Caninsulin dosage advice needed please

Status
Not open for further replies.
Thank you Diana!
I'm on the edge of my seat and eagerly awaiting to find out which way is Josie going to swing us this week..!
 
There is no doubt that the weather could be playing a role in Josie's recent numbers but I'm wondering if some of those high numbers you saw in the last week are a result of bouncing too because on 23Jun evening cycle, Josie dropped 180 points within 2 hours of her shot....that's almost 50% within 2 hours. We don't know if she went even lower that cycle but that significant drop that early in the cycle could have been enough to set off a bounce.

I think I'd be inclined to see how today's cycle goes and continue 0.25u for tonight's shot. If the numbers aren't improving, I'd raise Josie to 0.5u tomorrow morning. I personally prefer to do dose increases on day cycles so I am able to monitor as needed.

Some cats do great on a sliding scale but as Diana says, it can muddy the waters somewhat. Ideally kitty is stable enough that a particular dose is giving you similar results consistently so you can determine what that sliding scale should look like.
 
Nice gentle curve today, Monica - bet you're pleased to see that yellow pre-shot number! Stick to the dose tonight if you haven't already - will be interesting to see her number tomorrow morning.
 
There is no doubt that the weather could be playing a role in Josie's recent numbers but I'm wondering if some of those high numbers you saw in the last week are a result of bouncing too because on 23Jun evening cycle, Josie dropped 180 points within 2 hours of her shot....that's almost 50% within 2 hours. We don't know if she went even lower that cycle but that significant drop that early in the cycle could have been enough to set off a bounce.

I think I'd be inclined to see how today's cycle goes and continue 0.25u for tonight's shot. If the numbers aren't improving, I'd raise Josie to 0.5u tomorrow morning. I personally prefer to do dose increases on day cycles so I am able to monitor as needed.

Some cats do great on a sliding scale but as Diana says, it can muddy the waters somewhat. Ideally kitty is stable enough that a particular dose is giving you similar results consistently so you can determine what that sliding scale should look like.

Just so you know Linda I can always hear your voice in the back of my head when deciding on dose saying 'try to hold that .25u just a little bit longer if you can...' :)

You also gave me a good idea of what to take on next, I'm going to compare spreadsheets and trying to work out patterns to have a better understanding of the cycles and how is it all going to work towards achieving possible remission?

Im still not clear on what is it that we are going to aim for? Keep a cat within more less normal range and wait how they respond naturally and they will gradually go lower and lower eventually or we are increasing dosage slowly to push them into even closer to lower numbers to 'make ' them recover...

Thank you anyway for your insights and theories, Im constantly learning so much from all of you!
 
OH Dear! I hope I'm not too loud or annoying! :woot:

Insulin is a hormone....not a medication. While 2 aspirins might relieve a headache better than 1 aspirin, the same does not hold true with insulin. Sometimes less is more especially when starting out with an insulin like Caninsulin because of the faster and steeper BG drops and the potential bouncing this can cause.

We all have that ultimate goal of remission but there is no guarantee that if you do x,y & z you are going to win that jackpot. So your goal is to keep Josie in the most optimal BG range for as long per day as possible. Doing this gives the pancreas a chance to rejuvenate and in some cases, the pancreas heals enough to take over doing it's job completely and the dream of remission is realized.

Keeping kitty in the best numbers possible sometimes means patience rather than rushing will be more effective. Too much insulin can look just like too little number wise so while you don't want Josie sitting in high numbers and seeing no improvement for too long, you also don't want to rush the process & try to avoid bouncing as much as possible. This is a marathon, not a sprint so a slow steady methodical approach helps get kitty regulated faster. For safety sake I'd aim to get Josie into the 5 mmol to 8mmol range at nadir and keep her in the blues for as long per day as possible. That would be great regulation and who knows, maybe lead to remission! :)
 
Ok I see what you mean and it sounds sensible.
My question then would be HOW to keep kitty in safe blue numbers longer?
Is that something that she is going to achieve by herself eventually or do I need to take it to the next level, such as tight regulation or dosage change?

If we continue with .25u here and suppose things were going well, will those preshot numbers get lower by themselves eventually as Josie's pancreas starts kicking in producing more insulin or do we have to assist it by altering the dosage to get her to stay longer in the blues..?
I hope this makes sense.. sorry!
 
You make perfect sense! This sugar dance is anything but intuitive. Sometimes it's downright confounding!

