SpotsMom
Member Since 2018
Ayyy! So I just got home from work and Spot's BG is 39 (now 61 15 minutes later)!! He does not have any symptoms of hypo and he is eating his high carb food, but he had not eaten all day except for the 2T of Young Again Zero Mature that I force fed him this morning at shot time. I did give him 100ml of subQ fluids this morning since he seemed a little dehydrated and wasn't eating, but I normally only give fluids when he appears to need them or is not eating on his own.
My question is this: has anyone else experienced reduced BG due to subQ fluids? It seems on the days I do give him fluids his numbers are good, and they jump back up on the days he doesn't get it. Even to the point where I just increased his dose a few days ago since I hadn't seen a green in a few days... and I was thinking about increasing again because the last increase didn't bring him low enough (obviously I won't be increasing now!). Is this an indication that I should give fluids every day even if he doesn't "appear" to need them? Is there any harm in giving fluids too often?
My question is this: has anyone else experienced reduced BG due to subQ fluids? It seems on the days I do give him fluids his numbers are good, and they jump back up on the days he doesn't get it. Even to the point where I just increased his dose a few days ago since I hadn't seen a green in a few days... and I was thinking about increasing again because the last increase didn't bring him low enough (obviously I won't be increasing now!). Is this an indication that I should give fluids every day even if he doesn't "appear" to need them? Is there any harm in giving fluids too often?
Last edited: