Kiki & Lola
Member Since 2023
I won’t be home all day and I am nervous to give Kiki her dose. Amps is 162
Hi! Yes I gave her the dose and I always leave food out for her when I’m at work just in case (she is a slow eater/grazer) I just take it away 2 hours before her insulin shots. She seems to be doing wellDid you give her the 1 unit? It looks like it on the spreadsheet? I have been having technology problems all day and haven’t been able to get online. Hopefully, you left food out for her while you were gone?
What kind of food? She seems to be doing well on the 1 unit. It appears that when she starts in the middle to upper blues that she’s safe receiving the 1 unit. If you plan to follow SLGS then you would need to reduce when she drops below 90 (human meter.) If you want to follow Modified ProZinc Method, you don’t need to reduce unless she goes below 40 (human meter.) You generally do plenty of testing. It just requires both preshot tests and at least one mid-cycle test. I usually get so excited when I see those nice greens that I forget to mention this.Hi! Yes I gave her the dose and I always leave food out for her when I’m at work just in case (she is a slow eater/grazer) I just take it away 2 hours before her insulin shots. She seems to be doing well![]()
Ok thank you. My vet has told me not to change her dose without contacting her and not to shoot under 150 so I thought I was doing the right thing by skipping when I wasn’t available to monitor her. She is 102 and I’ll try to give her .5 to see how she doesSeveral opportunities have been missed for reducing her dose. She has gone under 90 on multiple occasions and she should have been reduced by .25 units (down to .75 units.) This may also help you not to have skipped shots with those lower preshots. Or, please put MPM on your spreadsheet and in your signature so that we (and especially lurkers who read to try to learn but do not post) will know why you have not reduced the dose when she's dropped below 90. Also, if you haven't had a chance to read the MPM method, please check it out. This sticky note contains both the SLGS instructions and the MPM instructions.
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/prozinc-dosing-methods.225629/
Okay. I understand. But I was just looking at her spreadsheet, and I see she went into a lime green number today. That is absolutely a definite reduction in dose of .25 units!!! This is for Kiki’s safety and it doesn’t matter which dosing method you are using. So, please, her new dose going forward is .75 units and not 1 unit any longer. I knew this was coming because of her numbers, but this is a good thing and means that Kiki is making progress. Congratulations on the reduction!Ok thank you. My vet has told me not to change her dose without contacting her and not to shoot under 150 so I thought I was doing the right thing by skipping when I wasn’t available to monitor her. She is 102 and I’ll try to give her .5 to see how she does![]()
Thank you thank you! I truly believe switching her to the low and zero carb food made all the difference!I'm jealous of your colours, she's looking so much better!
It does make a huge difference. I'm really happy with these numbers on the spreadsheet too!Thank you thank you! I truly believe switching her to the low and zero carb food made all the difference!
Thank you so much for all of your helpIt does make a huge difference. I'm really happy with these numbers on the spreadsheet too!