totallybeachin
Active Member
Hey all!
Thanks for all the hugs, prayers and support.
I was not sure whether to post this over in the think tank, or here, but, Callie Mae is back on the juice with the prednisolone and I am trying a few homeopathic treatments and wanted to get some feedback.
I read about an herbal suppliment called Essiac that reportedly helps with cancer, as well as a *diet* called the Budwig Diet.
The essiac is a powder that gets brewed into a tea, and I started giving her a little less than an ounce a day, by mixing it up with crushed up freeze dried salmon. Today is the third day for that. The first day, she wasn't real fond of the idea that her salmon tasted different, but she ate most of it.
The second day, she only hesitated a second and ate all but a few pieces stuck around the edges of the bowl. Tonight, she didn't mind at all that it was in there.
What is Essiac?
From what I have researched, it consists of four plants. It should be taken 2 hours before a meal, or 1 hour after, basically, an empty stomach. It is said that it shrinks tumors, builds the immune system helps with diabetes, and helps with cancer. They can't actually claim it cures cancer, but there are testimonials. Of course, there are naysayers as well. I've researched both sides and feel comfortable with my decision to give it a try.
The Budwig Diet?---
It consist of flaxseed oil and cottage cheese. It is also a cancer *treatment*. Again, same as above. Can't claim it cures anything, but lots of testimonials. I have not started this yet, I am waiting for an order of Organic Flaxseed Oil that I purchased off the internet. The protocol is 1 tbsp. of oil mixed with low fat cottage cheese. Callie Mae is not a dairy cat. She has never been one to want a little milk or anything, so I will most likely try the advice offered on a website suggesting mixing it with a little juice from canned salmon, with a few meat chunks mixed in.
My question as far as the Budwig diet, can cats eat cottage cheese? Is it safe for diabetics?
This is where we are right now.
Prednisolone- 1.65ml twice daily for 5 days--we are on day 3. (First day was prednisone, then we switched her to the other, and she has had that for 2 days.)
Essiac tea, little less than an ounce., tonight is 3rd night.
BG:
So I knew her BG would go up with the steroids, but I hadn't check her until today. I didn't know how fast acting it would be. Here is her latest,
5/4--98 @ pmps
5/13--81 pmps (diagnosed next day)
5/18--369 +4 (amps)
324 + 11 (amps) I gave her the tea mixture @ this time
344 pmps--I gave her .80 I wanted to give her 1 unit, but just decided to go with the lower dose just to see how it goes with the tea, and I haven't given her insulin since a her UTI in Feb. Going to test her again around +2--2.5 or so.
She usual hit her nadir fairly early (around 3-4).
PLUS, I am using an old bottle of PZI. I got it around the first week of February (UTI). I don't know what kind of results to expect. If I don't get any reaction from the insulin, I won't be able to get a new bottle until Tuesday!
If I missed anything, I'll post it next time.
Sorry this post is so long. I wanted to get it all out there.
Any thoughts, comments or suggestions? Also, please respond re: the cottage cheese issue if anyone knows.
nailbite_smile
Thanks for all the hugs, prayers and support.
I was not sure whether to post this over in the think tank, or here, but, Callie Mae is back on the juice with the prednisolone and I am trying a few homeopathic treatments and wanted to get some feedback.
I read about an herbal suppliment called Essiac that reportedly helps with cancer, as well as a *diet* called the Budwig Diet.
The essiac is a powder that gets brewed into a tea, and I started giving her a little less than an ounce a day, by mixing it up with crushed up freeze dried salmon. Today is the third day for that. The first day, she wasn't real fond of the idea that her salmon tasted different, but she ate most of it.
The second day, she only hesitated a second and ate all but a few pieces stuck around the edges of the bowl. Tonight, she didn't mind at all that it was in there.
What is Essiac?
From what I have researched, it consists of four plants. It should be taken 2 hours before a meal, or 1 hour after, basically, an empty stomach. It is said that it shrinks tumors, builds the immune system helps with diabetes, and helps with cancer. They can't actually claim it cures cancer, but there are testimonials. Of course, there are naysayers as well. I've researched both sides and feel comfortable with my decision to give it a try.
The Budwig Diet?---
It consist of flaxseed oil and cottage cheese. It is also a cancer *treatment*. Again, same as above. Can't claim it cures anything, but lots of testimonials. I have not started this yet, I am waiting for an order of Organic Flaxseed Oil that I purchased off the internet. The protocol is 1 tbsp. of oil mixed with low fat cottage cheese. Callie Mae is not a dairy cat. She has never been one to want a little milk or anything, so I will most likely try the advice offered on a website suggesting mixing it with a little juice from canned salmon, with a few meat chunks mixed in.
My question as far as the Budwig diet, can cats eat cottage cheese? Is it safe for diabetics?
This is where we are right now.
Prednisolone- 1.65ml twice daily for 5 days--we are on day 3. (First day was prednisone, then we switched her to the other, and she has had that for 2 days.)
Essiac tea, little less than an ounce., tonight is 3rd night.
BG:
So I knew her BG would go up with the steroids, but I hadn't check her until today. I didn't know how fast acting it would be. Here is her latest,
5/4--98 @ pmps
5/13--81 pmps (diagnosed next day)
5/18--369 +4 (amps)
324 + 11 (amps) I gave her the tea mixture @ this time
344 pmps--I gave her .80 I wanted to give her 1 unit, but just decided to go with the lower dose just to see how it goes with the tea, and I haven't given her insulin since a her UTI in Feb. Going to test her again around +2--2.5 or so.
She usual hit her nadir fairly early (around 3-4).
PLUS, I am using an old bottle of PZI. I got it around the first week of February (UTI). I don't know what kind of results to expect. If I don't get any reaction from the insulin, I won't be able to get a new bottle until Tuesday!

If I missed anything, I'll post it next time.
Sorry this post is so long. I wanted to get it all out there.
Any thoughts, comments or suggestions? Also, please respond re: the cottage cheese issue if anyone knows.
nailbite_smile