Can I get some eyes on Alfred's numbers?

Status
Not open for further replies.

KJ & Alfred

Member Since 2013
Appreciate some more experienced ProZinc users taking a look and offering their thoughts.

I've never seen such a low AMPS.

I've had a bit of trouble with syringes - tried to switch, had to switch back, etc. Trying to get to U100 with half unit markings but it is taking me some time to get them.

Thanks in advance.
 
I'm not familiar with prozinc. Your AM might be because he continued to slide down all night. It's a safe number so no worry there.
 
I'm just really surprised to see it. I am sorry I didn't test him again in the middle of the night bc I wonder how low he went. I've had much lower numbers at the +3 or +4 PM shot and had much higher numbers in the morning. I just cannot seem to get a handle on what's going on with him this time around. I don't know if it's his age, the different insulin, the pancreatitis or just being the second go after a 3-year remission or what.
 
Wish I had answers for you. Hang in there. I'm sure he will make clear to you as what the problem is.

Question if I may. If he was on Lantus before how come this time it's something else?
 
Question if I may. If he was on Lantus before how come this time it's something else?

Because my vet no longer prescribes Lantus due to the cost increase. I've asked her if I should switch and she keeps telling me to keep with the ProZinc a bit longer.
 
I'm not an expert with ProZinc but to me it looks like 0.75u is possibly too much and if I were you, I'd try 0.5u consistently for a few days provided your pre-shots are 200 or more and nadir doesn't go below 50. You're dosing hasn't been consistent so it's a bit difficult to see what any dose is really doing because of missed shots and what looks like might be some bouncing. Assuming you are using U40 syringes, how did you measure 0.6u and 0.4u?
 
I'm not an expert with ProZinc but to me it looks like 0.75u is possibly too much and if I were you, I'd try 0.5u consistently for a few days provided your pre-shots are 200 or more and nadir doesn't go below 50. You're dosing hasn't been consistent so it's a bit difficult to see what any dose is really doing because of missed shots and what looks like might be some bouncing. Assuming you are using U40 syringes, how did you measure 0.6u and 0.4u?
I used U100 syringes on those days.
 
What a nice blue! I agree that being more consistent might help. Sue's sliding scale gives you the consistency you need and also helps you deal with different numbers well. :)
 
You might approach it slowly - so, move the no shoot to 180 first (you did well with 188) try a tiny dose, monitor . If that is safe, move it down a little more on a cycle you can monitor. The trick is to shoot a safe dose. 150 is the lowest cutoff for me; others may feel differently.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top