First step is to find a dose that keeps pre-shots at a reasonable level, gets nadirs to more optimal numbers but is also not causing excessive bouncing anymore. That gives the body a chance to re-acquaint itself with somewhat lower numbers. Once the bouncing stops, you can raise the dose by 0.25u and again allow a few days to see how that dose is working. This is a "wash, repeat" process until you find that sweet dose that gives kitty the best cycles possible. Josie doesn't seem to be bouncing much if at all now and her cycles are a lot flatter so it's time to raise her dose to 0.5u and see how she does with that.

Josie has become used to high numbers so her defence system that keeps her BG from going too low, revs into action prematurely. So when she got down to those blue and green numbers, her body panicked and pushed out hormones to raise her BG. Unfortunately it often pushes the BG up way beyond where it needs to be and that effect, although waning can last up to 6 cycles. If you raise the dose while she is bouncing, you set off more bouncing and poor kitty ends up on a roller coaster of highs and lows. Bringing the BG down gradually allows the body more time to get used to being in lower BG ranges so more optimal numbers can be maintained for longer periods.

When you start getting the cycles you want, then it's a matter of fine tuning and making sure she doesn't go too low and that is where, IMHO, sliding scale dosing can be a good option.

I hope that helps but if not, ask away! :D
 
Yes brilliant summation of the whole thing from Linda, this should really help to clarify things for you, Monica.

All newbies here learn certain "catchphrases" here very quickly - FD is a marathon not a sprint; start low, go slow; ECID (every cat is different) to name but a few! Treating FD is a labour of love, that's for sure, and not an easy thing by any means to get one's head round. It can feel like learning a new subject back st school! What makes it all worthwhile is the confidence you gain in treating your kitty... we feel so helpless at the start but bit by bit when it starts to come together we feel more empowered and that enables us to keep on learning and helping our kitty. And in doing so we form even tighter bonds with these dear little creatures whose health and wellbeing means so much to us...and in due course we can put our knowledge and experience to wider use by helping other people on this board. It really is the most amazing place.

There is a certain point at which you feel you have turned a corner in your understanding and I think you're now turning that corner. As I've said, you have a great positive attitude and that is your great advantage.

Sorry for the ramble, it just came out! Hope today is another good day! :-)
 
Yes brilliant summation of the whole thing from Linda, this should really help to clarify things for you, Monica.

All newbies here learn certain "catchphrases" here very quickly - FD is a marathon not a sprint; start low, go slow; ECID (every cat is different) to name but a few! Treating FD is a labour of love, that's for sure, and not an easy thing by any means to get one's head round. It can feel like learning a new subject back st school! What makes it all worthwhile is the confidence you gain in treating your kitty... we feel so helpless at the start but bit by bit when it starts to come together we feel more empowered and that enables us to keep on learning and helping our kitty. And in doing so we form even tighter bonds with these dear little creatures whose health and wellbeing means so much to us...and in due course we can put our knowledge and experience to wider use by helping other people on this board. It really is the most amazing place.

There is a certain point at which you feel you have turned a corner in your understanding and I think you're now turning that corner. As I've said, you have a great positive attitude and that is your great advantage.

Sorry for the ramble, it just came out! Hope today is another good day! :)
Aaahhh... thanks very much Diana, all those sleepless nights of internet browsing, FDMB conversations and wanting to learn endless finally paying off. I am a lot calmer and do feel more confident about things. I even started advising overwhelmed newbies who just started going through this whole madness. I can help them from my own experience how to 'breathe, calm down and prioritise':)

I think now I'm beginning to understand why you guys are helping us so much.

And yes thank you, numbers are looking very promising today as well....:D
 
Now that the bouncing has settled it may be time to up it to .5 to try to get that nadir down a bit... we can't be satisfied with her staying in the 200's all the time. what do you guys think.
 
Yes I was also wondering what will be the next step.

Was going to give it a couple more days at least though on 0,25u to see which way is Josie going to go?
Plus we have a problem that can complicate things.. Now she started scratching and getting jumpy shaking her legs so looks like she has fleas. Whenever we treat her for flea almost around that time she seem to be getting these 'off food sick days' but we can't say it for sure that that's what causes it.

Have to pop in to vet for another vial of flea treatment today and no choice but to treat her as fleas are taking over our house as well.
Could we wait with any changes until we see how she is going to respond to the flea treatment?
 
Yes I was also wondering what will be the next step.

