Cami - one year today (13th) NEW: vet/lab update

Status
Not open for further replies.
A year ago yesterday, I went to "see" Cami. She was a DCIN kitty. To be honest, she wasn't my first choice, or really any choice because she just didn't resonate with me, but I found out she was minutes from me and it just didn't make sense to be trying to transport a cat from hundreds of miles away when there was one less than a mile from me. So, I went to see her.

She did not endear herself to me, but I could see that she was in very bad shape and that it was likely that if I didn't take her she would be dropped off at a shelter and they would euthanize her. I was her only chance. I came back the next day, October 13th, and took her to my vet for a few tests (FIV, FeLV, & fecal because she was very bloated). The vet said she could develop DKA at any minute because she was not getting insulin and her BG was in the 300s. Then I brought her home.

Cami continued to be a difficult cat. All she did was cry (loudly) for food, eat tons (12-18 ozs a day), poop and pee, and hiss and growl at me and the other cats. She positioned herself in the hallway so the others could not get past her to the litter boxes and Beau was so upset he tried peeing in his own bed. I consulted an animal communicator, but Cami didn't get better. I was thinking I had made the worst decision of my life trying to save this cat. All that aside, she was very thin (6 lbs), had no undercoat fur and very thin skin. Her belly was bloated she looked 9 weeks pregnant and it made lots of noises. I could tell she was uncomfortable because she slept on her side stretched full out. She drank gallons of water (well, 12-16 ozs a day) even when her BG was under control, and peed on the rugs, carpets, and occasionally in the litter box.

I had gotten her regulated fairly quickly and she was OTJ after 4 months. It turned out to be short lived. One day in early March I noticed she was breathing very rapidly and took her to the vet. This started months of expensive vet visits and treatments that I won't detail, except to say they started with possible lymphoma (lungs and abdomen) and ended with a diagnoses of mega colon. She was, and is, on many meds, still drinking tons, getting dehydrated, was put on subQ fluids, had kidney insufficiency.... and on and on. But through all this she started to become affectionate and more relaxed even through she was still uncomfortable. Early on she was back on insulin and has been on it since. Her BG seems to cycle through regulated in the 80s to low 100s on .1u to unregulated in the 200s on 1u. I still am not convinced she doesn't have acro or cushings.

The even better news is that for the last month she has been off sugQ, drinking normal amounts of water, using the litter box 100%, going out on my balcony, coming for cuddles in bed almost every night and actually playing with toys. She goes nuts for cat nip (when last year she would totally ignore it), but gets a little bitey from it. This is a "normal" cat, and a total 180 from a year ago, well maybe a 170. She has put on weight, maybe too much, her belly doesn't make noises any more, but is still a little bit bloated, her fur has filled out and her undercoat came in so fast it got matted. After a few weeks of regular brushing that is under control and no more mats.

Picture below are "before" (left) and "after" (right):
10251367844_6ec3580f02_n.jpg
10251371714_f2ef3e3043_n.jpg


10251461496_c8d277281c_n.jpg
10251464786_6a898364c1_n.jpg


10251472355_88efc1712f_n.jpg
10251375154_897f83052c_n.jpg
 
Re: Cami - one year today (13th)

Happy gotcha day, Cami. Sheila, I know it has been so hard, but you have done wonders with this girl!
 
Re: Cami - one year today (13th)

Looks like a whole different cat. What a great job you have done with her.

Terri
 
Re: Cami - one year today (13th)

Sheila,
What a touching story for Cami. You have done an amazing job with her care and trust. The pictures show an amazing transformation in Cami. Thanks for giving her a chance. Hugs to you both.
Marcy
 
Re: Cami - one year today (13th)

Oh, and I forgot to mention the dandruff... :lol: I think her body was in constant "flushing" mode - to detox her body. She had horrible dandruff, but it has almost disappeared now. She has made a huge improvement since I added krill oil to all the cats' food about 6 weeks ago.

Thanks everyone! Cami is finally part of the family - instead of a cat living in the hallway and kitchen. She even rode up to MI and back in Sept in the crate with the rest of the cats. And I have seen her sleeping inches from one of the others - even with backs touching. I think she and Beau were sleeping in a big chair together up in MI because I came home and Cami stood up, stretched and jumped down from it as I was walking into the room (from behind the chair) and then I saw Beau was in it.
 
Re: Cami - one year today (13th)

You truly have done wonders for her Sheila! She looks like (and I trust also feels like) a whole new cat. She finally knows she is "home."

cat_pet_icon
 
Re: Cami - one year today (13th)

Just her eyes tell the story....she was SO sad and SO depressed besides feeling so awful. I've watched the struggle you've and she have had, how upset YOU would get because you couldn't seem to make her 'happy'. We said give her time...which you did. She is just full of that 'happy' now....THANK YOU!

BIG HUG and YARD DANCE!! Even in the rain!
 
