Callie Mae 5/8

Status
Not open for further replies.

totallybeachin

Active Member
Well, her amps was 259! I don't think I ever saw numbers like that on 5-8U!
I gave her some dry kibble mixed with the wet for breakfast, so I'm thinking she'll be ok for for 1U dose. I'm kinda scared though, as she's never tested that low pre-shot. I know many of you say don't shoot below 200, and she tested 259, but hey. This is scary!
I shot in about 15 minutes. If anyone's up and has any advice, I certainly appreciate it. :smile:
 
Looking good! Congrats on the yellow number preshot!!! I see you went with 1u this morning - that's what I would have suggested anyway :-D Can't wait to see what she does with it today!
 
Beautiful AMPS, will you be able to get some spot checks in today, it will be great information to see what the 1 unit will do on this PS.

I know it's scary when you start seeing lower #'s than you're used to seeing but it will be ok.

If you want advise about the dose post your PS# early so people will have time to see it and respond. By posting your spot checks we can get a sense of where you are headed and can coach you throughout the day.

You're doing great.

Robin
 
Agree - nice number! And good choice on the dose. As Robin says, some numbers mid cycle today would be great. This early time with a new dose is all about getting numbers and seeing how the insulin works.

How is she doing with the wet? Will she eat it if you mix in a little dry? You do want to be careful not to leave the wet with dry mixed in out for the whole day - dry food can mold. I don't know how fast that could happen, but just wise to be careful.
 
Well,
her +3 is 259!! :?:
I had to mix some dry with wet to get her to eat. She ate as much as the crunchy as she could PICK OUT of the wet and left the rest sitting there. Every trip towards the kitchen I get that "feed me" meow! Must be that little bit of dry that is keeping her numbers up there? If not, I'm stumped.
Gotta figure out a way for her to eat the wet. Have tried all the suggestions so far except the fortiflora. I have to order that, otherwise I would be out buying some now.
Gonna try a different brand and a different flavor.
What ever I can do to please my princess! She just seems hellbent on wanting to continue that dry!
 
Don't get stuck on one number. Yes, it could be the dry, or it may be that she has decided to react a little slower to the insulin this am.

Have you tried some of the crunchier treat stuff - like freeze dried salmon or chicken? Pure Bites is one of the brands. Maybe that would satisfy her crunchy need when mixed with the wet. And if you are desparate - because she does need to eat - I think Evo is the lowest dry carb food. I would not give in yet and feed her only that, but you could mix it or crumble it on top. At least she would be getting lower carb dry when she gets it.

And yes, lots of people had to buy one can of a bunch of different brands and flavors before they found one their princess would eat. :mrgreen:
 
And some cats are crazy for the FF appetizers. It is not a complete meal but if she is one that loves those, you could mix it with regular food for a while.
 
Sounds like things are going well, personally I would not worry about getting a lot of spot checks with dry in the mix - the numbers are likely to be on the higher side. If you can get one every cycle or two for safety checking I think that would be plenty. Once the dry is gone, then you will want to get more checks in (on some days) to really get a good picture. If you want to get more that is fine :) but I know testing can be tough at first, and test strips get expensive, so I wouldn't want you to be stressed about that.

I think for most of us it took quite a bit of experimenting to get food they like & that agrees well with them. I think some also use parmesan cheese (? I may have that wrong) as a tempter to sprinkle on top. For Fortiflora I would see if someone can send you a few sample packets - my guy wouldn't touch it, and I have a civvie who LOVED it for like a week and then was over it.
 
I don't even use PZI but I thought I would pop in to say hi and good luck and congratulate you guys on those really nice 1unit numbers!
 
I know it seems counter intuitive, but Maisey and Vinney wouldn't tough wet food until I made it soupy. Vinney still likes his more like gravy, but now Maisey only needs a little water added.
 
WOW! All I can say is WOW!
What a HUGE difference diet alone makes.
The more I think about it, the more I think I could have KILLED my cat on all that insulin. Thank GOD for you guys. For sure.
Callie Mae's pmps is 217!
All in just one day!
I'm going to have her slimmed down in no time, and if I'm lucky enough, I may be one among you that gets to type "OTJ"!
You guys are just incredible. Really.
I can't wait till I report back to the Dr.
 
Looking good. That pmps is pretty close to our cut off of 200, so I would get some tests in this evening, just to make sure she doesn't go too low. It is so hard to know in the beginning how they will react - particularly when the lo carb food is in the mix. You and she are doing so well! Yes, your vet should be surprised. Hope he decides to start kitties on lower doses!
 