Was going to give it a couple more days at least though on 0,25u to see which way is Josie going to go?
Plus we have a problem that can complicate things.. Now she started scratching and getting jumpy shaking her legs so looks like she has fleas. Whenever we treat her for flea almost around that time she seem to be getting these 'off food sick days' but we can't say it for sure that that's what causes it.

Have to pop in to vet for another vial of flea treatment today and no choice but to treat her as fleas are taking over our house as well.
Could we wait with any changes until we see how she is going to respond to the flea treatment?

Yes I'd stay with 0.25u for another couple of days to get a better picture and then look at increasing to hopefully get pre shot numbers down. Fleas might raise BGs too - stress - so see what the treatment does...
Marathon not a sprint!!!
 
Hello everyone!
Numbers were not going down past few days but creeping up with an AMPS of 21 / 385 this morning so on everyone's advice we increased dosage to 0.5u. Let's see what happens..

I do have another question though. Josie gets bored with just one food so now we have two different makes that we alternate, Sheba Flakes and Butcher's Classic.
The Sheba Flakes carb content is 2.5% , Butcher's Classic Really Meaty 3.5% and Butcher's Classic Original 8.8%. ( very high meat content in all Butcher's Classics and no added nasties)

Does it make a big difference in the BG readings and in general whether I feed the 2.5% or the 8.8% carb food or as long as they're both under 10% it doesn't make much difference?

What carb content do you usually go for?
Many thanks everyone!

Ps. Finally managed to get our vet to access Josie's spreadsheet, her words were ' wow it's brilliant, it's amazing and I'm very impressed!' She's also totally on board with everything I'm doing so that makes life a lot easier!:)
 
Hello everyone!
Numbers were not going down past few days but creeping up with an AMPS of 21 / 385 this morning so on everyone's advice we increased dosage to 0.5u. Let's see what happens..

I do have another question though. Josie gets bored with just one food so now we have two different makes that we alternate, Sheba Flakes and Butcher's Classic.
The Sheba Flakes carb content is 2.5% , Butcher's Classic Really Meaty 3.5% and Butcher's Classic Original 8.8%. ( very high meat content in all Butcher's Classics and no added nasties)

Does it make a big difference in the BG readings and in general whether I feed the 2.5% or the 8.8% carb food or as long as they're both under 10% it doesn't make much difference?

What carb content do you usually go for?
Many thanks everyone!

Ps. Finally managed to get our vet to access Josie's spreadsheet, her words were ' wow it's brilliant, it's amazing and I'm very impressed!' She's also totally on board with everything I'm doing so that makes life a lot easier!:)
Anything under 10 is ok. Give it a try.
 
Glad to hear your vet approves, Monica, so she should!!
Yes 0.5u seems to be indicated now so good move to up the dose. Will be interesting to see the response.
Janet has answered your question about carb content - - good rule of thumb.

Good luck!
Diana
 
Hurray about your vet!! Re carbs: some kitties are more sensitive than others and Josie's BGs will tell the story. It's also true that you can drive yourself nuts worrying about slight differences in carb content even if the various foods are under 10%. Unless you have SS evidence that your kitty is one of the very few extremely sensitive kitties, you can mix up the food offerings to keep Josie interested.
 
Wow thanks very much everyone, it feels really nice that actually ALL of you got back to me with your little comments! I can really feel the love:)
It's probably just what I needed today as I must admit I got very disappointed, disheartened and frustrated seeing the unusually high AMPS number this morning and that her BG hardly gone lower throughout the day which makes no sense...?
I feel like it's all getting to me at the moment. I'm having a selfish day today when feel sorry for myself that I haven't had an early night or a lie in in the morning for months, just the constant worry and hovering over Josie like a helicopter all the time and unable to relax. And just when I thought we were getting somewhere we are back to square one..
It's probably time for me to take another chill pill!:banghead:
How have you guys been able to cope with this for so long? What's your secret for keeping sane?? Hats off to all of you btw!
I hope I'm not the only one who has ups and downs..
 
Awwwww (((Monica))))... you're due an off day, everyone feels like this from time to time and you've been doing sooooo well. Treating/managing FD is a labour of love and it does seem as if there is no time off from it... it's one of those things that does require a lot of monitoring in the early stages especially. Give yourself a big pat on the back and some kind of treat - your favourite takeaway for dinner, or a bowl of ice-cream (not sure why all our suggested treats are foodie ones but they do help!!)