Re: Cami - one year today (13th)

Yesterday evening, as I was walking up to my 3rd floor apt. I heard, and felt, a snap in my left knee. Needless (knee-less?) to say, it hurt enough that my sleeping was effected. At some point I was awakened with pain and felt a cat next to me and patted it and fell back to sleep. A little later there was purring so I patted it again. It was Cami. She stayed most of the night, even got under the covers and buried her head into my arm. For a while I had her on one side and Leanne on the other, both under the covers.

To say that Cami would not have done this a year or even six months ago is an understatement.

Lyresa, yes, I was upset by her for a long time because nothing I did made a dent in her anger and she was upsetting the other cats, particularly Beau. I felt so much like I let him down trying to help a "stranger". As the months dragged on I thought she was never going to come around. I should have recalled Beau's early YEARS and remembered that he took two years to start trusting and acting like a normal indoor cat, instead of a cornered feral, but at least he didn't hiss and growl at the other two cats.

Well, they are all different. That's for sure!
 
Re: Cami - one year today (13th)

Happy Belated Gotcha Day Cami!!!

It always amazes me how far they can come with just a little love and care.

Autumn has done a 180 as well. I still remember wondering how crazy we both were for taking Cami and Autumn because they were so alike in temperament but I know now I can't even think about Autumn not being here and I'm sure you feel that way about Cami...

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn and The Fur Gang
 
Re: Cami - one year today (13th)

Yes, Mel, she is part of the family now. Even 8 months ago, when she started all her horrible health issues and I thought she might not make it, I told my mom I didn't think I would bury her with the rest of the cats (up in MI) because she didn't know the place and wasn't integrated with the other cats so it wouldn't mean anything to her - and she didn't really mean anything to me :oops: .... it just seems silly to me now.

Just got back from her check up. She is up to 10.3 lbs. A year ago she was at 6 lbs. The vet was very pleased with her and did a renal panel to see how her kidneys are fairing. The last visit was the first time her renal values where back down into the normal range, so we are hoping they have stayed down - and that her anemia has improved. I will get lab results in a day or two.

She did have an tiny abscess on her tail that was drained and cleaned. I noticed it a few weeks ago and thought it was a cyst, but it burst on examination today. Not sure how she got it. Maybe a claw stick from one of the other cats. Don't know. No fever, so no ABs. I have to keep it clean and hope it heals up ok.
 
Re: Cami - one year today (13th)

Sheila, what a beautiful recovery story. I remember most of the early days, but haven't kept in touch enough with the board or with you :( to realize how far she has come. A real tribute to your care and your big heart. I love the before and after pictures...I remember the before...she has come so far! Such a sweetheart to realize she finally has a family she can count on to be there for her. And that she was able to go to Michigan with you all...that was great to hear. :)
 
Re: Cami - one year today (13th)

Heard from the vet yesterday about Cami's labs: everything is good/normal. Renal function is normal. Her potassium is just into the normal range (from low) still, so she has to keep taking Turmil K, a potassium supplement (that she hates!). But the big thing is those renal values. She had slipped into what the vet called early renal failure back in May. She has not even had subQ fluids since the first week of September because she no longer drinks excessively and her coat/skin is very supple.

We are keeping her at status quo as far as meds go: the Turmil K, lactulose, cisipride, prednislone and levemir (of course :lol: ), but I have reduced the dose on all of those (except lev) very slowly. She also gets miralax in her food, but that is also reduced from her highest dose.

I still wonder, and will always wonder, about that plant stem she vomited up after I had her for 6 weeks. She didn't get it from my home so it was in her stomach for at least 2 months. I could never identify it, but I really wonder if it caused toxcity and got the whole ball rolling that led to diffuse inflammation and bacterial infection in all her abdominal organs, the mega colon, PU/PD with dehydration and finally renal failure. I guess I will never know.

She comes for cuddles in bed most mornings and today was extra long. cat_pet_icon
 
Sheila,

I remember that stem thing that she threw up, wish you could have found out what that was. You should have took it to the vet and ask them if they ever seen anything like that?

Terri
 
Terri, I showed it to both the regular vet and the specialist (who has been following her exclusively since March). Neither could identify it. No one who has seen it knows what it is. I haven't found anything online or in the local produce section that looks like it. My best guess is something from the eggplant family (but it isn't eggplant). Very frustrating!
 
I am so late to see this- but Happy Gotcha Day indeed!

So glad to hear that Cami is faring well and is so much better for you and for her.
 
Wow - a year already! How far you've come in that time! Happy Gotcha! Day!!!

You really have a gift - the patience to "break" a feral, or in Cami's case, one that has been (or would've been) dumped. She is fortunate to have landed in your very capable hands!

Great report!

Lu-Ann
 
Ah, been busy with this and that for a while....

Thanks to the "late-comers" for the good wishes.

I "caught" Cami playing with one of the furry mice this morning. It is still so strange to me to see her with a toy in her paws. :mrgreen:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top