Scdal
Member Since 2020
Can I wait 2 hours and give his regular insulin injection if the numbers stay in the 150 or above range?
This morning, Phoenix's preshot number was 174. I forgot & went ahead and fed him. I am so stupid. I need to make myself a note not to feed & keep checking BG. I did not give his insulin injection.
I checked his BG an hour later & it has dropped to 169. This is not a huge drop. Can I go ahead & give his insulin this late and give his full dose?
In the past, if I skip a dose, his numbers went high and took days to come down. If I gave a reduced dose, they still rose but not as bad. My intuition is telling me to go ahead and give him his full dose and monitor every hour.
Why does this always happen on the days I have a scheduled morning curb pickup from the grocery store? I am retired and home most of the time. His numbers always stay in the safe to shoot zone until I need to run an errand. If I have to, I will call and delay my curbside pickup until his numbers rise and I feel safe to leave him for an hour. I really don't know how people who work handle these situations. It must be very stressful.
This morning, Phoenix's preshot number was 174. I forgot & went ahead and fed him. I am so stupid. I need to make myself a note not to feed & keep checking BG. I did not give his insulin injection.
I checked his BG an hour later & it has dropped to 169. This is not a huge drop. Can I go ahead & give his insulin this late and give his full dose?
In the past, if I skip a dose, his numbers went high and took days to come down. If I gave a reduced dose, they still rose but not as bad. My intuition is telling me to go ahead and give him his full dose and monitor every hour.
Why does this always happen on the days I have a scheduled morning curb pickup from the grocery store? I am retired and home most of the time. His numbers always stay in the safe to shoot zone until I need to run an errand. If I have to, I will call and delay my curbside pickup until his numbers rise and I feel safe to leave him for an hour. I really don't know how people who work handle these situations. It must be very stressful.