Callie was diagnosed about 6 weeks ago.

Status
Not open for further replies.
We are currently OTJ (off the juice - in remission), so I don't actively give Lantus. When I bought it the first time, I got it from Walgreens - before I knew what a mistake that was. They charge a fortune :( They were also rude to us ("this is for a cat?? Do you realize how much this costs???" -- Yes, I do, thank you very much....). Lantus is dated to be used within a month of opening, but can definitely last longer if you take care of it properly.
For shipping Lantus, you can order the pens, and they last quite a while if you haven't opened them yet (like a year or something?) so you can have them shipped during cooler months and have a stash to get you through the warmer summers.

I'm down in Colorado Springs. Welcome, neighbor :)

So that's what OTJ means! And glad Shenandoah is OTJ!

How are the pens different to use than the vials? Right now I am using a new vial of Novulin N, and she seems to be feeling better than with the old vial, but I don't know if the old one was kept refrigerated. But after all the reading and feedback, it seems like the Lantus would be a much better choice for Callie. Yes, Walgreens was a mistake for us also even with the Novulin. Walmart was over $140 cheaper for just that.

Colorado Springs is so pretty. And Howdy, neighbor! Wish we were closer so I could beg to come over or have you over to show me testing just one time. Seeing helps. Thanks so much!
 
Our vets sell single Lantus pen cartridges but I can also get a vial at a local pharmacy with a written Rx. (I'm in the UK.)


Mogs
.
 
...wish we were closer so I could beg to come over or have you over to show me testing just one time. Seeing helps.

You could see if you can pay a vet tech (off their employer's clock) to come to your house to go through everything with you and Callie. A lot of them do that on the side for catsitting already, so the only difference here is that you would be home, but you could pay what they would normally get for a catsitting visit. And then you might also be able to show them around so that they would be able to sit for you in the future :-)
 
How are the pens different to use than the vials? -

Pens are just smaller amounts than a full vial. It makes it so you can use up a larger portion of the insulin before it goes bad.
I don't know if they're available for Novulin N, I'm only familiar with Lantus.

Wish we were closer so I could beg to come over or have you over to show me testing just one time. Seeing helps. Thanks so much!

If you're still struggling once this weather clears out, let me know. I might be able to find a way to get up there at some point. I do have a business trip coming up, so it would have to be worked around that.
 
If you switch to Lantus (good choice,BTW) order the pack of 5 insulin pens. Each pen is like a mini vial of 300units. They will last a long time if refrigerated. Do not shake or roll them, just insert the syringe needle into the rubber stopper.
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...insulin-info-handling-drawing-fine-doses.151/

Really dumb question but how hard is it to attach the syringe needle and use that as opposed to just filling the syringe from the vial, and how hard is it to do the dosage thing with the pen? I haven't looked at the pens, and I should do that before asking. (But I asked anyway)

Appreciate the "thumbs up" about the Lantus choice (although I'm still using the N) and also the advice about the 5 pen pack. The more questions I ask, the more I find out I don't know. Thank you!
 
Pens are just smaller amounts than a full vial. It makes it so you can use up a larger portion of the insulin before it goes bad.
I don't know if they're available for Novulin N, I'm only familiar with Lantus.



If you're still struggling once this weather clears out, let me know. I might be able to find a way to get up there at some point. I do have a business trip coming up, so it would have to be worked around that.

How sweet of you! I do hope I can get a grip on myself before I need that much help, but it might come to that.

Thanks for explaining about pens. I am asking several people the same questions, and you are all being so patient with me. Thank you.
 
It's simple to draw your insulin from the pen. You use it just like a vial. You do not use the pen needles that humans use, just regular u100 syringes. Check out the link I gave you in post #50. There's a video as well as lots of great info on Lantus.
 
