Re: Cami 12/5 amPS 81
Sheila & Beau & Jeddie (GA) said:
Laura, thanks for chiming in. It's amazing how Vinny went OTJ off of 1.5u. How did you know it was time for a trial and not just a dose reduction?
Vinny's fast breakthrough at 2.0u was a surprise. Once we broke through, I tried to follow the Tilly guidelines for a reduction - reduce by 0.25u. The problem was (and it really was a good, if not scary problem to have

) Vinny's insulin needs fell so quickly that reducing by just 0.25u wasn't nearly enough. From 2u to 1.75u to 1.5u and finally I decided to break the rules and instead of backing down the dosing ladder, I'd start from the bottom up. Even if it meant having to find a good dose all over again. At least that way both he and I would be doing it safely.
The thought to try a much reduced dose - or even no insulin at all, came to me based on experience with OTJ's Dillon and Molly. I fostered Dillon from May to June of this year. I didn't post him on FDMB because he come to me on PZI and so I treated him according to the Diabetic Cat Help Hodgkins TR protocol which doses insulin based on a sliding scale. After coming to me and getting a diet change from dry WD to all wet food, Dillon needed only 4 shots of PZI before his pancreas started working on its own. He was able to bring himself down from a 185 at night to a 55 the next morning - and has kept it in the 50s and 60s range ever since. He is now happily living in Virginia with fellow DCIN adopted kitty, Buddy, the Siamese. cat_pet_icon I did not bring Molly OTJ, but Molly's Uncle Don kept me informed of her numbers via phone and told me how she was doing. He did not shoot according to Tilly, he used a sliding scale approach but with Lantus. I don't have the exact numbers in a spreadsheet but he told me that Molly had been running in nice blue numbers for a week on 1.75u Lantus and then the day before her flight to me he called to say she'd thrown a green PS the night before and he stopped shooting and just tested. That morning and evening she stayed green (a 71 and a 64, I think). She flew to me the next day and has been OTJ ever since. So knowing that at least one cat had suddenly broken through insulin resistance from a high dose, planted the seed that maybe Vinny had done the same. It turns out he did, and we both got lucky. :mrgreen:
Sheila & Beau & Jeddie (GA) said:
Anyway, its been so long since Beau went OTJ I can't remember my thinking back then - plus, her was so different in how he responded to insulin. He has a do not shoot number because even .05u sent him to the 30s. I don't remember that insulin seemed to raise his BG, but maybe I missed that stage.
Your SS shows you shot as needed until finally he didn't need it anymore. That gave his pancreas time to kick in and get stronger and finally do it all on its own.
I don't know if tiny whiffs of insulin show up as raised BGs for every cat who's tinkering with going "you know." But I read of it happening on DCH and observed it firsthand with Hadley. Not so with Vinny or Dillon. So maybe it's another one of those ECID things? Just something to keep in the back of one's mind when trying to decide to go for "the trial" or not - as if there aren't enough variables to juggle. ohmygod_smile
I don't think you can make a wrong decision here. If you decide to stop shooting you can always start again. And if you decide to keep shooting and give the doses a little more time and see if they settle, that's OK too.
Sheila & Beau & Jeddie (GA) said:
She was just 100 at +4, so if she comes down from that it would look like it was the insulin that bumped her up. So... paws crossed for her.
Go Cami!!
Sheila & Beau & Jeddie (GA) said:
I also just caught her contemplating peeing on a piece of fabric that fell on the floor under the dining room table. Clearly, she isn't ready to give up on that yet. She did, however, stop pawing at it when I said "Cami, no", and walk down the hall to the LBs. I still had to put her in one because she stopped and turned back toward the LR. :roll:
Cami, do NOT go - in the LR. Go in the LB. Baby steps, it's like potty training a kitten all over again.