Can they bounce without a dose change? Change in appetite? Hold same dose?

Tucker's Mama CS

Member Since 2019
Happy Caturday!

We saw some improvement in Tucker's numbers these past few days, and I think his appetite decreased as a result of that...is this common??

He has been on 2.25 units BID for close to a week now and numbers were quite improved (nadirs around 100!) but today he seems to have bounced up again. Is there something I should be doing differently? Should we hold the same dose?

Tagging my constant helper @Wendy&Neko

Thanks!
 
Last edited:
A cat can definitely bounce without a change in dose. Actually, the dose has little to do with a bounce. Bounces happen if:
  • numbers drop low
  • numbers drop into a range lower than your cat is used to
  • numbers drop fast
Given Tucker's drop from 362 to 96 by +5 yesterday, it's not a surprise that you're seeing a bounce.

It's also common for appetite to be less ravenous as a cat is getting better regulated. Remember that when numbers are high, the end product of digestion -- glucose -- is floating around in the blood stream because there's not enough insulin to help it get into the cells. As insulin is doing it's work and numbers are coming down, more glucose is in the cell where it belongs. In other words, nutrition is getting where it's supposed to go and your kitty isn't hungry all the time.

If you're following SLGS, I would hold the dose for the full 14 cycles.
 
Wendy's absolutely right! As soon as you think you can predict what your kitty is going to do, Tucker will do something entirely unpredictable. He's a cat. That's his job!

More seriously, getting curves/numbers on a regular basis will let you know if he's clearing bounces more quickly which is very good information to have.
 
Back
Top