You could see if you can pay a vet tech (off their employer's clock) to come to your house to go through everything with you and Callie. A lot of them do that on the side for catsitting already, so the only difference here is that you would be home, but you could pay what they would normally get for a catsitting visit. And then you might also be able to show them around so that they would be able to sit for you in the future :)

This is a really good idea, although when I told my vet I wanted to start hometesting, he really discouraged it, saying it could be dangerous. I didn't ask why because we were in the waiting room. So I don't know how that would go over. But I am going to consider it. Thanks! I especially like the idea of a tech catsitting at our house and giving the injections since then Callie wouldn't have to be kenneled at the vet. Much less stressful for her! Thanks for a great idea.

We were going to go to my daughter's after Christmas (plans changed because another daughter needed surgery), but I was going to bring Callie along so I could care for her, but sometimes that just doesn't work out. So your idea is a good option.
 
Pens are just smaller amounts than a full vial. It makes it so you can use up a larger portion of the insulin before it goes bad.
I don't know if they're available for Novulin N, I'm only familiar with Lantus.



If you're still struggling once this weather clears out, let me know. I might be able to find a way to get up there at some point. I do have a business trip coming up, so it would have to be worked around that.

I thought I replied to this to thank you for the really sweet offer, but then I see no reply. Anyway thank you so much. I am hoping I can get a grip on myself and get it done tonight.
 
If you switch to Lantus (good choice,BTW) order the pack of 5 insulin pens. Each pen is like a mini vial of 300units. They will last a long time if refrigerated. Do not shake or roll them, just insert the syringe needle into the rubber stopper.
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...insulin-info-handling-drawing-fine-doses.151/

I didn't notice this site you posted before. It is a good one and answered lots of questions. Thank you. Sorry I didn't pay close enough attention to it at first.
 
Okay, one more question and then I'll leave everyone alone (just for the night though. LOL) I just read where you need to be careful to get the insulin in the fat layer and not the skin or the muscle. Maybe I have been getting it just into the skin since I am injecting only just under the skin. I'm not putting the needle all the way in. Am I supposed to put the needle all the way in? I can't tell from the picture of injections how are the needle goes in.
 
I thought I replied to this to thank you for the really sweet offer, but then I see no reply. Anyway thank you so much. I am hoping I can get a grip on myself and get it done tonight.

You did reply above :) but that's okay.
You're very welcome, and I do sincerely mean it - don't be afraid to ask if you can't get through it.

But the first time is the worst, because we haven't figured out what we're doing yet! Each one after that gets easier, and before you know it you are barely even thinking about it anymore.

Also, a bit of advice, don't be discouraged if you manage to prick her but can't get the drop of blood onto the strip. It happens to all of us - especially in the beginning. We are thinking about getting through the prick and not planning for what comes next. Then they shake their heads and the droplet goes flying, or they bolt away, or whatever and we don't get a reading. It's okay. The next time you try the prick will be a little easier and then you can start worrying about the next part.
 
You did reply above :) but that's okay.
You're very welcome, and I do sincerely mean it - don't be afraid to ask if you can't get through it.

But the first time is the worst, because we haven't figured out what we're doing yet! Each one after that gets easier, and before you know it you are barely even thinking about it anymore.

Also, a bit of advice, don't be discouraged if you manage to prick her but can't get the drop of blood onto the strip. It happens to all of us - especially in the beginning. We are thinking about getting through the prick and not planning for what comes next. Then they shake their heads and the droplet goes flying, or they bolt away, or whatever and we don't get a reading. It's okay. The next time you try the prick will be a little easier and then you can start worrying about the next part.

Thanks for the encouragement. Real quick how do you know you are getting the insulin in the fat layer and not just the skin or the muscle. Do you stick the needle all the way in?
I have been injecting in the tent of skin and I can see the bump of the insulin. None is coming out of the skin, but I am not putting the needle all the way in. Is that right?
 
If you're injecting into your tent, roughly parallel to Callie's back, you should be getting in the right spot. It doesn't matter how far in the needle is, that is a large space*
The goal is to get it right beneath the layer of skin, so as long as you are inside your tent, you've succeeded.
If you are aiming downward (instead of parallel to the back) you risk hitting muscle instead. If your tent is too small, you risk coming out the other side. But if you're tenting nicely, and injecting inside the tent, you should be good.
Think of it literally like a tent, like one you'd go camping in. You're creating a big empty cavern in there, surrounded by skin on top and muscle below. As long as you are somewhere inside that empty space, you're where you need to be.

