Can I safely leave FCC with shots and general monitoring, but no certainty of BG tests?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Acadaca

Member Since 2021
Hi. I am trying to figure out whether or not it would be appropriate to go away for a few days at the end of this week. I am very torn and will not do anything that will put FCC'S health at risk.

I decided to try and move him from SLGS to TR (probably at the exact wrong time). Today is the first day FCC got 1.5 units (up from 1.25). So far there have been no issues.

My partner would stay home with FCC and faithfully administer the insulin (it has been his job all along). Testing is a bit of a different issue. He's not too comfortable with it yet and figures he can do it for both the AMPS and the PMPS and one more time each cycle. I have complete faith in him, but know that I was not able to do that and still struggle with the BG tests. Is it dangerous to leave FCC when I know it is possible he would only get AMPS/PMPS numbers despite best intentions?

What if I am not 100% sure that the pre-shot numbers would be able to be taken each time? I would be gone three nights so I would not be available for 6 shots (two full days and two half days).

Thank you in advance.


https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/6-29-fcc-amps-412-3-317.249215/
 
I would post and ask for advice on a vacation dose the day before you leave. I would post the thread over on the Lantus forum where Lantus users will see it
Link to Lantus forum here
 
People go on vacation all the time. You can just shoot a lower dose fir a few days and then go back up upon your return. Why don’t you go back to SLGS and move to TR when you get back since you just switched?
 
Thank you for your suggestion. That actually makes a lot of sense. Obviously the insulin is the key and at least monitoring his movements throughout the day.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top