Josie's system is still unsure what's going on as far as her insulin dosing is concerned so maybe give it a couple more days on the 0.5u before you start fretting too much. All the dosing is still trial and error until we start to see a consistent pattern and a dose that gives the sort of curve we're looking for. More experienced Caninsulin users might be able to add some substance to this comment!

Remember, if Caninsulin doesn't seem to be achieving the desired effect, you can try another insulin that works in a different way, basically a longer-lasting insulin that would hopefully keep Josie in better numbers for more hours of the day. I think that's a little way into the future but you can discuss it with your vet if you really feel you're not getting where you want to be... you do have to look after your own physical and mental health as well!

I'm sure you'll bounce back, Monica... and know that how you're feeling is far from unusual. You just have to plod on a bit longer and meanwhile put some nice events, treats, whatever into your routine to get you back smiling again!
 
Awwwww (((Monica))))... you're due an off day, everyone feels like this from time to time and you've been doing sooooo well. Treating/managing FD is a labour of love and it does seem as if there is no time off from it... it's one of those things that does require a lot of monitoring in the early stages especially. Give yourself a big pat on the back and some kind of treat - your favourite takeaway for dinner, or a bowl of ice-cream (not sure why all our suggested treats are foodie ones but they do help!!)

Josie's system is still unsure what's going on as far as her insulin dosing is concerned so maybe give it a couple more days on the 0.5u before you start fretting too much. All the dosing is still trial and error until we start to see a consistent pattern and a dose that gives the sort of curve we're looking for. More experienced Caninsulin users might be able to add some substance to this comment!

Remember, if Caninsulin doesn't seem to be achieving the desired effect, you can try another insulin that works in a different way, basically a longer-lasting insulin that would hopefully keep Josie in better numbers for more hours of the day. I think that's a little way into the future but you can discuss it with your vet if you really feel you're not getting where you want to be... you do have to look after your own physical and mental health as well!

I'm sure you'll bounce back, Monica... and know that how you're feeling is far from unusual. You just have to plod on a bit longer and meanwhile put some nice events, treats, whatever into your routine to get you back smiling again!
Thank you Diana!
 
I can tell you from my own experience with a very tricky kitty that what keeps me sane is relinquishing any notion that I'm in control of Teasel's FD. He responds the way he responds and I just follow by testing and giving my best (educated) guess about what dose he needs. And when I'm wrong, I do what I can to fix it. I'm in it for the long haul, have no expectation that I will get to a specific goal and just keep putting one foot in front of the other. I don't intend for this to sound defeatist because it's NOT where I'm coming from. FD - and a lot of other challenges in life - have taught me that wishing for something won't make it happen. You have to confront what's in front of you and do the best you can. Sermon over ... ;)
 
I can tell you from my own experience with a very tricky kitty that what keeps me sane is relinquishing any notion that I'm in control of Teasel's FD. He responds the way he responds and I just follow by testing and giving my best (educated) guess about what dose he needs. And when I'm wrong, I do what I can to fix it. I'm in it for the long haul, have no expectation that I will get to a specific goal and just keep putting one foot in front of the other. I don't intend for this to sound defeatist because it's NOT where I'm coming from. FD - and a lot of other challenges in life - have taught me that wishing for something won't make it happen. You have to confront what's in front of you and do the best you can. Sermon over ... ;)
That's a healthy way to look at it. I suppose I have to accept that's it's not going to be the case when I have a plan and kitty will follow it and fall in line but the other way around where kitty tells me which way to go and I change my plans accordingly..
I suppose I'm lucky as our case is not even that complicated and many dealing with a lot worse so seems petty getting frustrated, I guess I'm just an impatient person wanting to see some results or just settle somewhere..
Thanks for helping me to put things into perspective
I will also try to worry less and sleep more!
 
That's a healthy way to look at it. I suppose I have to accept that's it's not going to be the case when I have a plan and kitty will follow it and fall in line but the other way around where kitty tells me which way to go and I change my plans accordingly..
I suppose I'm lucky as our case is not even that complicated and many dealing with a lot worse so seems petty getting frustrated, I guess I'm just an impatient person wanting to see some results or just settle somewhere..
Thanks for helping me to put things into perspective
I will also try to worry less and sleep more!
That's about it, Monica... I think a lot if not most people start out thinking that this is going to sort quite easily/quickly but FD isn't usually like that so the realisation is something of a shock to the system... but you'll be fine, it's actually quite liberating when you accept that it's not a race to the finishing line... you know you're among friends here, people who understand, so post any time you need a little moral support... you're only human!
 