Personally, when I was giving insulin I always pushed the needle all the way in, to be certain I wasn't giving a fur shot.


*Just for reference, I put an entire ~0.4 cups (100 ml) of fluid into that space on my two twice a week!! And I use a needle that's significantly bigger than an insulin needle to do it. It can certainly handle the tiny insulin needle.
 
Hi @Glennie,
Just wanted to check in, how are you and Callie doing?

How sweet of you to check on us! Callie is fine. Her blood draw update: Wed. night I used the warm sock and the lancing device (on 3) twice on her right ear, and then once again with just the lancet without the device. (Before starting I watched videos again and looked at the sweet spot picture.) I couldn't get enough blood on any of those 3 pokes. But I was determined, and so we went to her left ear. I used the lancet device again (on 4), went all the way through her ear, and I did get enough blood for a test. But then I messed that up with not having the test strip completely in the right way. I did two tests on my own blood to practice with the glucometer, but by then Callie had had it with me. She hid under the bed right in the middle so I couldn't reach her, and refused to get near me.

So I gave up. I gave her Thursday and Friday off. Thursday she didn't feel well so I watched her really closely. but yesterday she seemed better and even came out to get her shot without me hunting her down. I'm going to try again today, but on her pad this time. I will go over the pad instructions again before I try. I hope my very sweet and helpful daughter doesn't give up on me along with my sweet kitty.

So I hope to post that I got it right later today. I am going to order the Lantus from Mark's Maine Pharmacy on Monday. Thanks for checking on us. That is so thoughtful of you and means a lot.
 
It sound like you are making progress, so don't get frustrated! Even if you weren't able to test yet, getting some blood on the ear is a great start! The rest will come. Be patient with yourself, you're learning a new skill and it takes some time to coordinate it.

I've never done a paw test so I can't advise you there, but I'm sure there are others who can if you have any problems with it.

If you do decide to go back to her ears to try, consider trying the 28G (alternate testing site) lancets - they are larger needles and will get blood a bit easier. Also consider that her ears will start to bleed more easily after you've been doing it for a while, so it gets better.

It sounds like Callie is very patient with you if she let you do 4 pokes and all the other messing around with her ears :) She knows you're trying to help her!
If you aren't already, consider using a new lancet when re-poking - they get a little dull after one or two attempts and it becomes more difficult to penetrate the skin. Usually if I don't get blood in a second attempt, I get a fresh lancet for the third. It just makes things a little bit easier.

Let us know how things go later!
 
It sound like you are making progress, so don't get frustrated! Even if you weren't able to test yet, getting some blood on the ear is a great start! The rest will come. Be patient with yourself, you're learning a new skill and it takes some time to coordinate it.

I've never done a paw test so I can't advise you there, but I'm sure there are others who can if you have any problems with it.

If you do decide to go back to her ears to try, consider trying the 28G (alternate testing site) lancets - they are larger needles and will get blood a bit easier. Also consider that her ears will start to bleed more easily after you've been doing it for a while, so it gets better.

It sounds like Callie is very patient with you if she let you do 4 pokes and all the other messing around with her ears :) She knows you're trying to help her!
If you aren't already, consider using a new lancet when re-poking - they get a little dull after one or two attempts and it becomes more difficult to penetrate the skin. Usually if I don't get blood in a second attempt, I get a fresh lancet for the third. It just makes things a little bit easier.

Let us know how things go later!

Your words of encouragement really help with the frustration. :) It's good to know that even someone experienced doesn't get blood or success the first time every time.

I did try to find 28G lancets, but none were available in the ReliOn brand at Walmart. I wasn't sure how different lancets would work in that device, (probably fine, but not sure) and the lines for consults were long.

How about that?! I was using a different lancet after every second try! ;) I didn't want to hurt her anymore than I already was.

Callie is a sweetheart. She really does seem to know I'm trying to help her feel better. So when she hid, I knew she'd really had it with me. Will let you know what happens later...Thanks!
 
