Can I administer insulin right after my cat has finished her meal?

Maya_

Member
Hello,

I’ve been giving my cat her insulin dose 30 mins after she finishes her meal but can I give it right after or even 15 mins after?

Thanks
 
Hi Maya, here is yesterday’s post, we like to link them in the new post for history and continuity so people can quickly catch up.
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/11-17-lulu-pmps-136-3-279-amps-401-increase-dose.295770/

To answer your question, yes! With Lantus you don’t need to wait, most of us will do a test, feed and shoot all within 15minutes or so. I found it was easier to give the insulin while my cat was happily eating his meal.
How was Lulu today? I peeked in your SS but there wasn’t any data ;)
 
Hi Maya, here is yesterday’s post, we like to link them in the new post for history and continuity so people can quickly catch up.
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/11-17-lulu-pmps-136-3-279-amps-401-increase-dose.295770/

To answer your question, yes! With Lantus you don’t need to wait, most of us will do a test, feed and shoot all within 15minutes or so. I found it was easier to give the insulin while my cat was happily eating his meal.
How was Lulu today? I peeked in your SS but there wasn’t any data ;)

Oh ok perfect! That’ll save a lot of time. Sorry just updated the SS for today, the level went up to 409 mid day today but I think it’s because there’s scar tissue on the right side so the insulin isn’t being absorbed properly o_O . I’ll be doing it on the left side tonight and hope the levels will improve
 
Could also be bouncing I mentioned yesterday. From the Basics sticky:

Bouncing - is simply a reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BG in the 200s, 300s or higher for a long time, then even a BG of 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the BG drops too low and/or too fast. The pancreas, then the liver release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream. *Usually* bounces clear within 3days (6 cycles).
 
Could also be bouncing I mentioned yesterday. From the Basics sticky:

Bouncing - is simply a reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BG in the 200s, 300s or higher for a long time, then even a BG of 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the BG drops too low and/or too fast. The pancreas, then the liver release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream. *Usually* bounces clear within 3days (6 cycles).

Oh ok I understand now. Seems like the bounce is still going, checked her PMPS now and it’s at 339
 
Back
Top