Yes. I am most definitely going to get some readings. I wonder if I should wait till +3 and see where she is and perhaps not have to do another one, or if I should go ahead at +2 and +4.
Decisions, decisions.
Any input is greatly appreciated.
I also forgot to mention due to my numbers excitement that she ate ALL her dinner. I only gave her wet, and it is a little on the high carb side, but overalll I think she did great.
I just have to continue being diligent and seek the lower carb stuff.
I have some returns to make tomorrow, but, I will go ahead and use some of what I bought. She seems to like it, which is important to me right now with wanting to cut her off the dry, and because I purchased the foods in the variety packs I won't be able to return the one that is open.
All in all, I still feel like it was a good day.
Any thoughts on whether I should go at +2 and +4 or +3? I'll add that if I go the +3 and her numbers are to scary for me to be comfortable, I have no problem resigning myself checking again at +6 or even later if need be.
I just have this "feeling" all is going to be good!!! :mrgreen:
 
I would say a +3 and +4 to see where you are. The first 2 hours they are usually rising from the food.

And you should start getting ready to lower the dose. Practice measuring smaller doses using water in the syringe.

You guys are doing awesome.
 
I would do a +3 and if it looks fine, maybe you can relax for the evening. A +6 will gvie you great data, but sleep is good too.......

Higher carb food is better than any dry. The trick is to get her eating it and then mix in some of the lower carb, or find a lower carb she likes. So great she is eating!
 
Ha, ha. Posted the same time as Robin. Don't you love it when we say something completely different? At least we agree on the +3 :mrgreen:
 
Thanks guys for all your support.
I think I will do a +2, +4 and +6 just so I can see where she's going. If her ears will cooperate that is!
Why not?!
I'll find a good flick (or 2) on netflix and whip up a big bowl of popcorn.
 
Rob & Harley said:
I would say a +3 and +4 to see where you are. The first 2 hours they are usually rising from the food.

And you should start getting ready to lower the dose. Practice measuring smaller doses using water in the syringe.

You guys are doing awesome.

I was thinking about this earlier. The syringes I have don't have marks on them in anything smaller that 1U. How can I accurately measure half and quarter doses?
 
Sue, what did we say that was completely different?

Walmart sells U100 syringes with 1/2 unit markings,

Relion Insulin Syringes
Capacity - 3/10ml Doses up to 30 units.
Guage - 31G
Length - 8mm Short needle.
UPC Bar Code - 6 81131 31179 3

You will have to print out the conversion chart and keep it at hand at shot time and check it twice before injecting.

When you're switched over to all wet low carb you may start needing to lower your dose.

If you're prepared ahead of time it won't be so nerve racking with the time comes.
 
lol..........waiting on the popcorn until later.
Just started a classic---One flew over the cuckoo's nest........... :lol:
 
Yay, I am so happy for you guys you are getting awesome results and she ate all her dinner, that is so great. I wouldn't worry about the 143, but I am glad you will be getting in another spot check in an hour or so (? that's what I'd do). If you get a # that scares you, remember to post on Health for a quick response.

You may want to reduce your dose a little bit in the morning, especially if there is less dry in the mix. That's a pretty big drop for a +2. I would try to eyeball 0.75, or at least something a little under the 1u.

Just think 2 nights ago it was similar #s on 9u :shock: . If you do get scary #s tonight, I would pull the dry food back out and have her eat some of that. You pretty much know that will keep her in higher #s if she tolerated 8u with that, so it's not like there's any real danger of hypo here, just a matter of whether you end up giving her some HC or not. No need to worry though on a 140. If you are concerned, you could let her eat some more canned food, that can slow the drop.
 
+4 is 126
That's a drop of only about 20.
I'm only guessing here, but I think her numbers are holding out around there because of the treats I am giving her. They're Friskee's Party Mix crunchy treats. It's all I have and she absolutely LOVES them so I gave her 4 pieces after her ear pricking session at +2 and I just gave her 4 more after this one.
I'm fairly confident that she probably won't go below 100 tonight but I am going to check her once more.
Unless someone wants to keep an eye on her with me, I won't bother posting those numbers.
I think it just makes me feel better when I do knowing that someone is "looking" with me that has a better understanding of all this!
Unless of course something drastic happens. Then you can believe me that I will be posting in health with a big "911"!!!
Of course, I always update her SS after every check so if anyone is curious, they can always check that.

Thanks guys.
I really do appreciate you.
 
It does look like you will be okay. I would definitely stay up for the 6 though. It is also possible that she will have a later nadir - sometimes they like to throw us a curve. Looks like she likes the low dose and the wet food. Your story will be a great one to share with other newbies who are on a high dose and the vet keeps increasing. I will be up for the next hour or so and will check in.

When you are working to get lower numbers, you will want to find a low carb treat she loves.

Remember going below 100 is okay. It is below 50 when you go to Health and post a 911 and ask for guidance.
 
Well, it appears she is on the way back up.
she just checked in at 158, and no high carb treats this time around.
Just a couple bites of tuna, her second favorite. She's been doing so good. I am going to check around for some better treats for her tomorrow.
looks like I can sleep easy tonight.
If your still around Sue, thanks for hanging out with me. At least the time goes by pretty quickly with all this reading material right at my fingertips.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top