That's about it, Monica... I think a lot if not most people start out thinking that this is going to sort quite easily/quickly but FD isn't usually like that so the realisation is something of a shock to the system... but you'll be fine, it's actually quite liberating when you accept that it's not a race to the finishing line... you know you're among friends here, people who understand, so post any time you need a little moral support... you're only human!
Yes I think you're right about that Diana, it takes a little time to settle and realise what's the actual deal here.
And thanks so much for your kind words, I probably should've just stuck to asking dosing advice but I thought I'd share how I felt cos if anyone would understand it's you lot!
Thanks again for your support
 
Yes I think you're right about that Diana, it takes a little time to settle and realise what's the actual deal here.
And thanks so much for your kind words, I probably should've just stuck to asking dosing advice but I thought I'd share how I felt cos if anyone would understand it's you lot!
Thanks again for your support
Sharing how you feel is important actually... we all need propping up sometimes!
 
I have a kitty with a high dose condition and had more than a few meltdowns in the early days before I knew what was causing all my careful methodical care to fail miserably. I learned to take each BG reading as a snapshot of one moment in time but to focus on the movie that was being created as I got more and more data. My goal was and is, simply to keep my girl as happy and healthy as possible. Finally realizing you can't force mother nature and just taking each day as it comes and acting accordingly is the best way I've found to deal with this. And don't be afraid to let your needs supersede Josie's when you need to. We, as caregiver's need to look after ourselves well so we are able to keep up with our furry little kids when they really need our attention.
 
Thanks ladies, you definitely turned around my way of looking at things. Now feel a bit silly whining about my trivial 'problems'... I'm sorry and thank you!
I have to to learn to go with the flow and I shall stop trying to fit kitty in the box when kitty clearly wants to roam around outside of it!:cat:

As for update Josie's BG was higher this morning but no insulin given as she wasn't eating again at all. She's down at the vet at the mo for a full check up, bloodwork and ultrasound, hopefully we'll get a little wiser by the end of the day...
 
No apologies needed Monica. We've all been there and know venting is needed sometimes. IMHO, venting is just part of looking after yourself because there is no one size fits all treatment plan for all cats and it can be frustrating especially in the early days. Josie is a unique individual who is doing her version of the sugar dance and all you can do is follow her lead.
 
Gosh no don't apologise, Monica. We understand! And in a way, it's another corner turned because you'll stop striving for a perfect situation because one may not exist (not to be defeatist, but FD does, shall we say, keep us on our toes).
The thing is, when you realise that this is how it is, for now at least, you relax more... and appreciate Josie and this situation for how things are right now... and don't worry too much about the future.
Let us know what the vet says.
 
Josie had a blood test, X-ray and ultrasound -
Blood work came back good, she's well hydrated, negative for ketones, pancreas and kidneys looking good, overall in good health apart from she has slightly dilated liver at bile ducts and bridging spondylosis at the end of her spine. Vet said if she's in no pain and not showing other symptoms there's no need to medicate her just yet. Will read up more about it to help her condition though.
Was only given stomach upset medicine which we struggled to give her but she's recovering well anyway. Still none the wiser about the frequent 'off food days'...?
She's back to eating ok.

As for dosing the increased dose of .5u from .25u seem to be making no difference in the past few days?! Thought BG would go down noticeably lower as doubled the dose.. or get some in the blues at least?
Could be down to her being unwell so probably will wait a few more days to collect more data and until she's fully back to normal. Then again I know I gotta stop having expectations or trying to make sense of things...:banghead: :D
Any suggestions or thoughts about her SS or dosage would be much appreciated, thanks!

Happy Sunday everyone! :)
 
Josie had a blood test, X-ray and ultrasound -
Blood work came back good, she's well hydrated, negative for ketones, pancreas and kidneys looking good, overall in good health apart from she has slightly dilated liver at bile ducts and bridging spondylosis at the end of her spine. Vet said if she's in no pain and not showing other symptoms there's no need to medicate her just yet. Will read up more about it to help her condition though.
Was only given stomach upset medicine which we struggled to give her but she's recovering well anyway. Still none the wiser about the frequent 'off food days'...?
She's back to eating ok.

As for dosing the increased dose of .5u from .25u seem to be making no difference in the past few days?! Thought BG would go down noticeably lower as doubled the dose.. or get some in the blues at least?
Could be down to her being unwell so probably will wait a few more days to collect more data and until she's fully back to normal. Then again I know I gotta stop having expectations or trying to make sense of things...:banghead: :D
Any suggestions or thoughts about her SS or dosage would be much appreciated, thanks!

