Callie Mae--falling to fast?

Status
Not open for further replies.

totallybeachin

Active Member
It was requested that I start this thread, not specifically here, but since my kitty is on PZI, I thought it appropriate.
PMPS was 316. My vet has had me upping the dose since dx and as of this pm, she is at 9U!
At +2 she had dropped to 176.
Other than going from 8U to 9, the only thing I have changed was her diet. A little anyway. I want to get her on wet food. She is currently on Hill's prescription dry food. At dinnertime, I gave her her usual meal, but I also put out about 1/3 of a can of Special Kitty canned food. She ate some of it, a few bites here, a few bites there, but I also noticed she was eating some of her dry.
I am about to test her again in about 10 minutes for a +4 reading, and I am nervous and scared what I may find. Hopefully (*fingers crossed*) her numbers will be okay.
Any thoughts or advice?
 
I'm new here & cannot help you with the dosing hopefully someone will be on soon & can help you more. I think I read some of your post over on the health board? I think I would take the can food up & give her the dry though. Have you seen the post about How to treat Hypos? Go over to the health board & print that out just in case.
 
getting down there. not in danger territory for sure yet but you've got a few hours to go still.

fwiw, i'd still post on the health forum for tonight simply because of the current situation. not as many will see you over here in the isg and if it gets too low and noone sees you in time, that just wouldn't be good so in all honesty, i'd keep posting on the health forum too tonight ok.

either one is fine but if you don't get much quick reply here, please please go right over to the health forum where you were posting before and post there ok.
 
Thanks guys. will do.
I have printed out the hypo sheet and put it on the fridge. Not that I'm going to need it ***fingers crossed***!
I will keep posting over there just in case. I just wasn't sure where was best. I was told in the other thread to make a new post and I just "assumed" the PZI place would be best. Thanks for letting me know this thread isn't the right place to be. So much to learn!!!
Thanks again to both of you. :-D
 
This board is not as busy as Health, especially later at night. Your numbers are still in a safe range. You don't need to be nervous until you get down in the 50s. If you get that low, you should post on Health where more people will see your post.

As Cindy said, you need to be vigilant till at least 6 hours after the shot. Hopefully by then he will be headed up.

If you are going to feed wet, you definitely need to reduce that dose!

I will keep an eye out for you for the next hour on both boards.
 
cool! yeah, either place is fine i just wanted to make sure you knew that if things got nasty, you'll be more visible on the health forum. or since sue sees you, you'll be fine here unless she has to go to bed for instance. if she does, or everyone does, then go back to health for help on into the night. :smile: after this night is over then regular day to day dosing here in the isg would be best as they can help you figure out ideal dosing, food, etc......

just tonight is a bit of a unique situation :o

fwiw, sue, i have a virus and a dead computer at home so won't be around probably until back here at work on monday, unless somehow i figure out the magic command for fixing it this weekend. :sad:
 
For her to be dropping that quickly tells me that the preshot number was a zoom and/or bounce to some extent. For you to get the same drop from 400s to 200s on 1u as you have been getting on 7u tells me the dose is too high. I have not been over to health yet to read what people are posting there, so I apologize if I am redundant!

Also, increasing by a whole unit at a time can easily cause you to miss her optimal dose. Some of us see big changes with only a 0.2u or 0.25u change, so a 1u change can easily overshoot and cause you from going from not enough insulin to too much insulin and you see the exact same numbers. What sort of dose did you start out on? Did you guys always raise the dose by 1u every few days?
 
Kelly & Oscar said:
For her to be dropping that quickly tells me that the preshot number was a zoom and/or bounce to some extent. For you to get the same drop from 400s to 200s on 1u as you have been getting on 7u tells me the dose is too high. I have not been over to health yet to read what people are posting there, so I apologize if I am redundant!

Also, increasing by a whole unit at a time can easily cause you to miss her optimal dose. Some of us see big changes with only a 0.2u or 0.25u change, so a 1u change can easily overshoot and cause you from going from not enough insulin to too much insulin and you see the exact same numbers. What sort of dose did you start out on? Did you guys always raise the dose by 1u every few days?

She started out on 5U when she was dx. And the vet increased her dose by 1u everytime. All the way up to 9U just yesterday. I did giver her that dose last night with some monitoring and support from this place. What a hectic night!

This morning I changed everything around at the advice found here and I gave her 1U with a wet diet. Her ss is updated with my numbers so far. Would you take a look and tell me what you think?
 
I read your post over in Health this am. Looks like a good start for one unit. Did you get the ketone strips and a test in? If you have trouble catching her in the act, you can empty out the litter box and refill it with aquarium gravel or kidney beans or ripped paper. Anything the urine won't soak into. Leave her with it for a while till she goes and then whip in and test the urine.

It is important that she eat. Have you tried warming up the wet so it is nice and stinky?
 
Haven't tried the warming. Will do that with the next batch. Would do it now, as this bolw is crusty, but she's sleeping under the bed. Just napping. I made sure!
And yes, I went and got some keta diastx last night. Have tested her. Strips read negative. That's a good sign.
I have to run out for just a bit, but will check back when I return. Also going to do another bg when I return.
I hope I can get a handle on this. My vet will be SHOCKED :shock: :shock: when I report back in 5 days about her 9U!!!
Little does he know I will be reporting my findings based on a wet diet and 1U!!! :mrgreen:
 
Good for you for dropping your dose to 1unit. Switching her to a wet low carb food can dramatically reduce her bg's over night.

Your +3 today is still a little steep so if you can I would get another spot test at +4 or +5, it will be great information to show you how the 1 unit is working for her.

I'm glad you came through a pretty rough night ok, we were all rooting for you.

Robin
 
You are doing a great job - sliding right down this incredibly steep learning curve.

Testing for ketones a couple times a week is probably enough - unless you get a trace reading.

Did we nag you yet about getting a spreadsheet up? It is a great way for you to see patterns and trends, and when you ask for dose advice, we can see your dosing history at a glance. Here are the directions: viewtopic.php?f=6&t=18207 It is slow to load and can be hard to figure out, so if you need help, just ask.

When you want dosing advice, this forum is the place to ask. It is a small group but there are usually several people on in the morning and late afternoon or evening to help. If you have an emergency, be sure to post on Health as there will be more people to respond.
 
Sue and Oliver (GA) said:
You are doing a great job - sliding right down this incredibly steep learning curve.

Testing for ketones a couple times a week is probably enough - unless you get a trace reading.

Did we nag you yet about getting a spreadsheet up? It is a great way for you to see patterns and trends, and when you ask for dose advice, we can see your dosing history at a glance. Here are the directions: viewtopic.php?f=6&t=18207 It is slow to load and can be hard to figure out, so if you need help, just ask.

When you want dosing advice, this forum is the place to ask. It is a small group but there are usually several people on in the morning and late afternoon or evening to help. If you have an emergency, be sure to post on Health as there will be more people to respond.

Silly Willy! I am ahead of you on this one. Notice in my sig. line. "Callie Mae's SS"???!!! :lol:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top