Callie Mae 1/20 and some questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

totallybeachin

Member Since 2011
Hi everyone.
I am hoping I can get some insight/advice/suggestions.
Where to begin...............
When I noticed Callie Mae's BG was up for the first time in months, I had no choice but to use the old insulin I had in the fridge. Te first dose I gave her was .6. I wasn't able to check any checks on her that night. The next day, not sure why now, I don't remember, but I only gave her .4.. I did a few spot checks throughout the day, but didn't notice much movement. That afternoon, a new vial arrived, so for the PM dose, i decided to keep it the same to see what difference the new vial would make. Not much.
Next day, I upped her to .8, started to see her numbers moving, although not by much. so for PM dose, I gave her a full unit. Her PMPS was 243 and at +3.5 she was in the green for the first time in days. I checked her again @ +7 and she was at 137.
Today AMPS 214 I administered 1 unit, couldn't check her until +5 and she was 147. Either I missed an early nadir, or something else is just not right.
In just the past dew days, her BG just seems to be getting higher and higher and I don't want to keep upper her dose.
Everything seems to have checked out at the vet, so I'm just wondering what I could be missing.
I figure with all the bright minds gathering together, maybe we can figure something out.
I just don't think this is normal to go from being absolutely fine for months and months, then all of a sudden in just a few days time to looking at the numbers I am getting.
It's like every time I giver her insulin and she drops a little, it causes her numbers to go even higher.

And another thing, since about yesterday early evening, she is not interested in her food. She has snacks between breakfast and dinner, usually, but she didn't care for either. This morning she still had half her food left over from her dinner. Now here it is 3:00 in the afternoon and half her breakfast sits in the bowl from 9am. Normal day, by now, she would be chasing me all over the house if I haven't given her a mid-day snack.

Also, I am wondering, if there is some under lying issue that's causing her numbers, by giving her insulin instead of dealing with the cause, will that have long term effects? (Hope that makes sense the way I'm saying it.) Kinda like treating the symptoms instead of the cause.

Any info would be appreciated. I am truly stumped.
 
I will continue to think on this, but my first question anytime a diabetic cat quits eating is .....are you testing for ketones? I did not look at the SS, maybe you have ketone tests documented there.

I wouldn't be very concerned about the increase in BG or the lack of movement on the 1 unit, that could be just one of those "wonky" things----and we can figure that out. My biggest concern would be with the lack of interest in food. I really don't expect ketones to be an issue, especially since the BG is relatively low--but, you do not have to have high BGs to have ketones. Just be sure you are checking!

Good Luck ...
 
Okay, I looked at her SS---the numbers and curves actually look good to me. You had such early success with Callie, that it might be "hard" to accept not getting all greens! But, truly, the curves look good. I do not expect ketones with the numbers you are getting, but I would still check.

Once again, good luck....
 
Ok well, good news (I think!)
Neg. on the ketones, btw. I tested several days ago but forgot to put it in her chart.
Now, the good news.
Callie Mae finally decided to go pee for momma so I took it to the vet, and sure enough, she has an UTI.
We weren't able to get any urine from her the other day, but from what I could tell from when she did go, the color looked normal and didn't have a horrible smell. Well, not unusually horrible........ :lol:
So, the vet sent me home with clavamox and she has to take 1 every 12 hours for 14 days.
I remember from the past reading about Baytril not being so great, so is this ok?
Also, I asked if I should perhaps stop giving insulin and just keep an eye on her. The vet said yes, and if we don't see any changes by Sunday to go ahead and resume.
After thinking about this for a minute, is that such a good idea?
I mean if the only reason her sugar is up is because of the infection, that doesn't sound like a good idea.
On the other hand, I don't want her sugar high, that can cause other problems. but then again, I wouldn't give myself insulin if my sugar was high just because I had an infection.
Your thoughts?

BTW, Kim, I wanted to tell you, you must be getting REALLY good at this dance. Now the dog wants to go round and round with you!!.... :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
I'm a newbie to FD, so grain of salt, but from my experience with humans, your BG goes all over the shop when you have any sort of infection. I'm prediabetic and I have highs and hypos when I'm sick. Assuming the same thing is true for kitties, I'd advise against insulin because Callie's BG could decide to go south at any time. Without insulin it's no big deal, with insulin it could be dangerous.

Lori
 
Wow, good example of when bad news is really good news!

I agree with Lori on the insulin or no-insulin thinking. Once the infection clears, if that is the reason for the higher numbers, then they'll drop on their own. Then you have too much insulin on board. I'd hold off on the shots unless her numbers go way high.
I think I would just keep an eye on them. They'll probably tell you when the UTI issue goes away. If they keep climbing, then that would indicate the AB isn't working and the vet might have to change ABs.

Carl
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top