Callie Mae's "treatment"

Status
Not open for further replies.

totallybeachin

Member Since 2011
Hey all!

Thanks for all the hugs, prayers and support.
I was not sure whether to post this over in the think tank, or here, but, Callie Mae is back on the juice with the prednisolone and I am trying a few homeopathic treatments and wanted to get some feedback.

I read about an herbal suppliment called Essiac that reportedly helps with cancer, as well as a *diet* called the Budwig Diet.

The essiac is a powder that gets brewed into a tea, and I started giving her a little less than an ounce a day, by mixing it up with crushed up freeze dried salmon. Today is the third day for that. The first day, she wasn't real fond of the idea that her salmon tasted different, but she ate most of it.
The second day, she only hesitated a second and ate all but a few pieces stuck around the edges of the bowl. Tonight, she didn't mind at all that it was in there.

What is Essiac?
From what I have researched, it consists of four plants. It should be taken 2 hours before a meal, or 1 hour after, basically, an empty stomach. It is said that it shrinks tumors, builds the immune system helps with diabetes, and helps with cancer. They can't actually claim it cures cancer, but there are testimonials. Of course, there are naysayers as well. I've researched both sides and feel comfortable with my decision to give it a try.

The Budwig Diet?---
It consist of flaxseed oil and cottage cheese. It is also a cancer *treatment*. Again, same as above. Can't claim it cures anything, but lots of testimonials. I have not started this yet, I am waiting for an order of Organic Flaxseed Oil that I purchased off the internet. The protocol is 1 tbsp. of oil mixed with low fat cottage cheese. Callie Mae is not a dairy cat. She has never been one to want a little milk or anything, so I will most likely try the advice offered on a website suggesting mixing it with a little juice from canned salmon, with a few meat chunks mixed in.

My question as far as the Budwig diet, can cats eat cottage cheese? Is it safe for diabetics?

This is where we are right now.
Prednisolone- 1.65ml twice daily for 5 days--we are on day 3. (First day was prednisone, then we switched her to the other, and she has had that for 2 days.)
Essiac tea, little less than an ounce., tonight is 3rd night.
BG:
So I knew her BG would go up with the steroids, but I hadn't check her until today. I didn't know how fast acting it would be. Here is her latest,
5/4--98 @ pmps
5/13--81 pmps (diagnosed next day)
5/18--369 +4 (amps)
324 + 11 (amps) I gave her the tea mixture @ this time
344 pmps--I gave her .80 I wanted to give her 1 unit, but just decided to go with the lower dose just to see how it goes with the tea, and I haven't given her insulin since a her UTI in Feb. Going to test her again around +2--2.5 or so.
She usual hit her nadir fairly early (around 3-4).
PLUS, I am using an old bottle of PZI. I got it around the first week of February (UTI). I don't know what kind of results to expect. If I don't get any reaction from the insulin, I won't be able to get a new bottle until Tuesday! :o

If I missed anything, I'll post it next time.
Sorry this post is so long. I wanted to get it all out there.
Any thoughts, comments or suggestions? Also, please respond re: the cottage cheese issue if anyone knows.
nailbite_smile
 
Wow! Not even one comment on the cottage cheese question.

Am I crossing the line by my post?
I get that my method isn't exactly traditional, and isn't *approved* by the government, but I pray to God every day, and he is the one that gave me the herbs.
I thought some folks would be interested in my journey, finding/progress, if we have any.
We all love our fur babies and want to help them and do what's best for them.
If there is even a remote chance that something can help her, I am going to do it. I am not sorry if this seems a bit much to someone else.

I will refrain from future postings on the subject since it seems inappropriate. However, I will post a follow up in a couple weeks when I go back to the vet for another x-ray and some blood work. Perhaps if I have something good to report, someone else may benefit. Callie Mae is not the first cat to be diagnosed with cancer, and she certainly won't be the last.

Love and hugs to all. Please do still keep us in your thoughts and prayers
 
Hi totallybeachin

I think that

1) people didn't answer about the cottage cheese because they may not know if cats do ok or not (BTW it's hit or miss -- many cats are lactose intolerant. It is not a balanced food, of course.)
2) you posted first on friday night (USA time) and second early on Saturday morning, so it's much more likely that people didn't see your post because they were busy or sleeping (like I wish I were!). I don't see a cause for you to be indignant because no one answered your post overnight. Most people on the board are in the US.

I am not on the board every day so I don't know your cat's background (or your name), and you haven't mentioned what type of cancer your cat has in this thread. I think that cancers differ among types, so no one treatment is best for every cancer, and cats can have strong differences with humans in terms of just about everything (metabolism, immune response, etc.) so to me, an advertised human cure is even less likely to work in cats. When my cat and my dog had cancer, I went with treatments that had been validated (by actual recorded and measurable results) in each species. Also I tried to feed low carb when they were well, and anything they wanted when they weren't eating as well. I would not risk diarrhea (from lactose intolerance) in either of them as diarrhea can quickly cause dehydration and get their intestinal flora off-balance.

Best of luck. Please do let us know what helps your cat.
 
Here is an abstract of flaxseed oil and cats.
http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/21440312

Regarding lactose in cottage cheese:
"Cottage cheese, theoretically, should be low in lactose since it's traditional preparation is heating fermented milk until the curds clump. However most cottage cheeses sold in North America today are "creamed", meaning that cream, milk or milk solids are added to the cottage cheese. Usually among the plethora of adulterated cottage cheese products, one can find cultured dry cottage cheese (often packaged in a plastic bag) that is quite safe to use as an ingredient in a lactose free diet."

Above from:
http://www.telusplanet.net/public/ekende/lactose.htm
 
As long as there are not any sugars in the cottage cheese, then it would be considered low carb. The bigger question is whether the cat can eat it (the lactose intolerance issue). But as far as diabetic friendly, read the label on the package and if it lists carbs or sugars then it probably isn't diabetic friendly.
 
Lactaid will break down any lactose (milk sugar) remaining in the product if you get the powder, mix it up, and give it some time to work. Whether your cat will eat that or not, who knows.

Some of the stuff I have read on cancer is that high protein is the way to go, as cancer will "grab" the glucose and carbs to help it grow. So, fewer carbs, more protein, may help slow its growth.

Neoplasene is another non-traditional, and not FDA approved approach to treating cancers. I have not used it myself, only read about it when another of my cats had cancer. The research on it is limited, without large, double-blinded, clinical trials. I'd probably reserve it for when nothing else was working.

And some research has used intravenous Vitamin C (because you can't consume enough of it orally) with limited positive results. Again, no good clinical trials.

ps I've been fighting with the leftovers of an asthma flare, plus studying for a 5 credit pathophysiology class, and preparing for surgery - I haven't been on much.
 
Both Essiac and the Budwig diet are great cancer treatments for many humans, but I don't have much knowledge about their application to cats. Cantron/Protocel is another option you might want to look into. Homeopathy is an excellent support for whatever other treatments you are using.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top