Clarence & family
Member Since 2024
My Siamese13 year old kitty Clarence was started on ProZinc two weeks ago right after he was diagnosed with FD. At diagnosis his BG was 531 (29.5 mmol), fructosamine was just under 600.
we started with 1,5U of ProZinc twice daily, and I also switched him fully to LC food.
I’ve put Clarence’s sheet in my signature and I could really use some help making sense of his BG numbers and dosage. He’s bouncing all over the place and despite often high pre shot numbers and what the vet said was a conservative starting dose he went hypo pretty soon into his insulin treatment. I couldn’t get any BG numbers on his first day of prozinc, the vet told me to test by getting blood from his ear, and he’s NOT having that, he goes into a complete panic. Second day I was told to try his feet, and he’s completely fine with that. I got 198 (11 mmol) at +5. Vet said that’s fine, ideally she wants him between 108 - 144 (6 - 8 mmol), but keep him on this dose for a week and then we’ll see if it needs to go up or down.
Third day he was a little quiet and I got 56 at +6! I was told on a Dutch forum to feed him to get his BS up, which it did slowly +7 was 63, +8 was 68 before going down again to 50 at +9. More food and we went to 110, and we ended up at 194 at PMPS time. I was advised to not give him a shot that evening, and do 0.5U the next morning and the two cycles after that.
AMPS after the no shot was 405 and I gave him 0.5U for 3 cycles. During those cycles I tested his BG at pre shot times and between +4 and +7. Every measurement was between 300 - 365ish.
After the three 0.5U cycles I upped to 1U again. That gave us +6’s in the lower to mid blues (110-140) and pre shots around 245-260 for nearly two days, so you’d think we were headed in the right direction. But on the third day of the 1U dose there was the pattern again where the mid cycle measurements were almost the same as the PS ones. Again around the lower to mid 300’s, and then up to a low 400 PMPS.
I decided to start measuring earlier, from +2 with two hour intervals on day 5 of the 1U doses. And I think he’s showing a pretty clear somogyi effect. He started at 376, started to dip at +2 with a nadir of 72 at +4 before rising sharply and ending with a PMPS of 443.
I spoke with the vet who said that it seems 1U is too much and 0.5U too little, so do 0.75. I did and again it seemed to go pretty well for a couple days. Mostly in the lower to mid blues again, although his nadir seems to vary between +4 to +6. I even got AMPS numbers in the higher blues (180).
And then yesterday evening, I suddenly got a PMPS of 437 again… still gave him 0.75, and woke up early this morning to test him, I got 275 at +8. But to my big surprise, I tested him again at AMPS as I always do, and he was at 184?? He did not eat in the time between the +8 and AMPS, I’m 100% sure of that.
Can anyone make sense of this? It seems there’s a very small margin for the right dose for Clarence, he either bounces, has a somogyi effect, or it goes well for a couple days and then his BS rises again.
And what does it mean that his BS dropped as late in the cycle as it did this morning?
edited to add: just tested his BS at +2, it’s 36. Feeding him now and testing again every 20 minutes
we started with 1,5U of ProZinc twice daily, and I also switched him fully to LC food.
I’ve put Clarence’s sheet in my signature and I could really use some help making sense of his BG numbers and dosage. He’s bouncing all over the place and despite often high pre shot numbers and what the vet said was a conservative starting dose he went hypo pretty soon into his insulin treatment. I couldn’t get any BG numbers on his first day of prozinc, the vet told me to test by getting blood from his ear, and he’s NOT having that, he goes into a complete panic. Second day I was told to try his feet, and he’s completely fine with that. I got 198 (11 mmol) at +5. Vet said that’s fine, ideally she wants him between 108 - 144 (6 - 8 mmol), but keep him on this dose for a week and then we’ll see if it needs to go up or down.
Third day he was a little quiet and I got 56 at +6! I was told on a Dutch forum to feed him to get his BS up, which it did slowly +7 was 63, +8 was 68 before going down again to 50 at +9. More food and we went to 110, and we ended up at 194 at PMPS time. I was advised to not give him a shot that evening, and do 0.5U the next morning and the two cycles after that.
AMPS after the no shot was 405 and I gave him 0.5U for 3 cycles. During those cycles I tested his BG at pre shot times and between +4 and +7. Every measurement was between 300 - 365ish.
After the three 0.5U cycles I upped to 1U again. That gave us +6’s in the lower to mid blues (110-140) and pre shots around 245-260 for nearly two days, so you’d think we were headed in the right direction. But on the third day of the 1U dose there was the pattern again where the mid cycle measurements were almost the same as the PS ones. Again around the lower to mid 300’s, and then up to a low 400 PMPS.
I decided to start measuring earlier, from +2 with two hour intervals on day 5 of the 1U doses. And I think he’s showing a pretty clear somogyi effect. He started at 376, started to dip at +2 with a nadir of 72 at +4 before rising sharply and ending with a PMPS of 443.
I spoke with the vet who said that it seems 1U is too much and 0.5U too little, so do 0.75. I did and again it seemed to go pretty well for a couple days. Mostly in the lower to mid blues again, although his nadir seems to vary between +4 to +6. I even got AMPS numbers in the higher blues (180).
And then yesterday evening, I suddenly got a PMPS of 437 again… still gave him 0.75, and woke up early this morning to test him, I got 275 at +8. But to my big surprise, I tested him again at AMPS as I always do, and he was at 184?? He did not eat in the time between the +8 and AMPS, I’m 100% sure of that.
Can anyone make sense of this? It seems there’s a very small margin for the right dose for Clarence, he either bounces, has a somogyi effect, or it goes well for a couple days and then his BS rises again.
And what does it mean that his BS dropped as late in the cycle as it did this morning?
edited to add: just tested his BS at +2, it’s 36. Feeding him now and testing again every 20 minutes
Last edited: