Robin &BB,
Thanks for your reply.
No, no spreadsheet yet. And I don't know what I'm doing quite yet that's why she got the insulin! Phoebe did not develope any symptoms of hypoglycemia after giving 1U at BG127. So I did shoot her again today: BG 148, +2 135.
Phoebe tested at the vet, with an Alphatrak2, at 240 on Monday (March 30). On March 23th her diagnosing BG was 236; 3+ glucose urine - these numbers came from blood work sent to the lab (vet didn't contact me with results until March 26th). Phoebe tested at home with the relion confirm at BG 127 on Wednesday (April 1) right before her first insulin injection. I figured the relion confirm BG 127 was similar in value to the Aphatrak2 BG 240. Yes, I did freak out after someone told me BG 127 on a relion confirm is generally considered normal. Phoebe's BG was +2 81 after shooting 1U prozinc at BG 127. I didn't test anymore after that. This morning her pre insulin BG was 148, +2 135. I thought I was catching on to this home testing, but now I am all confused again. Should Phoebe go back to the vet for another BG using their glucometer, and mine to compare results on her (as opposed to using the clinic kitty)? She majorly stresses at the vet. We did compare results between the two glucometers on a healthy resident hospital kitty: Alphatrak2 = BG 74; relion confirm = BG 45. How am I supposed to know how to interpret the relion confirm results? If 45 = 75, then what does 127 equal? And one cannot really make a comparison with only one result, correct? I cannot afford to take Phoebe in to the vet every day for BG monitoring so I must get a firm understanding on how to interpret BG numbers at home using my relion confirm. Oh, and I should mention that Phoebe was on a high dose of prednisolone, 5mg twice a day, for gastric lymphoma(she is also on Cerenia, metronidazole, fluoxetine). The pred was reduced to 2.5mg once a day on March 26th.
I hope I got all that correct. I hope I've made sense of what's going on.