Can I post here?

Status
Not open for further replies.

sueandsamwise

Member Since 2010
Due to the lack of eyes over at relaxed Lantus would it be alright if I post Samwise's numbers here. "Relaxed" Lantus is so relaxed it's almost dead. Though I've been getting through okay with Sams disease it does help to have some input but tight regulation is not my thing. I hate putting Sam through so many tests and do feel the need to save his ears a bit. I do like to get the am +5 or 6 and pm. With reduced circumstances in finances, hospital bills, DH's disability, etc I just can't afford as many strips as I'd like. The DH hates to test Sam as he shakes so much he misses the mark on his ear and he hates to hear Sam cry. So, if you all wouldn't mind. nailbite_smile
 
Hi Sue,
I see from Sam's spreadsheet that apparently no one on RL has advised you to lower his dose below 1U after the 36 BG the other day? Especially since he had a 49 the day before, the dose should be a little less than 1U now. I noticed that you wrote in the SS notes that maybe you should go to .75U. I don't know that you should go down that much. I suggest a skinny 1U, which might be more like .8U to .9U. I don't like all those highs he had on .6U and I'm afraid if you go down to .75U that's going to happen again.

Sam may be one of those cats who needs longer than usual to get accustomed to a dose. You almost raised his dose to 1.25U, but then you got yellow and stayed with 1U, which is very good considering he finally had those lows. But look how many days on 1U it took to get him there.

We're not very active here either, there is sometimes not someone checking in but every 12 hors or more. So I'm not sure what to tell you regarding posting here if you feel you need more immediate help.

If you're looking for support and dose help, we have helped others with Lantus before and currently. I was afraid this might happen with the RL section as it seemed like a different approach was wanted but no one wants to take the reins now. Hope that doesn't offend anyone. I don't speak for all in this section either, so if anyone has an objection to Sue posting about Samwise here, please speak up.
 
Thanks, Vicky. Every 12 hours is a bit better than not at all. I will drop Sammy down but not as much as I was going to. I did give him .5u last night and this morning was a bit more. I think the last time when he was so high was the week we had Ghost euthanized and he must have been missing him much more than we realized. It is strange without him here (Ghost) and maybe Sam was reacting to that. Thats Sam though, when he goes low, he goes low, when he goes high, he really decides to get up there. Thanks for the input.
 
Sue, certainly you can post here. You should be able to post where ever you want to and feel comfortable.

I actually wonder if he is getting too much insulin in a bigger way than just a tiny dose reduction. When it seems like one dose is too much (very low numbers) but the next lower dose seems too low because of flat, higher numbers it just reminds me of what Beau's numbers were doing before I figured out he was rebounding.

What I think happens is that a certain amount of overdose causes a little higher, flat numbers (like mid 200-300), but a little more insulin makes the bottom drop out and you get very low numbers. I see very low numbers on .6u and .5u (like the 23 on Oct 31 and the 54 PS on Nov 25). His dose has been slowly coming down this year and I wonder if .5u might give better numbers.

I'm betting that he went pretty low overnight last night and that is why he had the 400 this am and pretty high numbers all day today. It always takes a couple of days for the rebound bonce to clear.
 
With the .5 he was still coming up with pretty high numbers and it just didn't seem to be enough. I wish there was some way to just wipe the slate and start over. The vet put him back on 1 unit because of the high numbers and now that the shed is full he's bouncing again. Sam is like a big furry cat ball, he bounces quite readily. Those low numbers last night weren't a fluke, he's done this before. I'll go down in dose a bit and see what happens. It's so hard to figure out exactly how much he is getting.
 
Hi Sue,

I'm a former Pro Zinc user posting in relaxed lantus too & I feel the same way. I was thinking I'm going to have to try posting on Lantus. I don't get a ton of tests in either since I'm at work all day. I was noticing you mentioned the strips being a problem. Are you using the Relion meter from Wal Mart? I found the strips for that meter are the Glucocard that can be ordered from American Diabetes Wholesale & it's even cheaper than Wal Mart.
 
I'll check out that site. I did get 100 strips at WalMart for 36.00. That was because I got a bonus from work and had a bit extra. Yes I am using the Reli on from Wally. I was doing 3 tests a day just to keep on top of Sam's numbers and have been doing a bit more testing since I have extra strips.

AMPS 436 .6u
+2 346
+9 248
PMPS 187 skinny 1u hope he doesn't keep dropping.
He is coming down nicely. I just hope he doesn't bounce again. He's asleep in my desk drawer right now. Ahhh.... they tug at your heart strings don't they? cat_pet_icon
 
Here's a link to the page:
http://search.americandiabeteswholesale ... =glucocard 01

I did the buy 4 get one free, which makes a box of 50 I think 14.00, that is if you can put out that much at one time. I got to the site through Mr Rebates which gives you a rebate on your order & I found a coupon online for 5.00 off my order so make sure you do a search. You will see but if you order 100.00 you get free shipping. I'm getting syringes & lancets from them now also. Hope it helps!
 
Staying ion high numbers today and slowing coming down a bit tonight is because of the rebound from last night's low (whatever it was). I'm afraid that shooting a skinny 1u is just going to repeat the process.

Have you read up on Somogyi Rebound? I had to read and re-read the petdiabeteswiki page on it until I finally got it and saw that this discription was exactly waht Beau's numbers were doing:

It's unusual to be monitoring glucose right when this happens, and typical to just continue the overdose, leading to a repeated rebound situation. So it's good to learn to recognize the patterns of repeated rebound.

A typical rebound pattern, most often seen with long-acting insulins, is a high, flat, unresponsive blood sugar over a period of days. Sometimes, often when raising dosage, this high flat curve will be punctuated by sudden drops to very low values, (with possible hypoglycemic events) followed by a fast return to high unresponsive numbers. (It's the sudden dip that distinguishes this pattern from inadequate insulin, but it doesn't always happen.)

Here is a link: http://petdiabetes.wikia.com/wiki/Somogyi_rebound

I agree that he bounces a lot. Those very low numbers followed by very high numbers (or just highish and flat) are your clue to what is happening, IMO.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top