a little snack, just give regular low carb food. Those nice dark green numbers is when her pancreas is healing.![]()
You're doing a great job Anthony. We can't monitor our pets 24/7 ... we have to sleep, work, shop, keep appointments etc etc! I know it's a worry when you do have to be "off duty" for a few hours but you sort of work round that by checking the situation just before you leave the house, or go to bed, so you can be as reassured as possible. You're right - it's "just keep trying to make the right decisions", take each day and each reading as they come.
It will be interesting to see what your vet says about Shelley's BG readings at your next appointment... her fructo test will probably show an improved result, but her daily numbers and especially those pre-shot numbers could be lower. Some people might be more aggressive with their dosing but you have to do what's right for you.
Keep going and keep smiling!
Hmm that's odd...you did the right thing asking the vet. Keep us posted.Since I started the new bottle of insulin, Shelley's blood glucose has been getting higher and not responding like it was with the old bottle.
I contacted the vet and have just been to get another bottle in case there is some problem with the new bottle.
So I will start using the second new bottle tonight and see if it makes any diifference.


There are two possibilities that I can see here. Either the lower number on April 13 (4.9) is still causing a bounce OR the new insulin has been compromised at some point in the system. MY own thought is that Shelley is still bouncing form the lower ( but still safe ) number on April 13. Although it is not a hypo alert number it is still lower than what her body is "used" to and the counter-regulatory process then releases stored glucose into the system can last up to 3 days ( one of my kitties takes 4 days!!) before the bounce settles down. I would hold the 1 unit for another cycle or two... up to 1 day and see where the numbers go before deciding to make any dosing changes. It is always very frustrating and disturbing when you start to see numbers rising, but sometimes giving just a little longer will be a good indication of whether this is a bounce or if it is possible the new insulin is not working right.![]()


The ups and downs can be very draining on the body. Trying to get a smoother range of numbers will be easier on Shelleys body. Unfortunately the bounces can happen and there is not a lot we can do to stop them. Until Shelley "learns" to accept the lower numbers as normal her body will continue with the counter-regulatory process which gives higher numbers for a day or so when she hits lower than usual numbers. There is always a possibility that a new insulin has been mishandled in the process, but although it can happen. it is not the usual problem. Since insulin is a hormone it is not always a direct linear process and numbers can go up and down for no apparent reason. The main thing is to look at trends over a 2 or 3 day period and then question whether there are other factors at work. I have 2 FD kitties...one is 2 1/4 years on insulin and will never be well controlled because of other health issues. The other kitty is just over 1 year since diagnosed as FD and overall is doing fairly well, but her numbers can jump all over the place sometimes for no understandable reasons. You are doing a great job with Shelley and you are monitoring her numbers very well. Right now that is the best that you can do for Shelley. In the future if there is no good progress you may look at a different insulin, but right now you are doing a great job![]()


















Great posts here from Mary Ann! It does seem probable that Shelley is prone to bouncing, as many cats are. It's not surprising when you consider how giving insulin works, not to mention the possibility of a host of variables that can contribute to BG numbers... food, infection, pain, stress, even the weather.
I am a little concerned that Shelley was "purring but not in contentment"... purring can certainly indicate that a kitty is troubled so it's worth keeping a note of when she does this in case you can trace it to something that is causing her to feel uncomfortable.
Hope things settle more now with the new vial but if not have a word with the vet.
Thank you Mary Ann. It was a borderline decision last night but I thought she should be OK as she is often in that range at some time in the cycle anyway. Hopefully 0.5u won't push her BG too low.
I can understand not using a sliding scale for lantus, but it is necessary with canisilun. You can't expect to give the same dose at 350 that you do at 220. It wouldn't make sense.Thank you Janet, I will bear that in mind. My vet advised against using a sliding scale but I can't see any alternative when the numbers are falling.
Kind regards!
I can understand not using a sliding scale for lantus, but it is necessary with canisilun. You can't expect to give the same dose at 350 that you do at 220. It wouldn't make sense.
Unfortunately, Anthony, with FD you may not ever really know where the numbers are going... they can be affected by all sorts of things, in isolation or in combination. Food is one of the biggest factors that can change BGs, as can stress, infection/illness... so whilst it's great to see Shelley in lower than usual numbers, it's not necessarily permanent! She may still have big fluctuations, just to keep you on your toes... but if she stays in a nicer/healthier range, that would be brilliant and take the edge of the worry for you. Do carry on posting here as frequently as you like... we may not have a magic wand to make things easier but you know we are all rooting for you and Shelley.Thank you Diana, it is like starting again when you are in a new range when the dose needs to be adjusted, because you don't know where the numbers are going. Better for Shelley but worrying for me!
I would think 0.5u is safe, Anthony, yes. It should still drop her but hopefully not too dramatically. Mid cycle numbers in single figures are nothing to worry about - quite the contrary - as long as they aren't too low of course. So try the half-unit and keep an eye on her for the first part of the cycle... a mini curve might be a good idea at this point!Thank you that is very good of you!
A hour ago before food her BG was 14.1. After eating it is now 13.7. I know how the numbers can vary but do you think 0.5u would be safe?
Mid cycle last night I was getting +3 7.8 and +4 9.3.
Thank you.
Anthony, what exactly are you feeding Shelley at the moment?
And how often are you feeding her?
Does she also have treats, and if so, which kind.
.