Can few vomiting episodes and missed shot cause BG to jump?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Christianna

Member Since 2014
Noodle had some diarrhea last week and we had to cancel his scheduled dental temporarily. Vet said after stool exam that he had a very large number of bacteria in the poop (more than would be expected.) Gave him BioMox which caused repeated episodes of vomiting after only one dose. Vet said stop it and withhold AM dose till he would eat, which was late that day. So Noodle only got one dose of Lantus that day. The next morning his AMPS was 515, an all-time high for him and a near heart-attack for his beans. He was eating ok, so we got him back on his Lantus schedule and by PMPS he was back at 266. I guess I'm asking if missing one dose of Lantus, plus the vomiting would likely cause a jump like that? He still has an unresolved infection somewhere so has a vet visit tomorrow. Any thoughts on this huge BG spike/missed dose would be a real education for me :? Thanks!

Christi (who feels like she aged 10 years over the past weekend!)
 
Re: Can few vomiting episodes and missed shot cause BG to ju

Id imagine so. Hopefully someone with more info will pop in, but first with the vomiting that is stressful which will raise bg a bit. then you have an infection which will also raise bg, and then top it off with a missed dose of lantus and I would have to (in my opinion, but I have no experience with lantus) say yes to expecting a higher bg. From what Ive read lantus is a depot insulin and it has to stay steady to build up in the system. Id assume missing a dose would upset the blood glucose and cause it to bounce around a bit till it levels out again....once again I have NO experience with lantus though.
 
Re: Can few vomiting episodes and missed shot cause BG to ju

Yes, infection plus missing a dose will jump the numbers, whatever insulin you are using. You'll see it more blatantly with non-depot insulins as they have no carry over.
Just work to get back on track.
 
Re: Can few vomiting episodes and missed shot cause BG to ju

Thank you, dirtybirdsoaps and BJM. What you said makes perfect sense and Noodle would probably be back on track right now if I hadn't done a dose-reduction trial which landed him with ketones :sad: . Stupid, stupid, stupid! I appreciate your responses and good common sense!

Christi
 
Re: Can few vomiting episodes and missed shot cause BG to ju

One thing worth pointing out for future reference and for others who might read this is that you don't necessarily always want to skip a dose if the cat is not eating, most especially if there is also a suspected infection. You will have to be much more cautious and monitor carefully, but if the numbers are high you will still want to give some insulin (most likely a reduced dose) otherwise you might be setting yourself up for Diabetic Ketoacidosis.
 
Re: Can few vomiting episodes and missed shot cause BG to ju

Just for reference, my vet had me give a half dose when fasting Spitzer before a dental.
Check with your vet.

And check urine ketones and glucose with KetoDiaStix. There are some tips in my signature link Secondary Monitoring Tools.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top