Happy Sunday everyone! :)
Sounds like a good vet report, Monica. :) You could try bumping up her dose to 0.75 u next AM dose. A lot of this is "try something, see what happens". You haven't seen any dark green numbers for quite a long time.
 
Wonder if you should have gotten some pain meds to try with her, just in case. Kitties are VERY good at hiding pain. Could just see how one dose effects her: Does nothing or helps her :). If anything I would imagine the spondylosis could be a little uncomfortable to her. Pain can also contribute to higher BG. Maybe just something to think about?

Sorry for all the elusive-ness; would'a could'a :p:smuggrin:
 
Wonder if you should have gotten some pain meds to try with her, just in case. Kitties are VERY good at hiding pain. Could just see how one dose effects her: Does nothing or helps her :). If anything I would imagine the spondylosis could be a little uncomfortable to her. Pain can also contribute to higher BG. Maybe just something to think about?

Sorry for all the elusive-ness; would'a could'a :p:smuggrin:
Good point, although I didn't notice any signs of pain of discomfort. When in the mood Josie runs around like a nutter doing double flips..
Vet is on holiday for a week, will discuss properly upon next visit.
 
Yes I'd be inclined to give a smidge more tomorrow morning if Josie gives you a pink... any bouncing should be long cleared now and it does seem as if she needs a higher dose now. It's worth a try anyway.
 
Yes I'd be inclined to give a smidge more tomorrow morning if Josie gives you a pink... any bouncing should be long cleared now and it does seem as if she needs a higher dose now. It's worth a try anyway.
Yes thanks I'll probably do that. Although she did surprise me with this eve's unexpected yellow PMPS..?
Ps. Good thing I stopped with all the expectations and learning to go with the flow otherwise I'd probably go bonkers trying to make sense of this all.. lol:D
 
This may just have been a U.S. cartoon, he is Disney, but this is Bonker's D. Bobcat ;)
latest
 
Hello everyone, I need guidance once again please if you don't mind.
As Josie doesn't seem to go low enough for long enough between shots plus she started giving us the odd lower pmps numbers these days I think a dosage adjustment might be needed here?
Im thinking the sliding scale might be the way forward but if so I'm not quite sure what the guidelines would be for dosage adjustment.
Would you be able to give me some guidelines for dosing Josie please, what amount of insulin for what ps numbers?
To complicate things a bit further I am going away for 10 days in 2 weeks time leaving Josie under my husband's care which I am actually getting more and more anxious about:nailbiting: and as he is working full time and usually goes to bed with the chickens he won't be able to test nadir times..
Is there a point changing things now or shall wait til i get back or maybe is there a way to a more cautious sliding scale to follow?
Thanks so much, your input as always greatly appreciated!:cat:

Have a nice day:)
 
Hello everyone, I need guidance once again please if you don't mind.
As Josie doesn't seem to go low enough for long enough between shots plus she started giving us the odd lower pmps numbers these days I think a dosage adjustment might be needed here?
Im thinking the sliding scale might be the way forward but if so I'm not quite sure what the guidelines would be for dosage adjustment.
Would you be able to give me some guidelines for dosing Josie please, what amount of insulin for what ps numbers?
To complicate things a bit further I am going away for 10 days in 2 weeks time leaving Josie under my husband's care which I am actually getting more and more anxious about:nailbiting: and as he is working full time and usually goes to bed with the chickens he won't be able to test nadir times..
Is there a point changing things now or shall wait til i get back or maybe is there a way to a more cautious sliding scale to follow?
Thanks so much, your input as always greatly appreciated!:cat:

Have a nice day:)
@JanetNJ is the go-to designer of sliding scales for Caninsulin. She'll be able to help. I have no experience with sliding scales myself.
 
I'm a bit flummoxed by Josie's numbers. It looks like 0.75u is bringing numbers down a bit more mid cycle but pre-shots are mostly about the same although there have been a couple nicely lower. I'm no good at sliding scales either and would also recommend having Janet take a look and offer her opinion. I'm wondering if we are missing something in the +3 to +5 period in the cycle and would suggest getting a few more tests in that time frame to fill in a bit more data.

When you go on vacation, if you are concerned that DH won't be able to test mid cycle, you can reduce the dose slightly during your absence to keep numbers down but not necessarily optimal just for safety sake.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top