Can someone experienced look at this?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lar&Sam

Member Since 2017
Hi sugar baby care takers-
I just got our meter yesterday and did a curve today. Looking at these numbers leads me to believe no shot tonight. Would one of you mentors have a look at the spread sheet and give me the benefit of your experience? I've been trying to follow vet's orders, but I'm thinking that's a mistake.

Thanks in advance.
-Lauren
 
Well Sam certainly had a very active cycle today. Sam went below 50 so he has earned a reduction of his dose according to our protocol/methods here of 0.25u so tonight if his pre-shot test allows, you could give Sam a shot of 1.75u. Today was a beautiful cycle but he went down to 47 which is slightly below the 50 threshold we set to take action to ensure kitty doesn't drop too low. It would be a good idea to take a look at this document re: dealing with low readings.

There are two methods used here to get your kitty regulated and with luck into remission. One is Tight Regulation (TR) and the other is Start Low Go Slow (SLGS). TR tends to be a bit more aggressive but has shown good chance of remission. That said cats can go into remission using any method. There are stickies in the Lantus Forum to help you understand what each method entails. You don't need to make a decision right now but it is food for thought as you progress in your journey with Sam.

As a general rule, we don't recommend giving insulin for a pre-shot under 200 until you have more data with which to determine Sam's reaction to the insulin. He's looking good but he may bounce higher tonight as a result of the green lows today as his body is not used to those low BG levels. This is a natural body defense that works to keep kitty safe when BG drop below levels the body is unaccustomed to. A diabetic gets used to being in higher numbers and their defense system needs "recalibration" to become used to normal BG readings again. This is a natural process and nothing to be concerned about.

If you aren't sure what to do when you do your pre-shot test tonight, post again and we will assist you. If Sam is close to 200 but not quite there and you can delay his shot a bit tomorrow, stall for 20 minutes, don't feed him and test again. That way you can see if his BG is rising or not. If it is rising and he isn't far from 200, we'll help you decide whether to shoot or not.

You can post in the Lantus forum as there are always folks there to help as needed.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top