Smokey
Member Since 2010
Hello Ladies! It's me again :cry:
I am so confused about something and was wondering if you could help me! Actually, I know you can help me!
Since Smokey's low BG 2 nights ago, It has been suggested that since he has been having some blue's and green's that I decrease his dose to 1.75. I guess I just don't understand, from everything I am reading and looking at other SS's, I thought that my numbers were bad and called for an increase in Insulin...?
Isn't Smokey around the Renal Threshold atleast once a day? It was my understanding that I should be striving for a dose that gives greens and blues so maybe I should be striving for higher numbers? What range do I want to see at Pre-Shot?
If his lowest BG is usually around Pre-Shot, how will I tell when or how much to shoot? Normally, that would be the cats highest BG (therefore, you'd be basing the dosage on that number).
Since his Dx (he was previously OTJ), he has never stopped drinking the water and urinating clumps the size of dinner plates (which also led me to believe he wasn't getting enough insulin). I just haven't seen any positive things...clinically.
My vet was the one who kept telling me that a Lantus pre-shot should be between 300-350 and I was preparred to tell him [this Thursday] that I thought he was crazy and I really would like to increase the dosage. Now, if I lower the insulin dosage, his pre-shot numbers will be up in that range.
I hope I'm making sense, sometimes it's hard when reading an e-mail!!
Thank you all again so much!
xo
I am so confused about something and was wondering if you could help me! Actually, I know you can help me!
Since Smokey's low BG 2 nights ago, It has been suggested that since he has been having some blue's and green's that I decrease his dose to 1.75. I guess I just don't understand, from everything I am reading and looking at other SS's, I thought that my numbers were bad and called for an increase in Insulin...?
Isn't Smokey around the Renal Threshold atleast once a day? It was my understanding that I should be striving for a dose that gives greens and blues so maybe I should be striving for higher numbers? What range do I want to see at Pre-Shot?
If his lowest BG is usually around Pre-Shot, how will I tell when or how much to shoot? Normally, that would be the cats highest BG (therefore, you'd be basing the dosage on that number).
Since his Dx (he was previously OTJ), he has never stopped drinking the water and urinating clumps the size of dinner plates (which also led me to believe he wasn't getting enough insulin). I just haven't seen any positive things...clinically.
My vet was the one who kept telling me that a Lantus pre-shot should be between 300-350 and I was preparred to tell him [this Thursday] that I thought he was crazy and I really would like to increase the dosage. Now, if I lower the insulin dosage, his pre-shot numbers will be up in that range.
I hope I'm making sense, sometimes it's hard when reading an e-mail!!
Thank you all again so much!
xo