? Can I wait 2 hours & give regular dose? SLGS

Scdal

Member Since 2020
Can I wait 2 hours and give his regular insulin injection if the numbers stay in the 150 or above range?

This morning, Phoenix's preshot number was 174. I forgot & went ahead and fed him. I am so stupid. I need to make myself a note not to feed & keep checking BG. I did not give his insulin injection.

I checked his BG an hour later & it has dropped to 169. This is not a huge drop. Can I go ahead & give his insulin this late and give his full dose?

In the past, if I skip a dose, his numbers went high and took days to come down. If I gave a reduced dose, they still rose but not as bad. My intuition is telling me to go ahead and give him his full dose and monitor every hour.

Why does this always happen on the days I have a scheduled morning curb pickup from the grocery store? I am retired and home most of the time. His numbers always stay in the safe to shoot zone until I need to run an errand. If I have to, I will call and delay my curbside pickup until his numbers rise and I feel safe to leave him for an hour. I really don't know how people who work handle these situations. It must be very stressful.
 
If you shoot 2hrs late, you'll have to make that the new shot time tonight and then move it back slowly (15min increments) over the next several days. As long as you're comfortable with that situation (and shooting this number), it's fine to shoot.
 
Thank you ! Two hours later, he was up to 343 so I gave him his full dose. Next time his numbers are 169, I think I am going to go ahead and give him his full dose. I will monitor his BG every hour to make sure he isn't getting too low.
 
You can also move the time once every 24 hours. If you shoot lower than you have done before you might not need to test every hour. It’s suggested you get a+1 and +2. For Max a+1 didn’t help. I got info from a +2 or 3 but ECID. You will learn from experimenting.
 
Back
Top