calliecat 9/27

Status
Not open for further replies.

calliecat an marty

Active Member
Hello everyone !!

Its been awhile since I've posted I started a 3rd job which allows me to come home and check on callie !

I'm surprised I still have hair left on my head !! I still can not figure out my callie cat_pet_icon we have'nt seen blues in awhile :`( I have tried shooting her in different spots which only ticked her off to the point I didn't think I would be able to keep giving her shots! but I didn't give up and she got a little better but not on her numbers so I went back to shooting in the skruff , I have talked to the vet several times about callies numbers and her dosing and insulin and possibley tid and even the pills for callie which I don't want to do.

callie seems to be doing good though she eats good, plays, grooms I check her for ketones every day and she is neg ;)
I have read post on here about others having the same problems as callie and I just don't know what to do !!

my dh took out a 401k loan and hopefully the money will be here within the next couple of days I have my fingers crossed to get callie to the vet on friday for a GOOD COMPLETE dental on her, the vet told me callies teeth seem fine but I know there is something going on.

I cry all the time and after her shot I've been getting sick and throwing up I just wish I could be doing better for callie
I feel I'm doing her no good at all !
 
I don't see that you're doing so bad at all! I know it gets so depressing sometimes but just think what Calliecat would be feeling like if you DIDN'T do what you're doing. At least your ssheet isn't a rainbow roller coaster that we've been riding. We're not on PZI so can't advise anything but we do hugs really well....

Every time I see the name 'Calliecat', it reminds me of my Scruffy boy. When he first started visiting, it was always dark, I thought he was a female calico and called him 'Calliecat'. 3 years later, he's been 'left' one too many times, NOW he's ours and already had a name altho' about the UNscruffyiest cat I've ever seen. You can't really see his colors in this pictures, only the eyes and face to melt your heart. The good ones are on my dead computer....

 
OMG woman where have you been, I know life gets hectic but if you posted here more often you could get the support and guidence that you need. You are not in this alone, we are all here for you when you need us.

But we can't help if you don't post.

Please come back more often.
 
What I notice is a pretty consistent higher amps. Two ideas.

Do you feed overnight? Sometimes leaving out a snack will help keep the numbers a little lower for that amps.

Check out Angela and Henry's spreadsheet. Angela gives a smaller dose in the pm and a little bit larger dose in the pm. And she varies the dose, giving it later in the pm and earlier in the am. Wonder if that would help Callie?

One of the problems we see with ProZinc is that it truly seems to be an ECID insulin. What works for one kitty may not work for another. The nice thing about it is that it is flexible and you can try different things.
 
Nice to see you back,

OK, Callie is sort of confusing.... ;-)
Just looked at her SS, and I'm stuck by "what happened at the beginning of August. She had a couple days of beautiful curves on a dose of 1.0, and then for some reason, she just decided to go flat. You stuck with it for a few days, but it never got pretty again.
Maybe the jump to 1.4 was too much right then?
Then you had a few good days in a row at the beginning of this month, on 1.2, you went up to 1.3 and it didn't get better, you went up to 1.4 and it went to crap and she started going in the "red zone".... So it looks like you looked back and thought "she did well on 1.0, then let's try that again". But it didn't work as well as it had in August.

Well, it leaves me thinking that her "right" dose is somewhere in between 1.0 and 1.3?
Today's curve on 1.1 was an improvement. Just wish she had a deeper curve. She dropped about 30%.

OK, all that and I'm still confused. Anybody else?

Carl
 
thank you everyone !! Happy Hump day cat_pet_icon

Sue I always check Callie at + 4.5 to +6 that is midnight to 1:30 am and I feed her after, she has had a very good appitite lately she acts like there is nothing wrong with her ( which is good ) but her numbers are so bad.

the vet said for me not to worry so much about am an pm ps if she has lower numbers in between but I do !! I want her numbers to lower and stay there!

yesterday and this morning I am shooting Callie on her sides , I started giving her her shot when she is eating her treat and she is better about it this morning she didn't even notice I gave it to her :)

Kim I just kind of shut down inside myself for a while if that makes sence I just feel so bad I can't do better for callie :(
home life sucked for a while with not so dh some times he is so selfish and he still won't give callie a shot he will check her bg once a day so I don't have to come home from work to do it , I'm scared if something happens to me what will happen to callie ??

callies 9/28 amps = 469 which I over slept and hour ( first time since I started dancing )

+ 4 last night was 266

have a good day everyone !
 
Keep testing, keep posting. We will try to help you figure something out.

Read Lucky's Mom's most recent post (all4mymarine) She is getting down too and people had some great boosts for her. Bottom line- you are pedaling as fast as you can trying to help her. Many beans put their cats to sleep after they get the diagnosis. You didn't do that.

If she is still purring, playing, preening and she seems happy with her life, she doesn't know she has diabetes and her numbers are wonky. She wakes up every day to someone who loves her, feeds her and is there for her. In her cat world, she is most likely pretty happy.
 
Ah, you need to post more. We are like a family and the support we offer one another is invaluable. I have down days also, Kitty is 16, doing much better, but I wish it was better. BUT, I do the best I can. I shoot three times a day---I have to come home at lunch to shoot and I stay awake until midnight to shoot. If something happended to me , I have no idea what would happen to Kitty (well really I do---she would move to New York with her god-mother Judy :mrgreen: ) or any of my other pets. But, you can't dwell on that side of it. I use to think that if Kitty was too high that she was going to roll over and die--but, if that was the case she would have passed on months ago. I use to put so much emphasis on every test...every shot.....now, I don't do that. I take it one day at a time and focus on the time we have together.

I know it gets hard, in fact it is hard---but, life is hard. Keep your head up, you are doing a GREAT Job for Callie. Start posting again and lets walk this walk together.

Sorry, I can't help you with the selfish DH!!! :lol:

WELCOME BACK!
 
thank you everyone !! :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:

I came home to check callie and feed her she is +5= 287

I want to thank you all so much I'm crying again but its not from total dispair I will never give up this dance even though I hate it so much but I know I am not the only one ! its sometimes hard for me to reach out in my sadness I don't know why I just kind of keep it to my self but i will try harder ! callie is out in the front porch I call it the sun room its nice and warm out there all winter long she is cleaning herself which she does all the time lol ! again thank you all very much I really do love all of you and your sugar babies have a wonderful afternoon i'm have to go back to work :YMHUG: cat_pet_icon
 
Welcome back!
I k now it is so hard, but hang in there
we are all in the same boat.
It does get so exhausting but we do it cause we love them so
and all the unconditinal love they give us!
hang tough and keep in touch!
it does make it easier, especially on the tough days...

Densie and shakes
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top