Cami's first curve - a bust (UPDATE - FRIDAY)

Status
Not open for further replies.
(see SS) She was in the 300s until dropping into the 200s late int he cycle - and staying there, flat, for a long time. I was going to raise her dose to .7u last night before the late drop - and then again this am, but she was 180. I need to get a few spot checks today and see if she drops low. The 300s could have been rebound from a low I didn't see.

She seems to favor mid/low 200s for PS, but I hadn't caught a low on any of the spot checks other than that 100 on the 2nd cycle.

She is back to being a little more crabby, but she is out and about and not staying in her room. that give the other cats a chance to get used to her more. Leanne was sleeping in Cami's carrier yesterday and using her LB, so she is making adjustments and making her presence known to Cami.

Cami slept on my bed for a little while again last night. She complains very loudly about testing, but does not really struggle, so is "easy" to test. And her ears seem to finally be getting used to it and "bleeding" better. She is very hard to get blood from - unlike either of the boys.
 
Re: Cami's first curve - a bust

It wasn't a bust- this early it is just data and numbers.

She's giving you a few purrs and sleeping with you a bit, getting out and about, and the crabby could be because she is still in high numbers and not feeling well.

I am sure she will adjust, slowly, but she will get there.
 
Re: Cami's first curve - a bust

Her numbers look hopeful to me. She is responding to the insulin, at least, and is still adjusting to new surroundings. I know my girl is crabby when she is high. She usually purrs through testing, but will growl when she is up there. ;-)
Good luck with her, though!
 
Re: Cami's first curve - a bust

Awww hun, I too would not call it a bust at all.

At least she can be out and about......and dealing with some not to shabby numbers ;-)
 
Re: Cami's first curve - a bust

Cami's responding really well to the insulin considering who knows how long she's been diabetic. She's getting some good long duration on 0.5u. If she's not dropping low then maybe the 300s are from her body getting used to the 100s which it's probably not seen for quite awhile.

Hooray for being out and about and interacting with you and the other cats. The only times I see Vinny is when he wants food. ;-)
 
LOOK AT THESE NUMBERS!

10-23
amPS 322 .5u
+2 334
+5 308
+8 223
+10 217
pmPS 233 .5u
+3 232

10-24
amPS 180 .5u
+4 134
+7 102
+8 153 – threw up again, not much, but did it twice (food today contained fish [salmon])
pmPS 202 .5u (fed chicken – no fish)

10-25
amPS 114 .25u (spit up a little an hour before, so fed – thinking hyoerT)
+3 94
+8 94
pmPS 167 .25u
+6 163

10-26
amPS 100 .25u
+3 96

We are having some trouble with spitting up. Not sure what the trouble is - hunger, food, hyperT (yes, I am thinking that). But look at the last 24-36 hours!

Last night she had really bad diarrhea though. Probably one of the foods, but I am not sure which one. I fed a beef flavor last night so it could be that. But she got up on the bed for hours last night and purred. She alternated between sleeping on me, next to my over the covers and next to me under the covers. I had a good thing going with her on my side (I was on my side), and Leanne under the covers, but then Ariel jumped up and Cami hissed and growled and made Leanne and Ariel leave.

She is even beginning to leave food in her dish, which is new as of the lower numbers.

I will be heading home, probably Sunday, and will check back in then. No time to read other posts - but hope everyone and the kitties are doing well.

PS _ I almost raised after those 300s - even drew the ,75u dose, but then she dropped to the low 200s at PS so I held .5u for another cycle. So glad I did. Now she is at .25u!
 
Her numbers are looking beautiful! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: She's come so far in such a short time.

Keeping my paws crossed for you guys that the tummy troubles clear up soon.
 
Great to hear from you Sheila. I hope the trip home on Sunday goes smoothly and uneventful for Cami and you. I am so glad to hear she is doing so well. :)
 
Wow! Look at Cami go on such a low dose of insulin! Whoohooooo!!!!! Absolutely beautiful!!!!!

Also good to hear that she's staying out and about more. She's obviously staked you out as her protector and safety zone, so her hissing at the other cats when they get up on the bed doesn't surprise me. It will all work out eventually!

Have a safe drive back!

Suze
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top