Can vomitting temporarily decrease BG?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Snits

Member Since 2024
Edited title from yesterday because I feel like a nuisance making so many threads.

Last night my Snits vomitted before I could give her the insulin shot. She was 241. I was going to attempt to give it to her again two hours later but her BG had dropped to 169. She ate but was acting restless. In her kitty litter there was hard stool followed by diarrhea - probably gave too much Miralax.

She did eat after the 169, but hasn't eaten for I want to say 9ish hours. She's currently eating now no problem. I have noticed she no longer wants to eat in the bathroom, can't say I blame her.

ANYWAYS. Today she tested at 85 BG. This is obv very low for her and I am not giving a shot for obvious reasons. My question is, is this low number temporary from last nights chaos?

https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/6-21-snits-amps-218-3-218-6-106-pmps-241-good-progress.291356/
link to provide more info on what happened last night.

TLDR: vomitted last night, 85 in the AMPS. Is it due to the vomit?
 
Last edited:
I don't know if the low AMPS is due to what was going on last night but I really doubt it. Snits has been without insulin for 24 hours. I would have expected a higher AMPS. But, Snits is a cat and cats hate to be predictable. The only suggestion I would make is that if you test and get a number that seems inconsistent or unexpected, I'd re-test. Sometimes, you have a bad strip or it's a bad test and you still get a reading.
 
I don't know if the low AMPS is due to what was going on last night but I really doubt it. Snits has been without insulin for 24 hours. I would have expected a higher AMPS. But, Snits is a cat and cats hate to be predictable. The only suggestion I would make is that if you test and get a number that seems inconsistent or unexpected, I'd re-test. Sometimes, you have a bad strip or it's a bad test and you still get a reading.
Yeah, who knows! Just tested her now at +6 and she’s 132. Did that one twice. Maybe her pancreas is waking up? Way too soon to know! I’ll see what the PMPS brings.

This scenario really stresses the importance of testing before insulin. I expected snits to be in the high mid 300s and had I just gone off of that she would have gone hypo.
 
Last edited:
Yes and no! You are absolutely correct that an unexpectedly low preshot number reinforces why testing is so important. However, you don't know if giving insulin would have dropped Snits' numbers. The basic idea with Lantus is "shoot low to stay low." It's completely counterintuitive. You'd expect numbers to tank if you shot a low number. That doesn't always happen. Many times what you see is a flat curve. If you go over to the Lantus board and look at the subject lines, you'll see that people routinely shoot low numbers. I would shoot anything above 50. We encourage members to work their way down to shooting lower numbers.
 
Yes and no! You are absolutely correct that an unexpectedly low preshot number reinforces why testing is so important. However, you don't know if giving insulin would have dropped Snits' numbers. The basic idea with Lantus is "shoot low to stay low." It's completely counterintuitive. You'd expect numbers to tank if you shot a low number. That doesn't always happen. Many times what you see is a flat curve. If you go over to the Lantus board and look at the subject lines, you'll see that people routinely shoot low numbers. I would shoot anything above 50. We encourage members to work their way down to shooting lower numbers.

Yes, I did notice that in the Lantus boards!! I've been looking at other people's spreedsheets/day threads and I was confused, but figured those people had enough data that they could see the patterns with their cats. NGL though, I am terrified of shooting at lower numbers. Should I still be following the no shoot under 150 since I've only been at this for a week? When/if she's consistently lower, I'll need a lot of guidance so I'm glad I have everyone here!
 
There's no need to rush. Take some time to keep doing what you're doing -- looking at spreadsheets, reading threads, etc. Read over the sticky notes at the top of the Lantus board, especially the post on dosing. What I'd suggest is that if you get a pre-shot that's lower than 150, post and ask for help. We can walk you through your options.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top