Last night I did get blood out of Callie's paw, but it wasn't enough to get a reading. I need to get the bigger lancets before I try again. Last night I was calm so that helped. The last two times I've tried to do the blood testing, she won't eat for several hours after. So I am delaying the insulin shot till she'll eat. I think that's the right thing to do?

Thanks to everyone for sharing all the wisdom and insight you've gained because of going through this before me. More Callie updates later...
 
It's simple to draw your insulin from the pen. You use it just like a vial. You do not use the pen needles that humans use, just regular u100 syringes. Check out the link I gave you in post #50. There's a video as well as lots of great info on Lantus.
The Lantus video was really good as was the information. It will help a lot. Thanks for the nudge to watch the link that I missed the first time.
 
Last night I did get blood out of Callie's paw, but it wasn't enough to get a reading. I need to get the bigger lancets before I try again. Last night I was calm so that helped. The last two times I've tried to do the blood testing, she won't eat for several hours after. So I am delaying the insulin shot till she'll eat. I think that's the right thing to do?

Thanks to everyone for sharing all the wisdom and insight you've gained because of going through this before me. More Callie updates later...

Since you're using Novolin, it is important that she eat before insulin. Keep working on the testing. It sounds like you're making progress. It will get easier, I promise! Also keep asking questions. Knowledge of FD will help you help Callie.
 
Callie starts on Lantus tonight. I called Mark's Marine Pharmacy and sent them her prescription. After reading the cautions about mailing it out in the heat and cold, I just broke down and bought a vial from Wal-Mart. I'll order from the other place in the spring as they suggested. I'm going to read the site on here about Lantus again.

I checked for 28G lancets when I was picking up the Lantus, but they still don't have any. I'll look again at Walgreens tomorrow or later today. I still haven't been successful at testing. And with Callie refusing to eat after testing, it's hard to try over and over.

I don't know how switching from Novulin N to Lantus will affect her BG. The Novulin N wasn't slowing down the excess drinking and urination. The vet said I could increase the dose of the N, but after reading about the rapid BG drop with N and not being able to test, I was hesitant about increasing the dose.

Thank you!
 
Hi @Glennie,
Just wanted to check in, how are you and Callie doing?

Success! With the help of my husband and youngest daughter (my heroes today) I was able to get a successful BG test done. Yes and Callie helped, too! Anyway just wanted to thank everyone for all the tips and encouragement. Hopefully next one won't be quite so hard. Her BG was high (391) +6 hours from 1.5U. It was probably more like 1.25u because of trying to get the bubbles out from 2u. It slipped up a bit farther than I wanted. Thanks again!
 
Success! With the help of my husband and youngest daughter (my heroes today) I was able to get a successful BG test done. Yes and Callie helped, too! Anyway just wanted to thank everyone for all the tips and encouragement. Hopefully next one won't be quite so hard. Her BG was high (391) +6 hours from 1.5U. It was probably more like 1.25u because of trying to get the bubbles out from 2u. It slipped up a bit farther than I wanted. Thanks again!
Hurray for getting this first one out of the way! It'll get easier! :D
 
It will get easier, the more you do!
Next, you need to get a SS set up
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/fdmb-spreadsheet-instructions.130337/
If you want help setting it up, just ask and I'll tag someone to do it for you. It really makes it easier to see how the insulin is working. When I showed it to my vet he was very impressed.
Marje said she would set up the SS for me so I sent her the requested info. So sweet of her. So sweet of all of you for the help, encouragement and understanding. I am hoping the BG's get easier, as everyone keep assuring me. :)
 
Yay!! Congrats! It only gets easier from here! You'll feel so much better once you start testing regularly and get a more thorough understanding of what's happening inside Callie's body, and can start to respond to her needs.
 
Yay!! Congrats! It only gets easier from here! You'll feel so much better once you start testing regularly and get a more thorough understanding of what's happening inside Callie's body, and can start to respond to her needs.
Thanks again for offering to come all this way to help me. You're so sweet!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top